We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean quaint and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean quaint and friendly”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I spent a week in Crete at this resort and enjoyed the experience. The rooms were spacious, clean and well supplied. The staff is friendly, the location within the village allows excellent access to good food!!

Room Tip: Great views from the rooms at the back of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkColwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your short and informative review.
We look forward to see you again in the future.

Best regards
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    70
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
148
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were really pleased when we walked into the resort as it is all terracotta stone and trees - really beautiful. Our room was way at the back of the resort with really nice views of the sea and the town.

The apartment itself was large and spotless, the bedroom was huge which meant it got quite cold at night at this time of year. The double bed was actually two beds pushed together which was disappointing and uncomfortable. The mattress were really hard which meant we sometimes woke with sore backs and necks but there were extra pillows in the cupboards to pad it out. and the balcony was lovely - we had some feline friends too who liked to lay out there with us!

The kitchen was well equipped enough and the shower was great, powerful and a good temperature.

The pool was freezing!! Too cold to get into - I did jump in and the had the shivers for three days, even though i swam to get warm. This is due to the time of year, which is understandable but be warned if you go around April time that they do not heat it so it isn't really a viable place to swim. We saw three others do the same as us, and not go in again for the rest of the week. This is not solely the resort's fault as in the summer I imagine the sun heats the water, but it is a shame.

As in other reviews, the dogs did consistently bark all day and night which was really frustrating when we were trying to sleep. Again, not the hotel's fault but it is worth bearing in mind.

There was no restaurant on site - they had a small snack bar which was closed at this time of year. Anytime we wanted to eat, we had to walk the ten minutes down the hill into town or visit the same one of two restaurants around the corner.

In terms of other facilities, the sauna and jacuzzi were up some stairs from the pool and needed 40 minutes to set them up. There were instructions which we followed for the jacuzzi - which was only really a bath large enough for one person to lie comfortably. The water was very yellow and did not look appealing. We sat in it for about two minutes before realising the two of us were too cramped. We were then told we should have asked reception to set it up.. which seems odd as there were instructions on how to do it on the wall for us!

Overall, I would say the resort is beautiful, with a pool table and ping-pong table but other than that, the facilities were incredibly limited. The staff were really nice and helpful, and answered all of our questions about the local area but we were disappointed with what was available.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back had lovely views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,
We very much appreciate your lovely comments and we hope that apart from some minor details, you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to address some of the issues you have mentioned on your review such as the hardness of the mattress or the joined twin beds. We would have been happy to provide you with a soft upper mattress for each bed as we have done for other guests in the past. The hotel has several apartments with a double bed and had you informed us of your wish you could change into one of them.
Our swimming pool is not heated and the water is understandably cold at the beginning of April.
For safety reasons the reception has to be notified for the use of the sauna and the Jacuzzi. Since the Jacuzzi had not been used for several days, it needed to be run by the person in charge of maintenance to certify that everything is in working order.
We do hope to see you again in the future, maybe later in the season, when the weather is more suitable for outdoor swimming.

Best regards
P.Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline
Level Contributor
701 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Overall this is a fabulous place and a great value. The rooms are neat and clean, well appointed, and many of them have a spectacular view of the sea and the surrounding countryside. The staff are top notch, and the location is convenient to the highway and the much bigger and busier seaside resort town, where you can find laundry, markets, tavernas, and all the usual beach side stuff.

The only negative I can name is that given this place is truly in a village it has a real feel, including a flock of sheep wandering past the backside of it, and the noises that go with places that real people live. The down side of that is the dogs in the neighborhood. For whatever reason they seem inclined to bark incessantly, often at night, and the apartment staff wasn't able to do much about it.

If not for the dog, I'd have given five stars.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the complex have better views - but be prepared to climb stairs. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfulghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Fulghum,
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.
The hotel is situated in the heart of a traditional settlement. Offering an authentic Cretan cultural experience with its development resembling a traditional village. Unfortunately we cannot do much about neighbour's dog.
However after remarking on it, we had advised you to change apartments and have shown you an alternative, but obviously you were not inclined to change.
We are trully sorry that your night sleep was disturbed by the barking dog since we know how important is to have a good night's rest.
We will try to talk to the owner of the dog again.
Best regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent two weeks here in October 2013. This was our second time using our timeshare option. We love everything about the Holiday Club, especially the staff. Pavlos, Eni, Manos and Katerina et al make our stay so special. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. A fabulous team in a fabulous location.
We love the location. Placed in a quaint little town with loads of choice of excellent restaurants, but quiet enough to enjoy a relaxing holiday.
Would we return? Oh yes. Roll on September 30th. I can hardly wait!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Jenny & Alex,
We appreciate taking your time to write such wonderful words for our hotel.
We are really looking forward to welcome you again in September.

Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really helpful staff help make this resort very easy to admire. That plus the simple quality and the incredibly central position in the heart of this village full of enjoyable eateries and bars.
A pleasant pool for some quiet R&R, and private rooftop locations make life easy paced and fun.
As I say, the staff are great, especially Eni.
This is a very good timeshare bank exchange - not many in the Eastern Med come up to this standard.
A return is definitely on the cards

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived here fairly late at night feeling a bit frazzled, but when we woke up the next morning and saw where we were, we knew we'd made the right choice! We'd used our timeshare to exchange into VHC and would heartily recommend it to anyone - it certainly is the right place to chill out - it has a very calming atmosphere about it. We only had 2 breakfasts at the poolside, and both were excellent, also the greek salad at lunchtime was one of the best we'd eaten. The apartments are spacious, well appointed but perhaps not conducive to cooking a big meal (but who would want to anyway with all the choice of bars/restaurants so nearby!) All the staff are so friendly and Eni really helped us when we had trouble trying to get our pick up times for going home. We walked down to the beach, but it is quite pebbly and rocky so decided we'd stay by the pool, which was fairly quiet (I think in the height of summer there might be a fight for sunbeds!), but so relaxing. VHC is right in the centre of things, but, lying by the pool you would never know, that's what made it so tranquil. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort, and would willingly return - for 2 weeks there was total relaxation - what's not to like about that!!

Room Tip: Try and ask for one with a PRIVATE patio or balcony - our apartment (17) was lovely but to sit outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annielou1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time after your trip to recommend us to others.
We are always trying to do our best so that our guests would have a relaxing and memorable stay.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in our resort.
Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th visit to Koutouloufari & our 2nd at the VHC - it is well presented, superbly located & well looked after. Pavlos & Eni do a good job in front of house & Katerina looks after the poolside catering/bar options very well.
The rooms are good & the 2 cleaners do an effective & friendly job.
VHC is located at the heart of the village with many tavernas & bars to pick from - in simple terms you cannot go wrong.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Me and the whole team thank you for your glowing review. Be sure to let us know when you are coming back.
Best Regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.3 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
530 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club

Property: Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
Address: 4 Alex Minoti Street | P.O Box 2374, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Koutouloufari, Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club is an authentic Cretan cultural experience with its development resembling a traditional village set in olive groves. Built in Cretan architecture style, small individual houses clustered in groups to resemble neighbourhoods and restored stone houses comprise this resort.Fully furnished apartments are presented with three distinct settings ranging from Studios and One-Bedroom Apartments to the Traditional House that can accommodate up to 6 persons. Featuring lovely gardens, a pool and sea views theses apartments offer a full host of services and amenities to ensure a restful stay.Committed to providing the whole family with a memorable experience, guests enjoy an array of other activities and events near Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club. Small taverns with local cuisine, souvenir shops, bars and coffee shops hidden in cobbled streets or walks by the port of Chersonisos. Koutouloufari Village Holiday Club unlocks the mystery of Crete's vast natural history, ancient legends and rich cultural history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Holiday Club Hotel Chersonisos
Village Holiday
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing