We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Laid back resort.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived here fairly late at night feeling a bit frazzled, but when we woke up the next morning and saw where we were, we knew we'd made the right choice! We'd used our timeshare to exchange into VHC and would heartily recommend it to anyone - it certainly is the right place to chill out - it has a very calming atmosphere about it. We only had 2 breakfasts at the poolside, and both were excellent, also the greek salad at lunchtime was one of the best we'd eaten. The apartments are spacious, well appointed but perhaps not conducive to cooking a big meal (but who would want to anyway with all the choice of bars/restaurants so nearby!) All the staff are so friendly and Eni really helped us when we had trouble trying to get our pick up times for going home. We walked down to the beach, but it is quite pebbly and rocky so decided we'd stay by the pool, which was fairly quiet (I think in the height of summer there might be a fight for sunbeds!), but so relaxing. VHC is right in the centre of things, but, lying by the pool you would never know, that's what made it so tranquil. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort, and would willingly return - for 2 weeks there was total relaxation - what's not to like about that!!

Room Tip: Try and ask for one with a PRIVATE patio or balcony - our apartment (17) was lovely but to sit outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annielou1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time after your trip to recommend us to others.
We are always trying to do our best so that our guests would have a relaxing and memorable stay.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in our resort.
Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    70
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
148
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th visit to Koutouloufari & our 2nd at the VHC - it is well presented, superbly located & well looked after. Pavlos & Eni do a good job in front of house & Katerina looks after the poolside catering/bar options very well.
The rooms are good & the 2 cleaners do an effective & friendly job.
VHC is located at the heart of the village with many tavernas & bars to pick from - in simple terms you cannot go wrong.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Me and the whole team thank you for your glowing review. Be sure to let us know when you are coming back.
Best Regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We used a timeshare trade to stay at the Village Holiday Club. It was spacious, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast poolside was a little late for us at 9am, but the room had a small kitchen, so we ended up eating in. It was about a 1.5 mi walk down to the beach...not too bad going down, but a bit tough coming up in the heat. A taxi cost 7 euros. The town of Koutouloufari was very cute, with many shops and restaurants. We did rent a car for 3 days to go further afield, which is very helpful on Crete, although there are public buses, which we did use to go into Iraklion. They also sell wine in the lobby, but you can save a couple of euros per bottle at one of the local supermarkets. Bottled drinking water is cheap however...with a large bottle costing only a euro. We really did enjoy our entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having had several holidays here on our own and with our 2 daughters, this time the girls travelled on their own and had the most wonderful time together without parents watching every move. Koutouloufari has everything needed for a relaxing break. The variety of places to eat is second to none. The Holiday Club couldn't be more welcoming. Enni is brilliant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SouthstandRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We sincerely hope to see the whole family again in the future, together or seperately.

Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have recently returned from our fourth holiday at VHC, so it seems only fair to finally share our thoughts on this wonderful, wonderful place.
Set in the village of Koutouloufari, which has many very good and some excellent tavernas just a short walk away, providing delicious Greek cuisine. Also the VHC poolbar provides a variety of very good and resonably priced daytime snacks / meals charmingly served by Katerina.
The VHC and the village have a very traditional feel - the warmth and welcome from people here takes us back to Greece as we remember it before some places became over touristed and lost their original charm. It is peaceful here but also central to other places for outings either by coach with local pick up or by car which is an advantage but not absolutely necessary (as it is approximately 30 minutes from the airport).
A wealth of historic places: Knossos, Spinalonga (from which a book called The Island was written), as well as other ancient Minoan archaeological sites are worth visiting and there are many other areas of interest, which provide a variety of activities or just relax in the village.
We cannot praise all of the staff enough. They are all so dedicated to making VHC such a fantastic place and are only too willing to help in any way they can.
As you may read from previous reviews, most apartments are individual in layout but are really lovely, especially since the refurbishment of a few years ago.
Thank you to Eni, Pavlos, Manolis, Katerina, Anastasia and the girls for looking after us so well (and for the Greek lessons :-)) We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your wonderful words (Υπέροχα Λόγια).
I have personally forwarded your review to all the staff. They send their best wishes for the winter and are all waiting to see you next year. ( Του Χρόνου)
Keep up the Greek lessons and soon we will have this conversation in Greek.
Best regards,
Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks very relaxing stay ( 21/9 to 5/10)
Cannot praise resort highly enough. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Katerina who runs the pool bar/snack bar.
The one bedroom apartment was spacious for a couple, maybe not too good for 4 adults, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Our apartment overlooked the pool area - I don't think many have a sea view, but no matter if your time is exploring Crete and its history and beaches.
The grounds were well maintained. The resort is on several levels with many steps - could prove difficult for those with walking difficulties or with young children ( did not seem to be much on resort for children other than table tennis/ pool / darts)
The village of Koutouloufari has an abundance of reasonably priced restaurants all within a few minutes stroll - you could eat out every night for a fortnight and not revisit the same place. We particularly liked Romantica, Sunrise, Mezes and Esperos, but all looked very inviting.
A car is very useful for visiting places such as Knossos, Agios Nikolas/ Spinalonga etc, and we found a very nice beach, uncrowded and sheltered near Malia Port, about 15 minutes drive. The resort has private parking available, (RCI stated there was no parking)

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 248Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guests,
We will forward your great review to all our staff.
The acknowledgement of our efforts is priceless.
We will contact RCI concernong the mention of the parking lot.
We hope to have the chance of seeing you in the future.
Best regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks here and had a lovely time. Our room was spotless, spacious and overlooked the pool. It is right in the centre of koutouloufari but there is no traffic noise, so the complex is totally relaxing and peaceful. The staff were lovely and friendly and Koutouloufari itself is a beautiful village with an abundance of restaurants and tavernas to visit. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guests
The management & staff of VHC appreciate your lovely review.
We strive to achieve the most relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in our hotel and is very rewarding to be acknowledged by our guests.
We hope to be able to provide the same for you in the future.
Best regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.3 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
530 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club

Property: Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
Address: 4 Alex Minoti Street | P.O Box 2374, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Koutouloufari, Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club is an authentic Cretan cultural experience with its development resembling a traditional village set in olive groves. Built in Cretan architecture style, small individual houses clustered in groups to resemble neighbourhoods and restored stone houses comprise this resort.Fully furnished apartments are presented with three distinct settings ranging from Studios and One-Bedroom Apartments to the Traditional House that can accommodate up to 6 persons. Featuring lovely gardens, a pool and sea views theses apartments offer a full host of services and amenities to ensure a restful stay.Committed to providing the whole family with a memorable experience, guests enjoy an array of other activities and events near Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club. Small taverns with local cuisine, souvenir shops, bars and coffee shops hidden in cobbled streets or walks by the port of Chersonisos. Koutouloufari Village Holiday Club unlocks the mystery of Crete's vast natural history, ancient legends and rich cultural history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Holiday Club Hotel Chersonisos
Village Holiday
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing