We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club
Nearby Hotels
Galaxy Villas(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ippoliti Village(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$203
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Bianca Boutique Hotel(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Romantica Hotel Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$33
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariadni Palace Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$47
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marni Village(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esperides Villas & Spa(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$157
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astra Village Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
178
78
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
78
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthrough rcicat cafethe resort managersauna and jacuzzipool barcasa nostralovely resortliving roomuphill walksun all dayone bedroom apartmentrestaurants and shopssmall poolsea viewwatch the worldrelaxing stayair con
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 265 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a wonderful week in the pretty hillside village of Koutouloufari. Our apartment was good and set in lovely gardens. We were put in a two storey apartment with the promise of wonderful views, but the views were sadly marred by a tall white ugly building behind us, some scrub
land, and more buildings in front. The apartment was OK. Kitchen adequate, Could have done with a draining board when washing dishes. Bedroom up VERY steep stairs and bathroom downstairs, Roof top balcony with marred views above bedroom. Totally impractical for eating out on rooftop, because of bringing food etc up from ground floor kitchen, Lounge area attractive but not very comfortable. We could have asked to be moved to a single storey apartment. but didn't bother as not ones to stay very long in our apartment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind comments.
TVHC is really as you described it, set in lovely gardens in a pretty hillside village. Being almost at the top of the hill has, apart from its obvious advantages (views - tranquility), the only "disadvantage" of having everything else, (houses - shops) at a lower level. Therefore, when somebody goes out on the balcony / terrace, along with the sea view, one gets also a spectacular view of almost half the village and the town below.
We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your room type (maisonette) and would have been happy to change you into a 1-Level room. Maisonettes are very few in our resort and very sought after.
We will be delighted to welcome you again in our resort and will do our best to accommodate your wishes the second time around.
Best regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you are looking for a get away from it all place, with sun, fun and relaxation this is the place to be.

We stayed in an amazing apartment here, it was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The kitchen area was just right, (complete with kettle and coffee machine) the bathroom was tasteful and well equipped, and the bedroom had it;s own air conditioning to make the temperature just right.We also had our own private outdoor seating.

The pool was stunning, and perfect for lazing around and swimming in. The poolside bar served brilliant food, and drinks.

The staff in reception couldn't have been more helpful, with lots of helpful advice and a warm friendly welcome, without being too overbearing. There was also a dvd and book library for filling in gaps in the day!

Right in the heart of koutoulafari, so near restaurants and tavernas, but so peaceful it feels miles from anywhere.
All in all we couldn't recommend this more highly as a place to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace_r_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I used rci points to book a weeks break, wish we had booked longer. The resort was so relaxing ,just want we both needed. The resort was quiet, restful ,relaxing and very welcoming.
Eni and pavlos were very welcoming and we enjoyed chats an drinks during our stay. They were very helpful with information about the local area and crete.
The rooms were modern and very clean and also comfortable.
The gardens are well tended with many interesting plants and trees all labelled.
The pool is small but more than enough to cool down.
I dont think this resort is a resort for child or anyone who has a problem with steps.
This was our first visit to crete and loved it, but feel sure that is because of the warm welcome the staff at the resort gave us and the locals in the village. The village was a lovely place to wonder during the day and the night. It has plenty of good restaurants, during our stay we ate at a different one every night, all were good meals. The meze were really good.
LOOKING FORWARD TO RETURNING.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Village Holiday Club is an excellent resort right in the centre of Koutolofari. Its location is brilliant, with dozens of excellent restaurants within waling distance.

The resort is excellent but small and family run so don't expect a huge place with several pools etc. It is quite cosy, but this seems to be the case with all resorts in Greece. The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and decorated in traditional style. We were two people which was fine but it would be a tight squeeze for four! The cooking area was small so wouldn't be great for lots and lots of self-catering.

The village of Koutoloufari and the two surrounding villages are stunning with lots going on. If you want lots of nightlife, you would need to walk about 20mins down the hill to Herssonisos. Its a steep walk back but not too bad and saves 7 euros in a two minute taxi ride. Beer is between 2-3 euros a pint.

Try Fabrica, the restaurant next door to the resort, great owner and food!

My only criticism is that the resort did not provide pool towels and these take up a lot of space and weight allowance when flying.

The island is beautiful and worth exploring. We hired mopeds for 2 days and travelled through the mountains etc. Gorgeous scenery.

Overall a fantastic holiday!

Room Tip: Some of the stairs in the rooms are very steep so email ahead if you think you may have difficulties. They do have rooms on one level but they need to be requested.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llanelliclaireandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Using some of our RCI points, my husband and I booked a week at the Holiday Village Club. Although the resort was not quite the usual Gold Crown standard we are used to, the friendly staff and lovely quiet location made up for it. We had a one bed apartment which was comfortable and simply furnished in the Cretan style. The small kitchen was well appointed and quite adequate to cook basic meals, although we did not use very much as there were so many great restaurants locally - you just had to walk out the front of the resort reception, and there were several great eateries to choose from. The only complaint I had was that the mattress in our bedroom was a little too hard for our liking.

The resort pool was small but great to lounge around and then cool off in. The pool bar was super, with a range of yummy home-made snacks and a good choice of drinks, which were brought to your sun lounger if you wanted (wonderful). The greek salad was particularly good and so were the pizzas.

We will be going back at some point to this resort as we enjoyed our stay so much and the 1 week we had was really not enough to see everything we wanted to.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel as a great place to have a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The resort is built on quite a slope so if you have problems in walking please ask for rooms with a bedroom downstairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILLAGEHOLIDAYCLUB, Manager at Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Pavlos Badouvakis
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews