We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for cafe type environment and food”
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Koutouloufari in Hersonissos, in this beautiful traditional village, the Alchemist awaits you. Stone, wood, light, and a green scenery blend to form a casual decor. Enjoy selected dishes of the Cretan cuisine. Grilled meat, a wide variety of appetiziers, fresh seafood, and sophisticated cocktails. Taste the beef stew or the lamb. Complement your meal with cold beer or Cretan wine. Finally try a homemade dessert. Human smiles will fulfill the integrity of the site and the excellence of flavors.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“ok for cafe type environment and food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to The Alchemist based on trip advisor reviews but were slightly disappointed with the feel of the place and the food.
I had meze which was just ok; my partner had a full meal which he said was lovely.
The staff were run off their feet which was reflected in the service.
The complimentary cake at the end of the night was really delicious!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank malstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,235
    252
    88
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

First went to this bar back in may. It was the first night of our holiday and after arriving late we was welcomed by two friendly faces kostas and michaelis.It was about 2am and the lovely brothers did us a pizza it was no trouble for them. Then the raki started comin..shot after shot ! Think it was more of a welcome present... omg wot a night ! Nearly killed us with the raki !! Cant really remember much after that apart from waking up the next morning in our apartment fully clothed.. shoes on and lights still on next morning ! (And a sore head !) .. Returned back in sept and the brothers remembered us. Again was very welcoming and looked pleased to see us , insisted no raki though !! Must admit the drinks in this bar you deffinately get your moneys worth, the coctails and shorts they are very generous. Will be visiting this nice friendly bar again deffinately. Lovely place to be ... thanks kostas and michaelis for making us so welcome.

Helpful?
Thank lisa-and-ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, will be back!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we arrived the restaurant was very busy but they managed to fit us in. We ordered moussaka, beef stifado and gyros portion. The meals were fantastic, honestly some of the best food we have ever tasted. At the end of the meal we were given a complimentary orange cake which was delicious and a small glass of a fruity flavoured drink. The overall cost of the meal was very reasonable. My children enjoyed spending a short time in the kids playroom upstairs from the restaurant which had plenty toys and games. The staff were lovely very friendly and helpful. Will we be returning? Yes definitely!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hairydug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent - Must visit”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Must visit this place when staying in Koutouloufari or Piskopiano, its run by 2 brothers with mum in the kitchen, they are so friendly and welcoming. The food is delicious and great value. Complimentary orange cake and ice-cream at the end was yummy! This place is a little gem!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we always visit alchemist since it first opened when we staying in koutouloufari or piskopino, fantasic food, great relaxed atmosphere, great value for money. highly recomend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmoleiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing