We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iokasti Caffe

Iokasti Caffe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate here on our first night and enjoyed it so much we came again.

Excellent wine and very well prepared and imaginative food, good service and pleasant atmosphere. The house salad was fantastic, very fresh, all the dishes we tried were good and puddings were lovely too. Very well presented food.

Our 6 year old son (he only eats bread, pasta, cucumber, sugar and coke) really liked eating here as well and they tried their best to develop his tastes.

Our evenings here weren't the cheapest but we felt it was money well spent as we all left very happy. Greek food can be terribly monotonous after a few days but you could easily eat here every night. Thanks to the chef and staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    138
    32
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food & setting, exceptionally rushed experience. Disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Tried to visit first eve of stay but told full even though I would say less than 50% of space in use. Had been on a previous visit so thought try again but perhaps best to book. Asked for a table at 9pm but told 'bit too late'. Arrived 8.30pm instead. Again, restaurant empty. Puzzling. Also, guests continued to arrive well past 9pm. Odd. The whole experience from start to finish lasted about 50 mins - we ordered wine (local recommendation, average), starters (cannot fault), mains (again, lovely). No time between courses, food was very hot too - good thing but even more time needed to take time & enjoy. We're on holiday!! Cannot understand as now into late September?! The food & settings as I said above were lovely. Service from the waiter (sorry not sure of name) was warm & inviting. The (apparent) owner or manager drifts around kissing those who she recognises from previous years & is, in my opinion, largely unwelcoming to those she does not. Not a genuine Greek welcome. Based on this experience I would not return. To contrast, we enjoyed a relaxed 2 hour plus experience in Esperos last night which restores my faith that hopefully this was an unfortunate one-off or the restaurant has just had enough after a a long season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant only once during our visit and weren't disappointed. I had a lovely pasta dish and when we go back to Koutoulafari we will def visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HazelDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The klefitiko amazing as was the chicken salad at lunch. Staff welcoming and friendly. Evening meals finished with complimentary fruit and Raki. Good views of the sea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weejesssuecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The restaurant has lovely staff, a nice location and ambience and good reviews. We were undecided on what to eat so thought we would try it. My partner had the mousaka from the specials which was tasty but could have done with a side salad.bbc I had the tagleatelli it was average, to be fair It tasted like something I could make at home but was unnecessarily smothered in olive oil. Maybe we made the wrong food choice unfortunately it is our least favourite meal in koutouloufari.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank manchesterl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iokasti Caffe also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Been to Iokasti Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing