We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seventh Visit and more to come!”
Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seventh Visit and more to come!”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have just enjoyed our seventh fortnight at Sunrise in the last nine years. It never disappoints. Do not stay here if you are seeking the night clubs of Hersonissos or Malia. Do stay here for a wonderful relaxing holiday (with or without children) with the charm of Koutouloufari and Piscopiano villages and their many excellent tavernas, within walking distance, and to enjoy the Greek hospitality of Aris, Yiannis and their wider family. The weekly BBQ with Greek Dancing is also highly recommended. Thanks to Aris for the extra Raki for our missing Daughter!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShirleyandKevinLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    37
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
120
175
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Have just returned from sunrise apartments. Had a fantastic time!Me and my boyfriend both 23 really enjoyed our time there. I have never been to a hotel so friendly. Staff were so helpful and welcoming. The people staying were also very nice and lots of guests had visited the apartments before. The pool area is lovely, quite small but always managed to find a sunbed. Chilled music played throughout the day.

The rooms are basic (typical 3 star greek) but spacious and clean!!! The grounds are gorgeous-look out onto sea and kept clean. Food served at sunrise is great-reasonable priced but not cheap. The village is stunning-so many tavernas to choose from ( many also do pasta, pizza, steak too). Particularly liked Stekes and emmanuels to eat. Vinnies is a stunning cocktail bar and if you carry on walking through to next village (Piskopiano) there is a cool little irish bar which is quite lively. We went to Star beach which was good fun but very young and lively,but a bit of a dump, however we heard Stalis was stunning and much better.

Hersonnosos is o.kay but nothing special compared to Koutoloufari. Would love to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dani15187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Apartments situated at the top of a hill about 20 minutes from main resort. Made very welcome on arrival with some cases carried up to rooms but hospitality did not extend to one free drink from the bar despite spending in there everyday for two weeks. Recommend cooked breakfast with English bacon and sausage but still a bit steep at 5.50 Euros. Continually ran out of toilet rolls - only 3 rolls supplied over a fortnight so be prepared to buy your own. Also towels only changed a couple of times. Be careful not to break anything as they stringently check your room on departure - I got a 10 Euro fine for a faulty freezer door ! Air conditioning extortionate at 49 Euros a week (or fan for 2 Euros a night). Cant honestly say that the owners were very accommodating - they refused to confirm that we could have a late check out on day of departure until the last minute even though there were plenty of empty apartments. Traditional Greek night was poor - two dancers who couldnt dance in rhythm - no plate smashing either. Although the village is picturesque there's no entertainment and be prepared to wait 2-3 hours before completing your meal. Plenty of hungry mosquitos about - I'm still itching after being back for 4 days. Wouldnt recommend to anyone with teenagers as the apartments are too remote. Personally I would recommend to couples who just want to laze around the pool all day. Positives - fairly clean, quiet, great views, breezy in the evenings as they're sea facing, lovely gardens and pool kept spotless every day by Cipri - one of the hardest working young men I've seen abroad and a credit to the establishment. Would I go back ? Possibly if I was going with the wife on our own and only outside of the school holidays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croftonglazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sunrise Apartments in Koutouloufari and would happily recommend them to anyone. We had a 2 bed apartment facing out to sea, it comprised of a very large lounge area with a table for 4 and a small kitchen which included fridge, 2 hob rings, kettle, toaster and all the things you could need for making a basic meal including cheese grater, colander etc... a bathroom consisting of toilet, sink and wet room shower, which my 7 year old loved as she could go in and shower herself, a large downstairs bedroom with 2 single beds and a dressing table and an upstairs mezzanine bedroom with double bed, wardrobe and dressing table, we have never had so much space and storage!! Outside we had a lovely stone terrace again with a table and chairs, we are not normally ones for stopping in to eat but the place so was so roomy and pleasant to be in that we often ate lunch on the terrace or returned after dinner to sit out there with drinks. The whole place was immaculate, they must work around the clock to keep the place and gardens looking so good, the pool bar is great for drinks and snacks and Aris and Yiannis who run it are both lovely, our little girl loved them both, especially when they were making chocolate milkshakes!! the air con was 7 euros per day and definately worth having, the bbq night was great fun, but beware drinking too much Raki, hangover from hell the next day!! I can't praise this place enough, just a few mins walk to the village and lots of restaurants, a shop and bakery within a few seconds walk, the village itself is lovely, we did walk down into hersonissos but all it did was make us realise how lucky we were to be up in the village, taxi back up is 7 euro's, the hill is a killer!! Already looking to book again for next year, only gripe is that Cosmos are now the only company to go through and they are trying to charge adult prices for kids next year, but that isn't the hotels fault, just Cosmos using the fact that they are the only company to their own advantage!! However, it will not stop us returning. We went just before the england school hols and the place was lovely and peaceful, getting a bit noisier by the time we left, but on a whole, the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Me and my boyfriend visited Crete for the first time this June. We arrived in the middle of a heatwave, it was very hot!!

We were welcomed with a shot of Raki (yikes!), the owner, Yanni was very welcoming and showed us to our room. The pool area was lovely, plenty of sunbeds and very clean.
The room was basic but very comfortable. The only complaint about the room would be the location of the shower right next to the toilet without a curtain - although this is just being petty, we managed easily enough!
The pool bar is good for lunches (tuna salad is lovely!!). The staff were friendly and always happy to help you.

Koutouloufari is lovely - lots of small side streets and Greek tavernas - plenty of choice of places to eat out. Hersonissos is really not great - one long street which you pass on the way to Koutouloufari, quite noisy and a lot of the same types of souvenir shops.
There is a hill down to Hersonissos, it was agony walking back up in 38 degree heat!

We took an excursion to Spinnalonga, the old lepor colony. This was a nice trip - you went on a boat and stopped at a small beach with clear blue water before having a bbq. Also our tour guide was very knowledgable.

Heraklion was a bit of a waste of time to be honest, we went on market day but the market was mainly fruit and veg and clothes. The buses between Heraklion and Agios Nikolaos can be irregular - supposed to be every 30 minutes from the bottom of the hill but we waited for ages and had two turn up at the same time.

Got a bus to Stalis beach - nice beach with lovely water. Although it is quite crowded with all the sunloungers laid out. (6 euros per day for two loungers and parasol)

Walking from the hotel into Koutouloufari then into Pikopiano is a nice walk in the evening.

Overall a very nice holiday, would definitely recommend Sunrise apartments.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank englandrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sunrise for a week from 8 June. The apartments lived up to every expectation. As others have said the "family" owners do everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one (even when Greece lose in the World Cup!!). Of course they appreciate you spending time at the bar but from what I could see they extended their friendship to all guests (which isn't always the case).
The family weren't in a hurry to take your money. I asked for Air Con when I arrived and was advised to check out the night time temperatures before committing to this. This showed that it wasn't necessary. Many places would have taken your money without question.
As others have said the rooms were your typically basic Greek. Clean with plenty of room though and plenty of crockery and utensils. We don't do eating in but other guests did and seemed to manage comfortably.
The pool areas was great. Cleaned daily and more than enough of sunbeds. We went to the Greek night and found it really good value and a great opportunity to socialise with other guests (who were a very friendly bunch).
The villages of Koutouloufari & Piskopiano are on the doorstep and contain more than enough good quality restaurants. Having been to Koutouloufari before, our favourite remains "Mezes." Both the food and welcome are top notch. We would also recommend Petrikos and a small restaurant in Piskopiano (the name escapes me) which is left off the main road as you walk from Koutouloufari, adjacent to the church.
Although many have made an issue of the walk up from Hersonissos it's not that bad. If you've got children they will enjoy a day at Star Beach. Apart from that the only good reason for venturing down the hill is to visit the Aquaworld Aquarium. This isn't the main Crete Aquarium but more a refuge for rescued fish, reptiles and snakes. It's a labour of love for the owners and we would highly recommend a visit. Browse on Aquaworld Aquarium for directions.
For a relaxing holiday we're sure you'll love Koutouloufari and there's no more friendlier place to base yourself than the Sunrise Apartments. We'll be going back next year for sure

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonnyPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Having been going back to to the Sunrise now for 5 years, even manged 3 trips in 1 year!!!
Everything you want in a relaxing holiday is provided by the Sunrise Family. The apartments are very clean, they provide you with the essential things you need i.e. fridge, kettle etc
The pool is clean on a daily basis and there is always enough sun beds for everyone. The staff are the most friendliest people you will meet and they treat you like one of the family.
Location is perfect as you are away from the busy town of Hersonsissos, but if you want to see the island they perfect for bus connections. Have taken the bus all over the island and never had any problems. Always on time and frequent and easy to use
Going back in May 2010, with more extended family
Yamas!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anneliese_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutouloufari
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Property: Sunrise Apartments
Address: 6, Georgiou Seferi Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Sunrise Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing