We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and relaxing”
Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic and relaxing”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a gem the sunrise studios and apartments are ! Lovely family run, excellent bar and food, lovely pool and plenty of sunloungers. some of the apartments have recently been refurbished to a good standard they are clean and yiannis and Aris will help with anything you need, they are all very friendly.
The village of Koutouloufari is less than a 5 minute walk and has a good selection of little shops, bars and restaurants, our favourite is 'Mezes' never has a bad meal here in all the years we have been going to the resort, the souvlaki is the best we have ever had,the pizza place opposite Mezes is also lovely, freshly oven made (stonebaked), they also do Greek food, the greek salads are gorgeous.
Supermarket and bakery accross the very small road (not busy) sells everything you need on your holiday with fresh bread every morning , there are other supermarkets in the village, but we found this one was adequate.
Hersonnissos is a good 25 minute walk down the sloping hill, loads of shops and bars alot more going on than in kouti, but thats why we like the sunrise, when you get back up that hill its so peaceful and relaxing. The harbour in Hersonissos is lovely and the seafront snackbars and restaurants are great for having a spot of lunch.
We didnt walk back up the hill in the heat , we got a taxi back up which doesnt take five minutes.
BBQ night at the sunrise is a must , everyone goes and its a fun night, the food is fabulous, home cooked moussaka , steaks, sausage, salads, bread etc.
We dont think its for young children as its mainly all couples here, as there is no kids pool, but again thats what we like about it , the peaceuful and lovely atmosphere the owners make.
All in all if you go here you will love it ! There is nothing to complain about, one of our favourite places in Greece, we like to holiday twice a year, and Sunrise is always one of our holidays we take ! From the minute you get there you feel welcomed and at home!
See you next year sunrise family ! x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samchris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    33
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
109
163
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

i have just returned from 2 weeks staying at sunrise and would recommend it to anybody.
This was my first visit to these apartments but my parents had visited several times before. Upon arrival we were greeted with an ice cold beer and my parents met people they knew from their previous visits. Everybody knows everyone and it feels like being down your local as most guests return at least once a year! Their BBQ on a Sunday is a fun night and good value for money. Aris and Yiannis are perfect hosts.

Room Tip: we stayed in a two bedroom apartment and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just stayed here for the second time this year and it was brilliant,such a wonderful family run place they are so friendly and carnt do enough for you,it's such a friendly place once you go you carnt help going back thank you once again for a wonderful holiday and see you all again soon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabaile73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to Koutouloufari and the Sunrise Apartments. I have to agree with previous reviews about these apartments. Its not surprising they maintain the No 1 spot on Trip Advisor, all these people cant be wrong. You are made very welcome by the family, Aris and Yanni are very friendly, serving drinks and food from early in the morning to late at night, always with a smile. The apartments are well maintained, spotlessly clean, the gardens are beautiful, you can always find a sunbed, and its a nice gentle walk into Koutouloufari. What more can anyone want. All in all an excellent holiday and Im sure we'll be among the return visitors to this property. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We were in room 101 a studio, excellent location overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed in the village numerous times and in several different accomodation places but this is by far the best in the area.styaed here about 5 times and still as good.Ari and Yanis really helpfull and courteous to all guests.rest of staff as helpful and friendly.good location and plenty of resteraunts and tavernas near by. about 20 minutes walk to star beach but if prepared to walk a little further more quiet beaches which suited us with quiet tavernas for a leisurely lunch.an awful lot of repeaters go there but if you want a really quiet enjoyable holiday is the place to go.

Room Tip: if going for 1 room appartment not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012


ow value for money stayed two weeks 20010 have stayed in Italy since and cruised for the first time 2012 will be going back to sunrise if they will have us nothing compares to Crete we have been to Crete six times and have always stayed in this area its just beautiful.some tips--- go to the villages krasi and mochos to see the
Unknowen Crete also take a trip to santorini bit expensive but well worth seeing this beautiful island

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemanireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst,England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from Crete and had a lovely 12 days at the Sunrise Apartments. Very,very clean apartments,pool area and gardens. Staff were really great and had time for everybody. There is a supermarket just across the road and a bakery. Sunrise is situated in Koutouloufari village with numerous restaurants and tavernas within easy walking distance. It is lovely and quiet but within walking distance of the much more "lively" Hersonissos (although a bit of a slog when returning uphill!). There were many people who return year on year and it is easy to see why. All in all it is to be thouroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 51 which is not adjacent to the pool area but looks out on to the garden and roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Property: Sunrise Apartments
Address: 6, Georgiou Seferi Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Sunrise Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing