We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful apartments and great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Koutouloufari
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartments and great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from two weeks at the Sunrise Apartments and it was without doubt the best accomodation of this kind we have stayed in, i.e. simply furnished and spotlessly clean. Aris and Jiannis were great hosts and the weekly bbq was good fun. Koutoulafari is a really lovely old village with lovely restaurants, but if you have teenagers then Star Beach is just down the hill with plenty for them to do in a safe environment. We would love to return.

Room Tip: We were in room 304 which was quiet away from the pool and had sea view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    32
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
159
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

returned for our 2nd year at Sunrise and loved it even more. We had 10 days in mid-July12 and it was great. Sunrise ticks all the boxes and the family are just wonderful (in fact they are the best hosts that i have ever met !!). We hired a car, visited some of the local spots, followed up on our taverna trawl in the local villages (Gallini remains #1 but there are many that are top notch, and this year Emmanuel's and Sergiano's both were outstandingly good), went clubbing in Hersonnisos and had a very late BBQ nite at Sunrise (great craic and gets everyone involved).
One final thing that sets this place apart from others is the community feel. We met some great people last year and met even more this year. Loved it all and fully intend to return next year for #3

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliebo_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I returned home after a 2week stay at the fantastic Sunrise.There is nothing negative I can say, we arrived on 3rd July and Yiannis greeted us took my wife's case and told us to sit down and relax and gave us a nice cold drink before showing us to our rooms.Our apartments had a pool and sea view,the room was immaculate and the facilities excellent.What makes this place special though is the superb Sunrise family,Yiannis and Aris 2 great guys,who work tirelessly behind the bar serving drinks, making great food and always with a laugh and a smile.The BBQ night is superb and the food is cooked beautifully by mam and dad, and you can eat as much as you want.I have never been to a more friendlier place everybody gets on and its the friendly atmosphere that makes it like that.Lots of people are repeat visitors and its easy to see why and guess what, were joining that club because we are definitely going back to the Sunrise.There was only one drawback we had to come home,thank you Sunrise family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nic094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently returned fro our 1st visit to these apts. Could not fault them, spotlessly clean and cleaned every day (ex sun). Pool and surrounding area cleaned every day and well maintained. All the staff are superb and more than happy to help so you enjoy your holiday. Only drawback (if you can callit that) is it is a long way from the beach so if you're not an "everyday by the pool person" you will need car. Having said that the village is lovely with plenty of good places to eat. Would not think twicw about going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week holiday at the Sunrise and can't wait to return again next year. There were 6 of us in two apartments for up to 4 people. Myself my husband and nephew in one room and my mum, my sister (the boys mum) and other nephew in the other. We had asked for rooms together and though they weren't, they were very close to each other. One room was at the front and the other was just up from it near the pool.

Our rooms were 1 bedroomed apartments with 2 extra beds in the main living area and were very nice. The rooms had proper kettles and proper toasters (which is unusual in Greece) and enough plates, cutlery, etc for 4 people. The best thing to me was the proper mugs for the morning cuppas (usually only get tiny teacups). The rooms were light and airy and had enough storage space for the three of us in the room. My only negative about the room was about the bathroom and this is typical of most bathrooms we have experienced in apartments in Greece and that is that it is more of a wet room than a bathroom and even with the shower curtain, which didn't reach the floor, it was hard to shower without soaking the floor and the adjacent toilet. To us though this was a minor point as we have been in similar bathrooms all over Greece.

We all had a fabulous time, from the moment we arrived and Aris gave us cool drinks before helping us to our rooms with our cases to the moment we left.

There are many highlights, including the Sunrise family, Older Yiannis, Yiannis, Gardener Yiannis, Aris, Maria, and the 2 girls who cleaned our rooms. Service was fabulous from everyone and you were treated like extended members of the family.

The food served at the bar was basic snack bar food and was fine for lunch. I loved the omelettes and the club sandwich was very nice too! Favourites though were the ice cream cones and we sampled loads of these between the 6 of us. The drinks too were very good and competitively priced! Loved the mojitos and the white wine was very nice.

Another highlight was the BBQ, which is normally on a Sunday night, but was on Saturday night for both weeks we were there. The home made mousaka and Maria's desserts are a must! The dancing too was great, both by the professionals and the attempts we all made while there and the staff joined in with this too. We and alot of other guests went to this both weeks of our holidays and enjoyed it equally both times. One of my nephews had a birthday when the second BBQ was on and he was treated to a lovely ice cream dessert and all the guests sang Happy Birthday to him. That was lovely!

All the guests were from the UK/Republic of Ireland and it was lovely getting to know people. The complex isn't very big and it was easy to do this.

All in all we had a brilliant time and we can't wait to repeat the experience next year. None of us were surprised at the amount of repeat visitors who come here and as I advised in the title, we are already looking to book next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mamagizmodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week's stay at the Sunrise. The complex and apartments are immaculate and the location is stunning. Koutoulafari has all the old charm of a typical cretan village and has so many wonderful places to eat. The "Sunrise" family are so very friendly and will do all they can to make your holiday a great one. This place is an absolute gem and one that we will hopefully be visiting again. Wonderful people, great food and wall to wall sunshine.....what else would you be asking for????
Rhys and Julie (Cardiff)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jools027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just arrived back from 2 weeks at the sunrise. The family go out of their way to make your stay one to remember. We stayed in a studio for 2 and what a big studio it was. The view from the balcony was fantastic, overlooking the sea. The studio had all you could want. There are plenty of sunbeds and no need to reserve, however the apts did get There is nothing bad to say about the sunrise. Koutouloufari is quite a large village with many tavernas, some cafe bars but not many music bars, if you like that sort of thing. We did go into Hersonnasis a couple of times at night but preferred Koutouloufari. The hill is not as steep as we thought and if you take it easy, is not a problem.

All in all, a great place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette150758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koutouloufari hotels
0.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 14 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Property: Sunrise Apartments
Address: 6, Georgiou Seferi Street, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koutouloufari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Koutouloufari
Sunrise Apartments Koutouloufari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing