We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, nice swimming pool, "private beach" practically non-existent”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Vlore
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is not in downtown Vlora, but it is on the boulevard next to the sea. There are several bars and restaurants near the hotel, so the location is good. We had a room with a lovely sea view and balcony, although the room itself was nothing exeptional. The "private beach" is about 10x1,5 meters of pebbles with a couple of beds squeezed on it, where you will have a hard time keeping dry feet. On the other hand, the swimming pool is nice, with lots of beds to serve many people.

We also ate at the hotel's restaurant, but I would not recommend to do so. It pretends to be "upper class", but fails to produce adequate dishes. For instance: the prociutto was just cheap ham. Breakfast also is nothing special, apart from the pastry, which was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissDiZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Came here for the pool and to stay at a hotel since we'd been to a lot of appartments. The staff (except a few) were all about to die out of boordom but after a few days we managed to find a few who could help us out. Had a room with ocean view, even though there was a lot of traffic the view was definetely worth it.

Had a booking with hotels.com, payed 65 euros/night first 2 nights, then I managed to bargain and get my room for 50 euros/night. Including breakfast. 4 stars.... 3 stars in my world but probably 4 albanian stars.

Restaurant is ok but the pizza place 200 meters away is the best. Go there. They will appreciate your visit a lot more

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ka313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way down south. The rooms are of a good size and are clean, if slightly dated. An amazing view over the bay from the balcony. The food from the restaurant for dinner was really very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDR444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location (south side of Vlore) and view was perfect. Receptionist spoke perfect English. Good restaurants within walking distance. Rocky beach not open at high tide. Hotel pool was a good alternative. Breakfast ok. Reasonable minibar price for bottle of water was 70 cents. Shower with multiple jets was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank botumasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

About 5 km from the center of Vlore! Very helpful reception staff and good breakfast buffet With lots of Choices. (especially if you like a sweet start of the day. The kids LOVED the extensive buffet of cakes and pasteries) The only negative was that the coffe was Cold almost every day!

The hotel has a Nice location across the street from the Beach. They have their own private beach (pebble stones) With free sunbeds and umbrellas. They even have a waiter from the bar comming Down to get drink orders. This is a Nice touch!
Our room, Oceanview Family suite was very good size With a very large hallway and 2 bedrooms With very comfy beds. The bathroom was good With a large multitype shower that was almost too fancy!! The view from the balcony is exceptional!

The pool area is very Nice With a big pool and lots of sunbeds. The play area should be updated as some of the swings are totally broken and not possible to use. Beware of the tiles around the pool which are very slippery, especially when Your feet are wet. We had several almost accidents because of this.

There are several restaurants and bars in the area so this is good. The receptionist urged us to try the hotels own restaurant and we are very happy that we did!! Sitting on the "bridge" in the sunset, wonderful Food! The Perfect ending of Our stay!!

Thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MonicaAlfredsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst on a business trip to Albania. The hotel is lovely, situated at the end of the bay looking over to Vlorë. The room was nice, plenty of storage, a safe, air con, tv and a mini bar. The prices for the minibar are very reasonable, 150Lek (89pence) for a beer. Bathroom is spacious, just a shower though. Room had a balcony which at the rear of the hotel catches the sun in the morning. I the evening we'd go down to the terrace to watch the sunset with a nice cold beer. Hotel facilities were ok, pool was cool but quiet. The hotel was unable to change current for us though, didn't really cause a problem as there are exchanges in town. We did not eat in the hotel apart from Breakfast which was continental meats and cheeses, made a nice change from fried breakfasts. The walk into town is littered with bars and restaurants should you want to leave the hotel. There is a nice pebble beach in front of the hotel and the water is crystal clear. The hotel staff were very welcoming, their English was a lot better than my Albanian and nothing seemed too much trouble. The girl on reception was lovely, answering any questions we had about the town and the bar waiters were very attentive. Really enjoyed myself at the Hotel New York and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woody_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found the Hotel New York to be a great place to stay. Large, clean comfy rooms with huge TV. Nice bathrooms with big shower with a shower door so the floor doesn't get wet (not often found in th other hotels). Excellent restaurant with a terrace overlooking the sea. Recommend the New York seafood paltter for 2 and the signature New York dessert for 2 - great value for well presented and delicious meal! We found the breakfasts to be good with cereal, yogurt, eggs, tomatoes, cheese, bread etc. Tea, coffee, milk and fruit juice. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Big pool and lots of sunloungers. It's on the south side of Vlore, a little way from the town which makes it peaceful. We stayed here twice onthe way from and back to Tirana and would definately reccomend it.

Room Tip: Rooms without sea view are quieter as not on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LouiseHCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlore
0.6 mi away
Hotel Liro
Hotel Liro
#1 of 16 in Vlore
133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Partner
Hotel Partner
#2 of 16 in Vlore
98 reviews
19.2 mi away
Altea Beach Lodges
Altea Beach Lodges
#7 of 9 in Dhermi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Paradise Beach
Hotel Paradise Beach
#1 of 5 in Radhime
87 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#4 of 16 in Vlore
23 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#3 of 16 in Vlore
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Aleksander Moisiu N. 75 | Uji i Ftoht, Vlore 9401, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Vlore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Vlore
Price Range: $38 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of the magnificent coastline of Vlora, located in the fantastic city, near the tunnel where crystal waters flow for centuries through the greenery of pines, appears Hotel New York. Its location in the most beautiful part of Vlora bay known as The Cold Water, at the foot of Mount Shuschica makes it a real miracle. The Hotel's bridge passes over the national road Vlore-Saranda and gives the impression of a ferry docked there forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing