We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome budget getaway experience”
Review of The Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in 'Eua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 2 'Eua Island B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome budget getaway experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent 2 amazing days here, and was totally impressed. Yes it is a bit tired in places, could use some fresh paint in places, but, for the value it is amazing! Rooms were very clean, spacious, and the view out through the gardens over looking the ocean, outstanding!
Beach access is a nice hike through the woods, and then you have your own unspoiled beach, good swimming and snorkeling. The sunsets are incredible, as well as watching the surf hit the reef and splash up in front.
Great staff who make you feel very comfortable, as well as the best dinners you could imagine.
I did the around the island tour, which was a full day adventure with a great guide .... Siene, who really was enjoyable, knew his island, and made the trip fun. He does an assortment of tours, and is polite, genuine and a great guide.
The breakfasts are excellent and go for the plunger coffee!
A cool rustic place, for this island the best place to stay!

Room Tip: They all face the ocean, maybe the end ones if you wish more privacy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    105
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
43
114
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is great! Quiet, charming and relaxing.

The food is great....the fridge is always full of Maka (local beer), fantastic view of the ocean...what more can you ask for

Your host Taki can only be described as "The Man"! He knows the island like the back of his hand, he'll show you the best of what Eua has to offer....and he can make you laugh til your ribs hurt.

For those who are searching for your traditional 5 star accommodation...this place may not be for you, but if you’re after a 5 star experience...this is the place to come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senitofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Some 5 star hotel freaks may wonder how you can give 5 stars to a place like this, but to a great many kiwis, the overall feel of a place is far more important than the size (or lack) of an ensuite or things being exactly on time. 'Island style' and 'Island time' are two phrases alive and thankfully thriving here.
Taki & Naite are fantastic hosts, food much better than originally expected (if you want them to do you a suckling pig over a spit, let them know and allow them a day or 2 to catch one) & mind blowing whale watching/snorkeling experience. After a few days you barely bothered to look up from your coffee at breakfast to see them breaching just off the point.
We were there as a group of a dozen or so on a boys trip, and think we were the exception rather than the norm, so if we weren't there it would have been pretty quiet. Some of the other guests may have found us a little annoying, but we took it as a good sign that the staff bought out the guitar & ukulele and stayed up with us.
In summary, a great relaxing place to stay (take a book & pack of cards), and amazing whale watching.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank critterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was one the best experiences of my time in Tonga......Nothing was too much trouble for Taki and his wonderful staff....Everyone was so friendly and we were offered as much or as little as we wanted to do.....but a must is the 4WD tour...we went with Chris a local whose knowledge made for a great time.....also whale watching with Kiko and a weaving class with local ladies.....Taki and Naite's support of their local villagers is the best part of the time as you feel you are helping the island community as well as having a good time.....Big Bessie and little Bessie you both rock as well.....wish you every success.

Room Tip: The fale huts were a great experience...and so reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hideaway Resort is run by a Tongan family and that is a major plus because they ensure that money goes back into the local community. Eua Island is vey undeveloped in regards to tourism which makes it a great holiday destination for off the beaten track travellers who enjoy bush walking or swimming with the whales. If you want swimming amongst the coral this is not the place for you, the water is shallow behind the reef and it is very rocky, although you can find the odd rockpool and you can walk around the coral next to the lookout. The lookout is fantastic, you can see whales easily and we would say, having been to Tongatapu and Va'vau also that the best place to swim with whales is Eua. The food is average, the staff are wonderful, the resort is great value for money and Taki, his wife Naite, their family and staff make you feel very welcome, We also happened to be on the island when the Tongan King was visiting, this made our stay especially interesting because many members of his entourage were staying at Hideaway. The Agricultural show was fantastic and go the the Church on Sunday and listen to their singing, fabulous. Hideaway is an excellent place to stay during the whale season and we estimate that three to five days would be ideal for travellers. If you can, go on the safari with Chris in the four wheel drive, you will get to see a lot of the island in one trip and as such is great value for money. Daniel and Melanie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wairuaWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A wonderful week on Eua.pronounced Ay-Wah staying at Hideaway where hosts Taki and Naite husband and wife team, their fantastic staff, make everything easy. Whales are plentiful in numbers, 2 boats to choose from -Sams- big comfortable with an excellent crew. You swim with whales from here, you scuba dive from this boat, some of the best dives in the world, my daughter did these. Kiko, local has a smaller boat for the more agile and these swims with whales are longer and closer. Both special in their own way. The food is great. Sausages are the best I have tasted anywhere. My daughters loved the omeletts.
My accomodation was grt, staying in the new section and my daughters were very comfotable in their room in the original section. Fantastic views, whales everyday and so close. Local villagers are very friendly, a visit to a local church on Sundays hold special wow factor, the voices are amazing. We enjoyed a weaving session at a local womans home and took home bangles and rings etc that were allowed thru customs. This is truely and unspoilt region I will return next whale season.

Room Tip: I am 60 so had a newer room but feel I could have settled anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just got back from 2 weeks in Tonga, and 'Eua was our first stop. We stayed at the Hideaway for 3 nights, and it definitely was not long enough. We did love it, but I have to mention this first... yes although it is rustic and 'off the beaten track', be aware that there are often dive groups there due to the whales and the diving. We happened to be there with while a group was there, and it is great for the business, but it does make the place a lot more crowded as everyone tend to hang out at the dining area / look out deck, and it wasn't so must of a "hideaway" for us... so it pays to check out if you will be there at the same time as a dive group first.

So since the other rooms were booked out, we stayed in a fale. They are basic and clean, and the shared bathrooms are good, and have hot water showers. The food was decent and large servings, and the resident pigs and piglets are very cute and might come up and nudge your beer if you stand outside with them. The Sunday omu feast was great and lots of food. Definitely try to taro leave dessert.

On Sunday, the church service was good (singing was amazing) and we did the unguided walk - Taki provides a very good hand draw map - almost to scale! We also did 2 dives with Deep Blue - the reefs was okay but not much fish life (comparatively) but it was amazing nevertheless as it was the first time we've heard whales underwater. We managed to fit in the whale swim on the morning before we flew out in the afternoon as well. Deep Blue also occassionally does pizza nights which is a nice change.

The atmosphere certainly changed as soon as the group left, and the Hideaway became a "hideaway" again. We loved it and wished we've stayed for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphaleo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near 'Eua Island
13.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
175 reviews
21.9 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
177 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
47 reviews
22.5 mi away
Fafa Island Resort
Fafa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fafa Island
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Property: The Hideaway
Address: PO Box 2282, 'Eua Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > 'Eua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in 'Eua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Hotel `Eua Island
The Hideaway Tonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing