We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive

We drove up in our rental car after a swim at antiamos beac. Travellers are correct in that there... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2018
Peter K
,
Geneva, Switzerland
Very interesting

We ventured up here one morning by car not knowing what to expect. We were very surprised, it is so... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2018
louise b
,
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Read all 216 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sami
from $51.60
More Info
from $63.10
More Info
from $70.80
More Info
from $63.10
More Info
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
53
43
24
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
43
24
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antisamos beach look closely ancient olive trees great walk worth a visit sensible footwear paved road magnificent view hire car interesting visit worth the effort captain corelli's mandolin ruins goats church hike settlement
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an evocative place. The ancient dwelling of Sami, now in ruins, related it's own story of a bust!ing settlement, minding its own business, until over run and sacked by the Romans. A small chapel remains, and is used in special feast days, weddings and funerals, and a sonorous bell hangs still apart, beckoning the visitor to enjoy its gong.

Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even if you are not into archaeology, do make the effort to climb to the very top of the hill - you can drive most of the way. The views are terrific looking down onto Sami and out to sea to Ithica.

Thank peregrineventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We drove up in our rental car after a swim at antiamos beac. Travellers are correct in that there are no well preserved historic monuments here. the site and its history are nevertheless impressive and we did not regret the 15min drive up.

Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

It's an amzing experience to see history closer and contemplate gorgeous views! It is worth a visit for sure. We've been there twice.

Thank alvarocamilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

I love Greece and all things Greek but this I was very disappointed at. We spent hours walking up all the damn hills on the precarious roads (for godsake hire a car!) in the heat. That was fine, the views awesome. Sign posts to the acropolis are very few but don't give up! Keep going and you will eventually arrive at a sign that tells you you are there... except you need to keep going a tad further! THEN.. you WILL get to another sign that's actually lying on the floor proudly declaring that the acropolis was funded by a million plus euros to improve it. Don't be fooled... we couldn't tell where this money had been spent and it still mostly looked like the rocks on the rest of the island except in a door way style. It was apparent that no one really came and cared for the area, there was litter and all sorts on the dirt/stone paths along the route. The views were breath taking and its a lovely walk but don't go expecting to see a great ancient monument as you will be like me, very disappointed! We did see a snake however which was cool! Loads of ants and of course those bloomin wasps!

Thank LipVenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

We were one of two couples, ranging from 40-50 in age, we walked from Sami in 30 degree heat, we walked around the mountain for a couple of hours and could not find the acropolis. The signs do not give much detail, google maps, Apple maps, and every other map I could find could not locate this place. In the end, close to suffering from heat exhaustion I managed to ring a taxi to come and attempt to find us. Only attempt this if you have a hire car and a guide.

Thank 399maxinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Had a car and visited the site of the Acropolis, not much left of it now probably due to the earth quake, but if you like seeing these sort of ruins its worth a visit.

Thank WiganPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We ventured up here one morning by car not knowing what to expect. We were very surprised, it is so pretty. After parking the car on a roadside we walked up to the Acropolis. It is mostly reduced to rubble now, but there are a few places of interest. The views however are spectacular from the top. We ventured further down the road and came to ruins of a church and what must have been a small village. It was very interesting looking around. Venture even further up wards and you come to a monetary and a big circular platform with a little church. The views here are amazing. A lot of these areas were used in the making of the film captain Corelli's mandolin, so if you like that film it is interesting to see. We met some people who had walked to the top. It took them the whole day and they were very hot, I am pleased we took the car.

Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

We had hired a Jeep and having been to Sami and Antisamos beach we thought we would drive up to see what this was. As others have said more information would of been really useful and perhaps some illustration as to what it originally looked like would of been nice.

It is a piece of history and peaceful. You also have great views out over Sami . If your walking up might not be so good for the less mobile . Watch the heat of the day take water as you have nothing there to buy.

The only real signage is indicated a tower or should AI say the remains of a tower.

You do have a church there but you can’t access it and a bell to ring as we did. We missed the ruins of the church which is further down from what I have read else where.

Thank waddesdon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Firstly, If you are walking from Sami, I would recommend going early morning or later afternoon as it's a fair trek in hot weather and sensible footwear is advised.

Having said that, it's a great walk, first up windy roads and then up country paths to the top. Once your at the top, the 360° views walking around the top of the hill (mountain?) are absolutely stunning so take a camera!

The ruins of the actual Acropolis are really just that; ruins, and there's not a lot to discern what used to be there other than the remains of the outer wall, but still worth the trek up there and the history is interesting.

Thank IainS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews