We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly family hotel in the world.. Just perfect”
Review of Sami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sami Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The most friendly family hotel in the world.. Just perfect”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our second time at The Sami beach and it was more beautiful than we remembered. Mariane, Yanis and Pericles (owners) all there to welcome us when we arrived with hugs and welcome drink while our cases were taken to our room. We chose a garden room at the back of the hotel as we like being able to sit in the garden in the evening. The views from the rooms over looking the sea are stunning though. Breakfast is a delight, hams, cheese fresh tomatoes, boiled eggs scrambled eggs, sausages, lovely breads, fresh fruits, Greek yogurt and honey, jams,,cake, croissants, toast. I'm sure I've forgotten some things. Fresh coffee, tea and juices. The staff and great and very funny. Yanis comes in and gives everyone the weather forcast back home!!! And the Sami breafast saying is "Smile please its a beautiful day" The staff know people by name and remembered us from our last visit 2 yrs ago!! On the Sunday of our stay we were asked to a lunch party for returning guests. Amazing food and wine and brilliant fun. There are people who have been going to The Sami Beach hotel for 20 yrs. To sum up:-
It's a quiet friendly small hotel situated in the village of Karavomolos about 15 min walk along the beach from Sami town. (5min drive) it's situated on the beach which is very quiet. There is a bar by the pool serving drinks and snacks. It's is quiet location and perfect for couples and families. If you want wild night life and noise this isn't for you. There are lots of bars and restaraunts in Sami and a few within a few mins of the hotel. The rooms all have a fridge which is handy with fruit and complimentary wine.
I am shocked at the one poor review about this hotel and I actually think the people must be reviewing the wrong hotel?? There are a few Sami hotels in Greece!! We really love it and will return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaOv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
82
133
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

After staying a week in Lourdas, we moved onto this hotel near Sami for our last 5 nights on the island.
The best point was the friendliness of the staff, they couldn't do enough for their guests!
The rooms were quite basic but kept very clean and all had balconies or terraces.
As for breakfast time, I can't believe that one previous reviewer put that the staff were miserable!
Quite the opposite, I couldn't believe how they managed to always be so happy and smiley every morning!
The swimming pool was great, really good size and kept very clean.
It was a bit of a walk into Sami to eat (about 25 minutes) but perfect for walking off all that lovely Greek food and there were a few much nearer restaurants within 5 minutes walk which were also very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visionabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. The Dorisas family and all of their staff could not be more welcoming and caring. Like us, many families and couples return to this hotel year after year. This is testement to it's high quality and good value.Breakfasts are excellent and snacks available are good value. There are several restaurants within a few minutes walk from the wonderful setting of Sami Beach. Like us, many people book 1 year in advance...enough said!! Paul~ Alison

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Having read a previous review we felt compelled to say that our experience of the Sami Beach Hotel and the wonderful family and staff who run it could not be more different. We only discovered this hotel two years ago, following a recommendation from friends who have returned every year for the last 15 years and now we know why. Our first trip this year was at the end of June and we had such a wonderful time we decided to return in August. We have already booked for next year. Given that we travel frequently and have stayed in hotels all over the world this speaks for itself. What this hotel is about is the personal touch... if you want 5 star facilities in a modern hotel and you are not necessarily wanting to expereince a greek outlook on life and the traditional hospitality to guests then perhaps you should book elsewhere. Normally we might do that too, however, in this instance you would miss out on a unique experience of Greek hospitality and a warm, friendly atmosphere which pervades the hotel. Our experience of the staff at breakfast is so totally different to that described in one review that we wondered if they had actually stayed somewhere different to us ! The breakfast staff are legendary for their upbeat attitude and 'smiles' - we have never experienced a more friendly atmosphere. Although the bedrooms are not modern they are spotless and towels and bedlinen are changed daily - the seaview is so beautiful that you can't help but feel relaxed and soothed. Please read all the reviews for this hotel to see that what is desribed in one review is not typical. We have never seen any sign of drunken or noisy behaviour.It is a classy, family friendly hotel perfect for couples and families with young children.There are tavernas within a few hundred yards and a whole host of excellent tavernas a 10 -15 min walk along the waterfront to Sami.I don't think that the dozens of families and couples who we have met there who return year after year have got it wrong !
JSB Staffordshire

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are worth paying extra for - the view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSBStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Fine for older people who like a drink! and maybe quiet teenagers but not for families with young children who need to eat somewhere nearby,we had to trek down the road to the Mellisanni to buy our meals,the hotel breakfasts were basic and poor quality I wouldnt even call it a continental breakfast,the waitresses were miserable and there was a lot of drunks about!Not ideal when you have a nine year old son with you.The only food the hotel provided was either a toasted cheese sandwich or a greek salad,both were expensive as the sandwich was £6!Also they only served these between 12 and 3 aa we found out when we tried to get some food at about 6!The beach was filthy and the locals were unfriendly!The hotel itself was clean and of a reasonable decor,but we spent over £2500 on toasted sandwiches and rubbish like to crisps to stop ourselves from being hungry.Coildnt sleep at night for drunks in room next door.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmo364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doriza, Owner at Sami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Sir/ Madam,

We were very sorry to read your review about our hotel this morning.
Obviously you have not enjoyed your stay with us at all and we are very sorry for this.
One person that would read all previous reviews on Tripadvisor or other reviews on the internet about Sami Beach Hotel would probably imagine that you are talking about another hotel. Our family and staff do anything that is possible to ensure that our guests have a nice time here.
I am afraid that the fact that you had a noisy neighbour is probably what spoiled your holiday. However, I must also make a note on some of your comments. On our website it is mentioned on the services section that there is a pool bar doing snacks from 12:00 to 15:00. We do not operate a restaurant but there are 3 restaurants within a five minute walking distance. Also, the price for a ham and cheese toasted sandwich is 3 EUROS and not 6 POUNDS. Lastly, I must say that Sami Beach Hotel is not a place with “a lot of drunks about” but mainly couples and families.
We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and that you come and stay with us again so we can prove that we are much better hosts.

Best wishes
The Doriza family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We returned for our 2nd visit to the delightful Sami Beach Hotel and Maryan, Yannis and Pericles, who simply are the best at delivering all that you could wish for in a perfect holiday. Thank you very much to all of you at Sami Beach Hotel, you simply are some of the loveliest people we have come across in our travels and we hope to return again next year. Sylvie and Graham xx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hello,
When I first arrived at the Hotel I wondered why it has 9.5 in the reviews in booking and also in trip advisor. It is not that the Hotel is bad but do not look for a modern property and facilities. Then I understood, the family that runs the Hotel will give their lives to make you feel at home, they would recommend a special place for each day, they would ask every moment what else they can do for you. I am really grateful for the days we spent there.

Concerning the facilities:

Location: Perfect, sami is a really good place to stay as you are half way to all main attractions and you need a car to explore the island. also Sami has quite a big center with a pedestrian street by the sea with plenty of restaurants and small shops with local products.

Room: spacious, not modern, confortable with a/c and balcony, i would not recommend the garden room as you feel like in a basement.

Facilities huge swimming pool overlooking the sea, a nice bar, a lovely tennis court sorrounded with gardens and flowers.

Breakfast was really good, slice fruits, eggs, muffins , toasts

Although the best thing about the Hotel is the people who created the Hotel, the work all day and you can see the three generations.

Thank you so much for your warm hospitality, we will surely be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianaQueirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
11.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
87 reviews
4.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
313 reviews
13.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Beach Hotel

Property: Sami Beach Hotel
Address: Argostoliou - Samis, Sami 280 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sami Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacuzzi, Library(wide selection of books), Ping pong, Tennis court, Children's playground, Safe and sufficient parking, TV Lounge(satellite television), Air-condition, Elevator, Sun-beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing