We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful base for exploring” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pericles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pericles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful base for exploring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Myself and my family booked this hotel as a base for exploring. The staff are very friendly, the rooms clean and serviced every day. After reading reviews I was expecting something obviously dated, but I was pleasantly surprised as it certainly isn't. It is in a nicely quiet spot away from the town which is reached by a 15 minute walk. The hotel is surrounded by animals of all kinds, which the kids loved especially the donkey across the road who is a real character. The pool area is clean and Vangelis is so warm and friendly, it was a pleasure to always talk to him. A definite recommend and I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    164
    74
    32
    9
See reviews for
74
279
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent two great weeks lovely hotel room was clean nice balcony ,staff were really helpfully made u really welcome ,
Found a great restaurant in Sami and meet some great people the Thomas cook rep Scottish was best rep we have had .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melholk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend booked the Pericles for 11 nights as part of a package holiday at the end of July. We arrived late evening and were given directions to walk in to Sami harbour an easy 10 minute walk. Please note the roads are generally dark so it may be handy to pack a small torch for your own piece of mind but we managed without this. As we arrived so late the air conditioning was not on and the room was roasting - I have to say this was one of the most terrible nights sleep we have had in a long time - we had to open the balcony door to let a cool breeze in and consequently I was bitten by mosquitoes. Throughout the rest of our holiday we had trouble with the air-conditioning, some nights the room would be cool and others it would be warm and uncomfortable - we could not work out a pattern in this and after speaking to other guests they did not appear to have the same problem so it may have just been our room. We did not complain as there are signs stating the air-conditioning is on from 5-12pm and rather we had been unlucky. It speaks volumes that despite this problem with the air-conditioning that we have still rated the Pericles 4 out of 5, this is largely to do with the helpful staff, gorgeous location and a peaceful pool. We were surprised that even during the school holidays the pool was still relaxing and a nice environment to be in a truly beautiful spot. They do ask you not to bring your own snacks to the pool and we found the pool menu to be ample and reasonably priced although better food is available at the harbour.
Kefelonia is a beautiful Island and the best way to see it is by hiring a car, however we chose to do the 4 trips available through the rep and enjoyed these opportunities to see the island. We walked to Antisamos Beach one day which took about an hour but in the heat quite a difficult walk - however it was well worth it as the beach is gorgeous.
Sami itself has 2 nice pebble beaches and a good variety of places to eat our favourite was la familia with new specials every evening and restaurant quality food however for more traditional dishes we liked some of the other tavernas on the front.
To summarise we loved our time in Kefelonia and enjoyed our stay at the Pericles, yes the furniture is dated but it did not hinder our stay, rooms are clean, bedding and towels changed every 3 days. The breakfast was ample although not a lot of variety I would suggest buying some fruit to add to the greek yoghurt. We would recommend the Pericles as a base to stay in Kefelonia.

Room Tip: Check your air-conditioning and try to get a harbour facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_welli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Like MrsDrink below, a hotel, for us, is a base. With this is mind, we thought the Pericles was the perfect hotel from which to explore Sami and the whole of Kefalonia. The rooms are clean and towels and sheets are changed regularly. Breakfast is indeed rudimentary, but adequate to keep you going until early afternoon when you'll (if you're anything like us) be out and about exploring. Incidentally, we did have a couple of afternoons at the pool which is lovely.

Because the Pericles is a little way out of Sami's centre, each evening we got to walk a lovely quiet back road down to the seafront (turn right out of the carpark then right again!) and this soon became an event to look forward to. We made lots of animal friends - there's a donkey, lots of cats/kittens, dogs that wriggle through fences to say hello, turkeys, geese, and, over one fence, there was a hen with her new clutch of chicks that we 'ahh-ed' over each evening. We loved returning in the dark too, regularly seeing lizards and bats in the light of the street lamps.

Half way through the week, a member of our party had a medical emergency and, even though it was in the wee small hours of the morning, the staff on duty sprang into action, getting the help that we needed. It's when things like this happen that you realise that the absence of a full English breakfast, does not a bad hotel make.

No complaints here. Thank you Hotel Pericles. We, at least, will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalypsoDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very dissapointed. The hotel is dated, 80's style. Like previous guests have stated the breakfast is a bare minimum attempt to complete a bed and breakfast obligation. Guests with children either bought their own items or ate elsewhere !.
The hotel has no holiday spirit, the owner is obsessed with watching the guests. You will be reminded by various stickers around the hotel of the rules, do not bang this door, do not touch th tv or change channel ( one tv in the lounge on sky news permanently ). Leave the pool ares at 7pm . Guests are not oermitted in the lounge or bar area aftrr 12.30pm.

HE EVEN SWITCHES THE LIGHTS OFF IF YOUR SITTING THERE AFTER 12.30.

Not a pleasant holiday, there arc
no activities normally associated with a holiday hotel. Nothing for guests or children to do in the eveningunless your a dky news addict !.

AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Its funny that we didn't read the reviews before we left but now upon reading them agree with all the negatives about this place!
The breakfast is very poor, especially for a family with children. There is no alternative unless you fancy a 15-20 min walk into town to pay for something you've already paid for.... I calculated we has paid approx £28 for breakfast each morning which consisted of toast for everyone.....Most expensive toast I ever ate..... ever! It is true the orange is watered down and glasses smell funny......And the wasps!!!!!! The wasps do not leave you alone! Even if you come inside! They follow you in.! We noticed their nest outside the breakfast area, it is plain to see that the management just don't give a monkeys else this would have been dealt with!
The beds are basic, two twins pushed together with skinny hard mattresses.
We had a dingy family basement room, which considering we had paid nearly £2000 for two weeks with Thomas Cook was like a prison cell, with a view to the back of the hotel, overlooking a shed.....which was glamorised by the hotel stating it was a lock up facility for the camera crew for Captain Corelli's Mandolin.... hmmmm yeah ok....it's still £2000 to look at a shed....... a noisy shed as next to it housed the pool generator....
The air con was a plus and we used this to cool our water bottles in the day time, only to find the maid had turned it off upon our return everytime....
One day I decided that I needed the sheets changing as my pillowcase had sun
cream on it (i'm very picky about clean pillowcases) so i stripped the pillowcase and sheet off the bed and placed it on the floor outside the door........when i returned to the room i found that the maid has re-made the bed with the dirty linen I had taken off!!!!! This was soooooo shocking to me, I couldn't quite believe it!!!
The bathroom was full of mould and the shower tiny....you can't shower in the space provided without soaking the bathroom...... But that doesn't matter as the sink pipes leak constantly so you cant tell if its shower water or leaky sink water.... We constantly had to have a towel on the floor to prevent a swimming pool of dirty water on the floor.....
Vangelis (Man who runs pool bar) was lovely, no complaints, went out of his way to make our stay lovely. IMO he should run the place as Stelios is a moody stingy old git....turning off the wifi at 10pm and tv at midnight.......
There is no entertainment at all at this hotel.....
The rep Scott (Thomas Cook) was great and recommended lots of things for us to do. The place Sami, is lovely...

Tips.....
1/Rent a car to explore the island.... The taxi drivers rip you off..... (10 euros to andisamos, 5 euros to town, 40 euros to argostoli, 30 euros to Myrtos)
2/Pick a different hotel......

Room Tip: High floor, sea view......or chose a different hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Okay so firstly let me give an outline of what sort of holiday we enjoy. For us the hotel is a base. We store our belongings there; have a siesta there; and get ready to enjoy some fine dining in local restaurants. We are not pool people; nor are we stay at the hotel all week people. Had we been this review would be very different. (We hire a car directly from the airport for the whole of our holiday so we are free to explore rather than being tided to any 'entertainment' provided by an airline).

So that being said let me first tell you about our experience with regards to some of the more negative feedback on here:

* Room decor - Yep they needed modernising. It was like being in an 80s throwback. But the beds were perfectly comfortable (if slightly frustrating for a married couple since the wooden bed frame prevented the two mattresses from being pushed together).
* Walk from Sami - Yep this isn't good. The road isn't lit (as you turn left out of the hotel and walk along the main road). For us this wasn't such a big deal - as I said we had a car so we drove into Sami each night.
* The owner - I think this comes down to what you expect/want from the staff. For us we want someone who will be professional, approachable, but not in your face trying to get us to spend money. The owner was perfectly acceptable to us. He smiled (!!!) and said morning/evening etc to us whenever we walked past (we didn't sit in the hotel much). He was fine whenever I requested things (like safe keys/hiring a fridge). I really disagree with some of the comments written on here about him. He was just doing his job at the end of the day.
* Breakfast - Ah yes now I can agree with the comments about breakfast. The 'included' offerings were pretty poor. Toast, cold ham, cold cheese, honey, jam, butter, cornflakes & milk, hard boiled eggs, madeira cake, orange juice and coffee/tea. More of a variety of cereals (more grown up versions) and fresh fruit would have been nice. There was the option of having an omelette or fried eggs with bacon or sausage for an extra 3 Euros. On the last morning we indulged - my husband had the omelette which he said was nice; I had 2 fried eggs with sausage but wouldn't recommend that - firstly the fried eggs weren't runny and secondly the sausage was a plastic one rather than some of the nicer sausages we'd tasted over the week.
The shower - pretty much what you'd get in any similar starred hotel in any greek island in our experience. (Small square tray with shower curtain - shower hose attached to the wall but if you had too much water pressure it sprayed itself loose).
* Air conditioning - Our room's unit was free to operate and could be turned on and off at our will at any time of the day. The hotel's main reception rooms had air conditioning turned on after 5 (until when I can't remember) which kept them nice and cool.
* Times of breakfast/bar - I have read some comments on here complaining about not being able to get drinks before breakfast starts and after the bar closes. I personally really don't see the problem here. You couldn't go up to a shop before it opens and demand to be served; or go to a pub after closing time and ask for a drink. I find this hard to understand. There are signs clearly displayed - the owner was up before we arrived for breakfast (8amish) and was still up when we got back from eating out (11pmish). Give the guy a break - he has to have some time 'off'.
* Faulty Towers - just not true.

So onto our experience:
* 'Basement' family rooms. - Try to get an even numbered room so you have a patio. The hotel sits into a hill so the front of the hotel is underground, but the back of the hotel is on ground floor. If you are unfortunate to get a family room on the front of the hotel the only real light you will get is from a small window high up.
* Bargain for 2 couples. - We went with a friend. When I was initially looking for a hotel I was looking at, and being priced for, 2 rooms which was getting expensive. Using the Thomas Cook site I booked us a 'connecting 2 bedroom 2 bed' room. (Or described similar). Basically this was 2 twin rooms connected together via an internal door. (The twin beds were pushed together to form a double - but as explained above the wooden frame prevented the mattresses from being close). One of the rooms had the door leading to the corridor; and the other had the bathroom leading off from it. It was good for us as neither of us are middle-of-the-night-weeers.
* Free WiFi - whilst we were there to forget home, it was good to have the option of staying in touch via the internet. (I needed to check on my scuba diving insurance which had run out just the day before we flew out - it was free to check online, but would have cost me a lot to telephone them!).
* Hiring of a safe and fridge. - Okay so slightly annoying they aren't included but very easy to obtain. We had both for a week and it cost 35 Euros. The safes are kept near the Thomas Cook Rep's desk and is operated with two keys - one which you are given, the other which is kept behind the reception desk which you have to ask for. The fridge - well it's a fridge - not much to say about that. You could store 2L bottles in there.

The real key is whether we'd stay here again. Yes we would. For what we want out of a hotel this was acceptable (and a good price).

Room Tip: Even numbered family rooms have a patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
0.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Bay Hotel
Green Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavomylos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pericles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pericles Hotel

Property: Pericles Hotel
Address: Samis - Agias Effimias, Sami 280 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Hotel Class:3 star — Pericles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Pericles Hotel Sami
Hotel Pericles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing