We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely villas but not quite perfect”
Review of Sami Beach Villas

Sami Beach Villas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sami Beach Villas
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sami
Verwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely villas but not quite perfect”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from Sami, and stayed in Villa Fedra for one week and Villa Nefeli for the second week. the villas are in a great location with beautiful surroundings and are well spaced out to enjoy some privacy.

The villas are well equipped with really good barbeques which is what you want. Fridge/freezer perfect size, great having dishwasher and washing machine. Having beach towels provided is a major plus on the packing as well.

On the down side, these 'luxury' villas have probably lost the luxury edge since they have been built. Clothes dryer broken, toilet roll holder kept falling off, outside dining tables broken, walls cracking, a sun lounger broken. The worst was probably the bathroom door in villa nefeli. It got stuck and could only be opened from the outside which left several of us banging on the bathroom door shouting for help. This can take a while when everyone else outside!

These are all very small things which can be easily be rectified.

We did have a lovely stay here, but I think that was probably more to do with being with all my family rather than the villas themselves.

When booking these villas I advised of our flight times, and was never given a time at which we could enter the villa or a time which we needed to vacate. Stupidly I assumed we would be able to stay in the villa until our departure. Unfortunately the night before our departure (our flight being 8pm) I was told we would have to vacate at 11.30am at the latest and the top floor needed to be cleared by 10.30am as there were people coming in at 1.30. I understand it is difficult to organise the departure and arrival times of leaving and arriving guests, but in my mind 11.30am is far too early.

It seemed to me that more care was taken over new arrivals rather than departing ones which is a real shame as now I do not feel like returning.

Luckily for us, we had relatives who had previously stayed at The Athena Beach Hotel, and the owners gave us a room and also allowed us to use the facilities of the Ionian Emerald Resort.

My advice - if you want luxury stay at the Ionian. If you want a typical Greek holiday with the most welcoming owners I have ever met, stay at The Athena Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in Villa Thalia for a week commencing 24th June (i think !) and loved every minute of our time there. Elizabeth and Michael made everything so easy for us and are really nice genuine people. The Villas really are superb and have everything you'll need for a comfortable stay. I would recommend the Villas to everyone, if you have any questions feel free to contact me, if you do not have any questions just contact Elizabeth and make the booking.....you will not regret it.
We are already planning our return !

The Welsh :)

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, just book it, you won't find better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brynheulwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the four villas, and were very happy there. Less than 5 minutes from Sami beach and not too far from shops and restaurants, they are a perfect spot to explore Kefalonia. Elizabeth and Michael (the owners) were lovely and helped in any way they could. The villas were very clean and well kept, with everything you might need. We went with our 2 daughters (aged 6 and 9) and they loved having our own pool. It was handy having a DVD player as well, as if they had enough sun, they could come in and watch a film. We certainly hope to be back there again at some point.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we have stayed at sami beach villa's on 4 occasions and were michael and ellies first visitors.
it is just about perfect.
60 mtres from the beach.5 mins to the bakery and small supermarket.10 mins stroll along the shore to sami and another 5 mins to the harbour and a variety of waterside restaurants.
each villa has its own pool .
it is always spotless and clean and the owners are friendly and very accomodating.
its quiet and the surroundings are lovely.
the villas are well equipped.
all round a perfect family holiday.
we have been to cephalonia many times over the years and sami (and sami beach villas) has been our favourite destination....even for a 15 year old

Room Tip: you dont need a car when you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Villa Dafni at the end of the private lane accessing just four villas. It’s very secluded and was perfect for our needs as a family of four to completely relax. The pool and patio area have everything that you could want with plenty of shade over the dining area when the sun loungers become a little too warm.

We probably could have spent all day circulating between the pool, loungers and shade, but if it’s needed - the air con inside provides a useful respite from the midday sun. Both bedrooms also have air con too. The master bedroom has wonderful views to the surrounding landscape and the high, timbered ceiling makes it feel very grand. With the door to the balcony open, the sound of the waves breaking on the beach can be heard. The balcony is large and perfect for catching either the morning sun, or the evening breeze over the treetops from the sea.

The setting of the villa really couldn’t be better with mountain views on three sides and trees to the north between the villa and the beach. To access the beach takes just a few minutes stroll along the lane, spotting lizards and butterflies amongst the flowers and shrubs along the way. The view at the end of the lane towards the beach-side trees and the blue/turquoise sea is breath taking. Even at the warmest part of the day, the beach and nearby shops are close enough to stroll to, if a little diversion from sun bathing is required for twenty minutes or so.

Sami is a lovely town that’s not overly dominated by tourist facilities. It has plenty of tavernas overlooking the bay and sufficient gift shops to obtain the essential Kefalonia tea towel; but also enough local businesses and shops to show that this is also a working town. The comings and goings of various ferries, small fishing boats and yachts also adds some spectacle whilst enjoying the local food at the tavernas.

As a location on the island, Sami is very centrally placed with good roads to the north, as well as the resorts in the south, and the beautiful mountains in the centre. Antisamis beach is a ten minute drive and a great sheltered bathing beach for snorkelling amongst the fish. For short excursions, there are quite a few places within about ten minutes’ drive of the villas that are worth visiting.

Overall, we were really pleased with the Sami Beach Villas. The owners, Ellie and Michael, we’re very welcoming and couldn’t have done more to make us comfortable and offer advice on where to visit and what to do. This is a great place to stay for a relaxing break to do very little and just sightsee around the vicinity on foot, or to use as a base from which to drive further afield to explore Kefalonia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gfjb-hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

There are 4 villas, nicely spaced, on a quiet, secluded site, with the sea 60m away down a lane. Each has its own small pool and a lovely sun terrace with all necessary furniture, and good views of the surrounding countryside. Our villa was extremely well equipped, clean and comfortable, with air-con available in the lounge and both bedrooms.

The owners visited at least once a day, unobtrusively, but with helpful advice available and a cheerful, friendly manner. They speak good English.

Nearby is a lovely restaurant serving good quality Greek food and local seafood, and a 10-15 minute walk away, in Sami, are several waterside tavernas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This really is an amazing place to stay. We stayed with our 4 month old baby daughter and it was perfect for us. The Villas are spacious with power showers in both the upstairs and downstairs bathrooms. The villa had Satalite TV, but we didn't use it. The villa was absolutely spotless, and everything worked. The bedrooms have balconies. There is plenty of storage space in the cupboards, and towels and all bedding were provided and of a very high quality.

The kitchen is well equiped - Oven, microwave, HUGE fridge, toaster, breville etc. We ended up using the BBQ most evenings as the sun went down over the mountains.

The location is wonderful. Sami is within easy walking distance (so perfect for fresh rolls from the bakery in the morning) and the local shops and small supermarkets have everything you need. Sami has lots of restaurants on the waterfront and also some traditional Taverna's. There are a couple of restaurants and bars that are just a five minute walk away along the beach - perfect for a stroll but far enough away to keep the feeling of serenity. We hired a car and from Sami almost everything on the Island was accessable within an hour. The next town along (Agia Efima - 10 mins in the car) has Scuba diving and you can hire boats.

There are four villas, each with their own pool, and they have flowers around them so they offer privacy. The beach is about 50 metres away and it was as calm as a lake most mornings. It wasn't the best beach, but we enjoyed travelling to great beaches during the day or just relaxing by the pool.

Elizabeth and Michael, the owners, live in Sami and they are just wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. We had bread, wine and a welcome basket on the day we arrived and they popped by in the week and dropped off fresh eggs. Half way through the week the Villa was cleaned which we didn't expect - a lovely touch.

It really was a perfect stay, really relaxing and refreshing - I just can't recommend this place highly enough. We'll be back! Simon, Emma and Molly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sami hotels
0.0 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Margarita Studios
Margarita Studios
#13 of 21 in Sami
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamanto
Diamanto
#3 of 21 in Sami
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalypso Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Beach Villas

Property: Sami Beach Villas
Address: Sami, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sami
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing