We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pool in Mwanza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryan's Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryan's Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mwanza
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice pool in Mwanza”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we stayed there before we went on safari. the kids loved the pool, the burgers and the satelite Tv after a week of football in Ngudu town. Nice place and very nice rooms. You can overlook the victoria lake from the terrace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaiSchubart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is good to hear that the children enjoyed their stay. We would like to hear of anything that was lacking or if we can improve over all. Please feel free to email manager@ryansbay.com

Thank you and we look forward to your visit with the children.

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    51
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
17
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mwanza
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

You are known for good service ever, please have a closer scrutiny on how u service your rooms daily, don't trust your maids. Your rooms are spacious which is well and good, arrange everything in order, because in my October visit, I slept in a room lacking even a toothbrush and a toothpaste. Quite disappointing since that was my special day the aim being complete relaxation. Nothing more, be serious as usual.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your experiences at Ryan's Bay.

We do value your feedback as it encourages to improve. I do apologize for certain amenities that were not in your room. We normally do not supply toothbrushes/toothpaste in the rooms. However, on client's request we are quite happy to provide.

We would appreciate it very much if you could let us know of any services/products that we can assist with, at the time of need. Bring it to our attention and we will do our best. "Customer Satisfaction" is our No.1 priority.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to Ryan's Bay Hotel.

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Working trip, did exactly what it needed to do in a friendly, clean and cost-effective way.

Cannot recommend enough. Cannot recommend enough.Cannot recommend enough.
Cannot recommend enough.
Cannot recommend enough.
Cannot recommend enough.
Cannot recommend enough.
Cannot recommend enough.



Safe travels!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySkierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for writing your comments on trip advisor. We are happy that your stay was comfortable and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at Ryan's Bay recently with family (3 kids between 9 & 14) for 2 nights in total. Two immaculate rooms with a connecting door. Ground floor with balcony beside the pool. It was heaven. The whole place was spotless. The buildings are very well laid out and work really well. Staff were more than accommodating and food was perfect. There is a lovely easy atmosphere in the place and it is very well run. Our kids have decided that they want to go back next year for their entire summer holidays as its the best place they have been. Its a superb starting point for a safari through the Serengeti and on to the Ngorongoro which is what we did. Hopefully we'll get back to Mwanza sometime soon and we won't be looking past Ryan's Bay for accommodation. Well done Yvonne & Lucas
Asanteni Sana na tutaonana. (Mwaka kesho, labda!!)
The Keely Family

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Ryan's Bay. We are happy the children enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you all soon. Karibu sana

Thank you for your positive comments and if you have any suggestions please email manager@ryansbay.com

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The service and staff was amazing! Everything from the rooms to the restaurant, especially the Butter Chicken. A gorgeous view of the Victoria Lake, a wonderful pool to relax in and the rooms were very spacious and clean and the property is filled with lush and beautiful gardens. The owners gave us the royal treatment - so we say thank you to Lucas and Yvonne Fortes!!
Definately recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor.

Five star service to our 5 star customers !!!! We are extremely pleased to hear of your feed back and more so of your stay at RBH.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Karibu

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My purpose in visiting Ryan's Bay Hotel was to book a safari, and I couldn't have chosen a better one! The owners of the hotel were very helpful, informative, and accommodating throughout the booking process. My driver was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and patient. As a woman travelling by herself, I felt very safe and secure at all times. The accommodations were spectacular and my driver never left until he knew I was settled in, which I really appreciated. All in all, I enjoyed the trip of a lifetime and would highly recommend that you take any opportunity to deal with these honest and lovely people who regularly give back to their community...something you don't find often in any part of the world!

Although I did not stay at the Hotel, I did visit the beautiful grounds and enjoy the spectacular view!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cicily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Front Office Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for all the wonderful comments you mentioned on trip advisor. I will pass on your feedback and comments to your guide, who will be thrilled to know that you had a great safari. Every single satisfied client simply influences us to do better.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you to Ryan's Bay Hotel.

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed long- and short-term at this hotel for business in Mwanza. The staff are incredible with children. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The restaurant is diverse, but a little expensive. Because I work in water and health, I've repeatedly tested the pool and taps just to calibrate my own equipment and it's always been safe.

Room Tip: For long term stays, pick an apartment with a kitchen to save money on food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time off your day to write your feed back. It is an important factor to us as we are always trying new ways to make our guests comfortable.

We are honored that you think Ryan's Bay is the best hotel.

Thank you for your positive and valued comments and we hope to you see you and the children again soon.

Kind regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mwanza hotels
5.7 mi away
Malaika Beach Resort
Malaika Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Mwanza
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tilapia
Hotel Tilapia
#2 of 14 in Mwanza
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Mwanza Hotel
New Mwanza Hotel
#5 of 14 in Mwanza
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adden Palace Hotel
Adden Palace Hotel
#4 of 14 in Mwanza
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Kingdom
#6 of 14 in Mwanza
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Kairo
Hotel La Kairo
#9 of 14 in Mwanza
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Bay Hotel

Property: Ryan's Bay Hotel
Address: Station Road, Capri Point, Mwanza, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mwanza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryan’s Bay is situated in the heart of the city – on the shores of Lake Victoria. It is luxurious yet affordable with 50 spacious rooms and 4 service apartments. Each guest room and suite offers a magnificent view of the bay. There's ample parking. The restaurant is spacious and also has an excellent view of the lake. It has a private swimming pool, complete with swim-to bar and lounging area for residents only. Other facilities include wireless internet access on the premises, Fitness center, room and laundry service and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ryan's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing