We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on the banks of Lake Victoria”
Review of Ryan's Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryan's Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mwanza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Property is situated about 40 minutes from the Mwanza Airport easily approachable..It is a ground plus two storey structure with a lift.

The Campus is adorned with lots of greenery and one can have a leisurely walk around to take in a breath of fresh air. The hotel has a restaurant and a coffee shop.

Reception:
The reception quite small and opens into space with lots of sitting space. The front office staff are quite friendly and help you with fast check in.

Rooms:

The rooms are very spacious with an attached balcony for spending some quality time with your partner sipping tea. There are rooms facing the Lake Victoria which is an absolute delight to sit and spend time just gazing at it..

The wash rooms are very neat and clean with sufficient stuff such as towels, soap, shower place etc. There is a wireless connection in every room and the signal strength is excellent.

Food:

Did not have any food so i cant comment on that.

Staff:

The Staff are well trained and polite to the core. Service is good and quick.

Other Facilities:

Ample stationery, enough storage space and a safety locker, hair dryer is available, Iron Box and table are provided on request.

Overall complete value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake Victoria are to be preferred...

Room Tip: Choose the Lake facing ones that also face the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viceroy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We do appreciate your efforts in sharing your experiences at Ryan's Bay Hotel. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable We are eager to hear of any comments/suggestion, what you liked or disliked and how we can improve.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ryan's Bay Hotel and we look forward to your return soon.
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I use this hotel as my base when visiting Tanzania on a monthly basis.

Staff are friendly, rooms are a good size and clean. It's my home away from home.

Value for money, meals are very good.

There are 2 Sections the old section and newly built section. Both are brilliant, but if you want to wake up the the full view of Victoria Lake, stay in the old section.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heyboyeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ryan's Bay Hotel.

If you have any suggestions or comments on how we can improve please send us an email at manager@ryansbay.com

Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to RBH.

Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The rooms are large, clean, cool, and quiet. Just what we needed after 33 hours of traveling. The food was terrific. Other diners were there from other hotels because the dining room is that good. Get the samosas. Best I ever had.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We were happy to hear that your stay at Ryan's Bay was comfortable. Thank you for sharing your experiences. We do appreciate every bit of it as Customer Service is our No1 priority.
Thank you for choosing Ryan's Bay Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you with some of those delicious "samosas"
Karibu
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at Ryan's Bay for two nights last month with my boyfriend. We had been in Tanzania working for a month, and were taking the last two days of our trip to relax before heading back to the states. It was the perfect place to getaway and relax. The pool was great, and not crowded at all. We spent the day lying by the pool, drinking beer, reading and swimming. The swim-up bar wasn't open because there were so few people there, but the wait staff at the restaurant came over and brought us whatever we needed. The food there was fantastic, and all of the workers were so nice and accommodating. Our room was also very nice - roomy, breezy, and very comfortable. It was a lot more than I expected for the very reasonable price. Will definitely be going back next time we're in Mwanza!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelliJ240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your encouraging comments you left on Trip Advisor. We will convey it to the staff as it encourages us to do better.

Thank you also for leaving feed back on your stay at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again to RBH.
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I reviewed the hotel about 6 months ago and have returned with a team last month. I stayed this time in a suite with a room that had an adjoining door. The new room was very nice and the new building is great. The excercise room was being furnished the week that I left, but I am sure that it will be very nice. As always, Leo, Johnny, and Yvonne are great in the office and Johnny makes the kitchen happen. Let me say this...1 of my team members left his passport at the hotel while we went on a couple of day Safari. A BIG NO NO!!!! I was able to call Johnny and allow him to go into the room we kept for the main purpose of storing luggage and go through the persons luggage to find his passport. I will say that there is probably not another place in Mwanza that I would have felt comfortable even letting them know there was an American passport left there, but Johnny called me while in the room and stayed on the phone while looking...and found it. I know it was a big deal, but the staff there acted like it was not a problem and was glad to do the service. Johnny gets a big ATTABOY! I will stick to everything from my last review, but want to express my gratitude to a place that I can count on from thousands of miles away and not worry about what the team my find on arrival.

Room Tip: ask for a suite. The room is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you again for your encouraging comments you cared to leave on trip advisor. We appreciate it.

We are also honored that you choose Ryan's Bay every time you visit Mwanza and pleased to be able to host you the best way we can.

Thank you again and we look forward to your visit soon.

Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at Ryan's Bay once in 2010 for a week and since then, I stay every time I am in Mwanza, which is more than 3 times every year. The place is so calm. All the rooms have Victoria Lake views. The hospitality is unprecedented, with free room service on everything a la carte - never seen that in any hotel before. Very fast internet, almost to the UK standards. Another first, there's no single room at the hotel; all rooms are the same size, luxurious superior double rooms with kingsize beds with mosquito nets and balconies. The staff are so friendly and keen to help everytime you come to the restaurant. The service is excellent but your meals can take a while (about 25-35mins sometimes) probably because their chefs use fresh ingredients. It is worth the wait every time. The price is affordable ($90 a night) and really worth it. I can not imagine staying anywhere else in Mwanza.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the first or the second floor for a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154John_D154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review you posted. We are pleased to hear that your experiences at Ryan's Bay was pleasant. Please feel feel free to voice your comments and suggestions as we are eager for your feed back in order to improve our services.

We look forward to your return every time.

Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having driven from Arusha via Babati and Singida and Shinyanga to Mwanza, we were dreading having to stay in a town centre , hot and and noisy apartment type hotel. Friends had said go to Ryan's Bay and upon arrival we were delighted by its location. A breezy outlook over the lake viewing rocky islands and bird life from our 3rd floor room soon had us relaxed and restful. The dining was tasty and the staff attentive. The cold beer (lacking in Singida and Shinyanga), kept that way by the back up generator, relaxed us even further. Wi-fi and DSTV both worked and the shower was the best so far this trip. The spacious room and its verandah over looking the lake made this visit special. Thank you one and all at Ryan's Bay!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucacio, Public Relations Manager at Ryan's Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your experiences at Ryan's Bay Hotel. We are thrilled and excited everytime we receive ratings such as yours. Please feel free to send us your suggestions and comments as we are a relatively new hotel and there is always room for improvement.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mwanza hotels
5.7 mi away
Malaika Beach Resort
Malaika Beach Resort
#1 of 15 in Mwanza
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tilapia
Hotel Tilapia
#2 of 15 in Mwanza
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Mwanza Hotel
New Mwanza Hotel
#9 of 15 in Mwanza
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belmont Fairmount Hotel
Belmont Fairmount Hotel
#11 of 15 in Mwanza
2 reviews
0 mi away
Adden Palace Hotel
Adden Palace Hotel
#4 of 15 in Mwanza
23 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Kingdom
#8 of 15 in Mwanza
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Bay Hotel

Address: Station Road, Capri Point, Mwanza, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mwanza
Price Range: $141 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryan’s Bay is situated in the heart of the city – on the shores of Lake Victoria. It is luxurious yet affordable with 50 spacious rooms and 4 service apartments. Each guest room and suite offers a magnificent view of the bay. There's ample parking. The restaurant is spacious and also has an excellent view of the lake. It has a private swimming pool, complete with swim-to bar and lounging area for residents only. Other facilities include wireless internet access on the premises, Fitness center, room and laundry service and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryan's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing