We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the loud city centre”
Review of New Mwanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Mwanza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mwanza
Reviewed November 21, 2010

this hotel is centrally located but ugly looking, just a concrete cubicle surrounded by "concrete jungle". It must have been good several years ago but then it was allowed to decay. Before you decide on a room you better try all the appliances first. Warm water comes mostly only if you insist on it. Breakfast is less than basic. Dinner is good if you choose indian cuisine. By the way, there is an "omni-presence" of Indians in Mwanza. They rule the town.
Service is rather poor. On weekends there is sometimes live music on the roof garden. you can't escape it. The bass makes walls and ceilings vibrate. for gamblers the positive aspect is the hotel's casino. There is a small and over crowded pool as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serengeti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2010

Dirty bedrooms, cockroaches, busy with renovation, jackhammers all day till 17:30, moved from one room to try if there is something better - worse. Dam of water in passage overnight outside door running into room, mildew odour, carpets full of patches where liquid have spilled circa long ago, bedspread dirty patches, no hot water --- I can go on and on and on.....
I relocated to the Nyumbani - 7 star quality, hypermodern - marble floors an a stunning view - at a cheaper rate!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josie_Bliksem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

One of the Tanzania travel guides described the place as "soul less". Well I was catching an early ferry and it was close by and they had bathtubs-I really needed a relaxing soak-so I stayed for one night. NEVER AGAIN. First let me clarify-I have spent a good deal of time in Tanzania over the last 5 years and have stayed at a wide range of lodgings including guest houses with shared bathrooms so I'm not a tourist expecting the Sheraton (which ironically they claim to be comparable to). The lobby is very upscale making you think you have walked into a nice hotel and the rooms do look very cookie cutter American hotel chain-ish (think super 8). I asked to see a room-they showed me three, all of which were dirty (food in mini fridge, dirty tubs, bed sheets with hairs on them, etc. Also, none of the tubs had plugs in them. I was tired, wanted a bath, and didn't want to pay 40 more for a room at Tilapia so I when down to the desk and asked if they could please show me a clean room with a tub that had a stopper in it. The lady behind the desk said "well the rooms on the 2nd floor may be cleaner"-what, did the cleaning lady on the 4th floor where I had been sleep all day? Ok fine, let me see a room on the 2nd floor. They showed it-there was a stopper so I took it. Well-no hot water for a bath. I called the desk, they said to let the water run for 10 minutes (which I had already tried)-so I did it again-still no hot water, called them back, they sent someone up to look. About an hour later there was hot water-for about a 1/4 tub full. So much for bath. I spoke to a guy from the states that was there on business the next day in the lobby-he said he had been there all week and there was never any hot water. For that price-I expect hot water-heck a 8$ night guest house will give you a bucket of hot water in the AM. So I go to check out-the bill is 15$ more than they said (it was now 85$ instead of 70$). Turns out the rooms on the second floor have internet access so its an extra 15$ charge. When I had checked in they told me they had two types of rooms-the internet ones being more expensive-I told them I didnt need the internet and certainly not for 15$ since that was the only difference with the rooms. The room on the 2nd floor looked the same as the ones I had looked at on the 4th-just with a bath tub plug. My guess they pull the "dirty room" scam to get you to stay in the internet room at a higher cost. Now in most cases-you would expect them to apologize. Not here. I told the lady I would pay the rate I had been quoted-her response was that she would call the police if I didn't pay the full amount (I would call her bluff in the states-NOT in Tanzania) and claimed she told me the room was an internet room. The manager was no better-siding with the lady and claiming that I agreed to pay 15$ more for a clean room. We finally came to an "agreement" where they took off 5$. By this time I was so furious I just paid and left. Leaving the hotel is when I came across the American business man-he had a similar bad experience with the hotel staff and room. The taxi driver that picked me up told me all the drivers know the hotel is a rip-off-you are better off paying more to stay at Tilapia or saving a bundle and staying somewhere else. I for one like Tunza lodge and hear La Kiro and Monarch are nice (and around 25$ night).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serval_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Renate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StefanChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premol2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mwanza hotels
5.3 mi away
Malaika Beach Resort
Malaika Beach Resort
#1 of 15 in Mwanza
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tilapia
Hotel Tilapia
#2 of 15 in Mwanza
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmont Fairmount Hotel
Belmont Fairmount Hotel
#11 of 15 in Mwanza
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Adden Palace Hotel
Adden Palace Hotel
#4 of 15 in Mwanza
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryan's Bay Hotel
Ryan's Bay Hotel
#3 of 15 in Mwanza
157 reviews
34.2 mi away
Lahe Hotel
Lahe Hotel
#6 of 41 in Mwanza
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mwanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mwanza Hotel

Address: Posta Street | along Posta Road, Mwanza, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mwanza
Price Range: $58 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Mwanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW MWANZA HOTEL is in the heart of Mwanza city, 7 KM from the city’s airport and only 1 ½ km walk to the shores of Lake Victoria the biggest lake in Africa. It is the perfect base from which to discover some of the most impressive natural scenery and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your New Mwanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing