We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagamoyo Country Club
Ranked #5 of 17 Bagamoyo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I love the BCC, and will return there again and again (luckily, I work in Bagamoyo). It's a beautiful setting (despite the evil stairs), the staff there are the friendliest people, the food is amazing (though slow. well, sometimes at least), the beach is right on your door step, the garden is private, the rooms are basic but absolutely fine especially for the money!! Will always stay there again. Yes, they have issues that are quite common in Tanzania - lack of electricity (generator out of fuel), no hot water, food takes some time, empty promises... but I have stayed in $100+ hotels in Bagamoyo/Tanzania where this is not any better!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_Unlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Although a little outside of the village-center (20 minutes walk) the location right at the beach is the best of all hotels in Bagamoyo (I lived in Bagamoyo for 8 months). The staff is very nice and tries to help you whenever you have a problem. The food is very good, the new pizzaoven makes a great addition. If you go there for food you shouldn't be in a rush as the preparation time can vary a lot. From the nice and light rooms you can look otside and you'll see the beach. Go there to enjoy, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waeterfrosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful location, the BCC has clean rooms with good quality sheets & towels. The staff are friendly and the food is fine although the menu for a vegetarian is limited. I would recommend this place to a friend and if I get back to the area would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiesmum68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My experience was very different to Ed R's. I could not fault the service. The staff at BCC go out of their way to ensure that guests have everything they need. Any question, query or problem I had was addressed immediately. The service was second to none, and a big part of the reason I would like to visit again.

I stayed at BCC for one month in June/July 2013, as I was working on a nearby project. The rooms are set on a hill, looking toward the ocean (beautiful views). They are basic, but more than adequate. I also noticed that the empty rooms were being renovated... so I am assuming that future visitors will have freshly renovated rooms to stay in. Not that it was a problem for me. They are a decent size, the bed is a great size, nets are provided, there is a separate bathroom and the rooms have both a fan and air-con.

The hotel faces out directly onto the beach, complete with a cabana area and viewing deck. I have seen people swim, kite surf, wind surf, snorkle, slackline, do yoga, run etc on this beach.

The food is good, I had some of my best meals in Africa at BCC. The restaurant/bar area is a lovely place to sit and chill, read a book, work on the computer etc. There are electrical outlets in that area for guests to use also.

Breakfast is from 7:30 - 10:30, it is a cooked breakfast, with eggs made to order. Fresh fruit, toast, potatoes/hash browns, beans, tomatoes and local pancakes are served. Along with fresh juice, tea and coffee (there could be more). I was more than happy with the breakfast provided.

Bagamoyo is a lovely little area, I recommend visiting if you have the chance. It is a great place to indulge in the pole pole lifestyle of Tanzania.

Room Tip: I had room 3, but to be honest - all rooms have a beautiful room and are equipped the same. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicahjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

BCC is an enormous missed opportunity for whoever owns it. The setting is beautiful - with a long stretch of beach, neat grounds, and scenic rooms overlooking the sea. But unfortunately it doesn't fulfil it's potential because of quite laughable service. I am generally pretty tolerant of the usual small niggles - but BCC went beyond a joke. We stayed there for three days, and in that time weren't able to have a single hot shower. The initial narrative wavered between the imminent arrival of a mysterious engineer (who never did seem to come), and a view that it was most probably my fault. The highlight of this period was being asked 'how long has this problem gone on for? You probably just need to wait a little longer and be patient - it takes time to warm up'. I thought my answer - 2 days - might bring about even a small backtracking, but no. On the third day we were moved rooms. Remarkably, they managed to find an even worse shower - this one had no water in it.

Other comic highlights include breakfast - where each component tends to run out after about 5 minutes, and you have to constantly dispatch a waiter to the kitchen to get butter. Then bread. Then a toaster. And hey presto, toast in a mere 30 minutes!

I could go on, but hopefully this gives a decent overview. The place is still good value given the setting (it's fantastic for swimming), and also its close proximity to Bagamoyo town. But I just don't understand why the service isn't sorted...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a small simple hotel in a very pretty oceanfront situation. A colleague and I stayed one night while on business in Bagamoyo. The room was basic, but clean with fresh sheets ,new mosquito netting, working AC and hot water. The beach is wide and sandy, but in the evening there was quite a bit of plastic in the water near the shore so we didn't venture in. None in the morning, and we had a good swim. The evening fish dinner was tasty and the breakfast good. The staff were attentive and friendly. You can get into town in a bajaj if you don’t have a car.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed two days over the weekend and enjoyed ourselves. The highlight is being on the beach, but the food was very nice and it is prepared to order in a small kitchen on site. There are only ten rooms, so there is never a crowd. Free WiFi is available in the lounge area and in some rooms close by. The rooms are basic, but clean and quite adequate. Hotel staff, as with all Tanzanians, are friendly. They are on Tanzanian time, however, so don't be in a rush; the 7AM start of breakfast may be closer to 8.

Town is a short drive away. Be prepared to hike over 100 steps to get to the reception area and a few less to the room; The parking area is on the road above the hotel. The dogs provide security and are very friendly. One was a bit sick when we were there, which was somewhat disturbing - they should have isolated him form the guests because of it.

The pool unfortunately is now a desert-scape but the beach is right there and usable. Long walks (with usual precautions) along the beach are a great way to relax.

Room Tip: For use of WiFi in the room, get a room close to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagamoyo hotels
0.0 mi away
Family Cottage
Family Cottage
#8 of 17 in Bagamoyo
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Bagamoyo
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millennium Sea Breeze Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travellers Lodge
Travellers Lodge
#1 of 15 in Bagamoyo
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Firefly
Firefly
#1 of 17 in Bagamoyo
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mary Nice Place
Mary Nice Place
#12 of 17 in Bagamoyo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagamoyo Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagamoyo Country Club

Address: 30 Kwaole Rd, Bagamoyo 023, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Bagamoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bagamoyo
Price Range: $53 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This simple and small beach hotel is located only a short distance from the historical village of Bagamoyo. The ten self contained rooms all have a breathtaking seaview overlooking the Zanzibar Channel. The rates are reasonable considering the rooms are all beachfront and air conditioned. Great breakfasts and fresh seafood served by a small but very dedicated and friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bagamoyo Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing