We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location, large green garden & pricey restaurant”
Review of Travellers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bagamoyo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travellers Lodge
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The lodge has a huge green garden are with planted palms from around the world. It has an excellent location next to the beach. The water of the ocean is a bit messy and during low tide goes a +1km away. The locals and the outdooring Dar-people visit the beach in the evenings. The cottages are spacious and with a/c. The beds have the nets but there are is much space around windows, etc. to mosquitos to come in. The shower is rather basic. It is dark at nights so take a lamp with oy when you move from the cottage to the restaurant. The food is expensive in the lodge restaurant, around 20000 ths (9 EUR/13 USD) and rather basic. Breakfast with fresh fruits, eggs, etc. is abundant. One may walk down the beach to fish market (10 minutes) and up to the rather decayed old town of Bagamoyo (10 minutes). The price to stay can be negotiated. There is a climbing zone for kids and a plenty of room run around. In the end, a relaxed place to stay. They can organise a transfer to Dar or to the airport.

Room Tip: cottage 104 is closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We camped in their beautiful gardens and although the mosquitos were really bad (day and night) the setting is beautiful and relaxing. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the camping ablution block. It is in really bad condition. Dirty and stinking and it’s a shame that cleanliness and maintenance are getting neglected in such a way. The restaurant is nice and spacious but the waiters are sitting at the bar most of the time and did not even move or give me a space when I wanted to order something. It could be such a nice resort with some proper maintenance, cleanliness and a bit of a personality but for now it did not impress me at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Travellers Lodge provided a wonderful and relaxing place to stay while visiting Bagamoyo. The grounds are a peaceful and lovely garden setting. I stayed in one of the beach cottages, with a view of the ocean from the back porch. The cottage was spacious and comfortable and included various sources of protection against mosquitoes. The beach was easily accessible down a short path. The open air dining area offered a relaxing place to eat and reflect on the adventures of the day.

It was easy to walk to a number of sights from the Travellers Lodge, and they helped arrange for a tour guide for things out of walking distance. All of the staff were helpful and welcoming. My only regret is that I was only able to stay one night. I would have enjoyed spending a day just relaxing in the beauty of this green oasis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejean62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We live in Morogoro and have found getting out of Dar es Salaam so stressful that we now opt to spend a night in Bagamoyo and take that road to Morogoro. We have been at Traveler's Lodge twice in the last few weeks.The accommodation is good clean and basic. There is plenty hot water in the showers and there is air-conditioning and mosquito nets in the rooms. During the second stay on the 19th November, there were a lot of mosquito's coming through slits in the windows. While there is a nice veranda outside each lodge(ours overlooked the beach) we could not sit out due to so many mosquito's. Breakfast and Dinner were very good and there are wonderful gardens.A nice place to relax for a day or two. Very reasonably priced..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariea064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived here having flown into Dar the previous night. What a peaceful and relaxing spot. Clean and functional the rooms are well looked after and the position of the lodge is perfect in a garden setting with a gated access to the beautiful beach. Food is good - service is on the slow side but this is Tanzania so just relax. We watched the fishing dhows and the evening catch brought in, wandered around and ate at a small local restaurant in the evening. It's not touristy although there's a small market selling gifts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have used Travellers Lodge for my group visits for several years, I keep returning because we always have such a good time. Accommodation, food, staff and other facilities are very good. As group leader it makes such a difference to be able to relax and enjoy Bagamoyo, knowing that your group are happy with their accommodation. Thank you Nick & Nora and all the staff.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows offer brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is my favourite place! Very relaxing, not a touristplace. Food is excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Garden is really nice and also the bungalows.
Prices have increased - if you are ok with fries and eggs there are many cheap local places to eat. Regarding negative reviews - remember that this is not a tourist trap - and economy is not the greatest. Staff is working long hours for little pay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagamoyo hotels
0.4 mi away
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
#9 of 18 in Bagamoyo
79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bagamoyo Country Club
Bagamoyo Country Club
#4 of 18 in Bagamoyo
45 reviews
0 mi away
Millennium Sea Breeze Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Firefly
Firefly
#1 of 18 in Bagamoyo
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Family Cottage
Family Cottage
#10 of 18 in Bagamoyo
5 reviews
0 mi away
Mary Nice Place
Mary Nice Place
#12 of 18 in Bagamoyo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 275 | P.O. Box 275, Bagamoyo, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Bagamoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bagamoyo
Price Range: $59 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing