We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip from Vancouver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Mine Museum

Britannia Mine Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.18*
and up
Britannia Mine Museum General Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: What was once the largest copper mine in the British Empire is now a multi-award winning attraction. Britannia Mine Museum opens up a little-seen world that fascinates all ages. Just like miners did, visitors climb aboard a mine train and rumble into an authentic tunnel. Entertaining guides describe the workings of drills and tools from the past century. Every visit includes gold panning with the chance to take home frequent findings. A captivating 15-minute film re-creates the past and reveals how families turned their isolated surroundings into pleasant experiences. The Family Play Area keeps young ones entertained. A glittering gift shop offers unique stones and carvings. To get there, head north on the Sea to Sky Highway. 1/2 way between Vancouver and Whistler.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
365 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had never been in or visited a mine before so I decided to give this a shot. Sure glad I made the trek up, this was fantastic! This mine played a huge role in Canadian history but also produced almost 20% of the worlds copper at one point! It was fascinating to hear about its history and take a brief tour of the mine, tour guide was great as he worked in the mine until it closed. A lot of cool artifacts and pictures and not to mention almost 100 movies/TVShows were filmed here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    94
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing historical mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We went to see the Britannia this January 2014. Our guide was great and she told us the history of the mine along with demonstrating all the machinery in the mine. We got to go into the huge building where they harvest the copper/ zinc from stone that is mined there. This place is truly mind blowing!! It is worth seeing and just so interesting. I have a whole new appreciation for miners and their families. Not great for little children under age 5 the tunnels are dark and it can be loud.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jbuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Much more than just a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This museum is an attraction for all ages. Initially I was worried the museum was just for kids but I was relieved to find so many adult exhibits. Our favorite event was the train ride into the mine. Once inside the mine our tour guide demonstrated the use of different drilling equipment. It was both fun and informative. It's certainly worth a trip from Vancouver, the trip takes less than an hour and the scenery is stunning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Once an eyesore now a great attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

On the road from Vancouver to Whistler you go past Britannia Beach you see the huge building going up the hill which was once an eyesore with all of its windows smashed.
This is the site of one of Canada's largest copper and zinc mines.
Now an attraction that has all sorts of interesting displays. Of the isolation that once was Britannia Beach, the mining implements and the various ways of separation for various metals though mainly zinc and copper.
The displays of old equipment needs to be better displayed as you wouldn't know what was what. Some signage would be great.
The days of Britannia beach in the old days is great as is the small train that takes you though part of the mine, along with the different drills they used.
The visitor shop was interesting but many of these are available at the general store which is just over a bit further and are much cheaper there.
A good attraction well worth a visit. allow 1.5 hours. Check what times the tours leave which is usually on the hour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“October '13 vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Always a little trepidatious when it comes to going down a hole in the ground! We need not have worried, the experience was brilliant. The complex of buildings were interesting to explore with sufficient information boards around to allow you to seek out the information you were interested in. The narrow gauge train to take you into the copper sulphate mine was interesting and not too far either. The whole journey is probably less than 600M or half a mile. Going into one of the tunnels on foot really makes you appreciate what the miners of old and to some extent even nowadays have to endure. Our guide was excellent at conveying the experience from his own past work as a miner. Onto the Mill where the material was worked to extract the products and by products which were so valuable gave an interesting insight into the economies of scale that are needed to keep these operations viable. Once the guided tour was over we were free to go and investigate the works yard area and buildings more thoroughly. A brilliant video presentation in the small theatre for 15 minutes is worth watching before going on the underground tour if you can. There is also an area where you can try your hand at panning for gold like the Klondykers did a century ago. We expected to be there for an hour and a half at most, we left after three hours but more time could have been required. Well worth the visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Mine Museum also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Squamish, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Britannia Mine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing