We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayview Wildwood Resort
Nearby Hotels
Ethel Maud Place(Severn Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
95
80
38
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
80
38
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbayview wildwooddining roomsparrow lakethe cottagesping pongindoor poolget awayhot tubpaddle boardsfriday nightwater trampolinemeal planlight sleeperchildren's programsgeneral storeentire weekenddirty dancing
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 235 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been going to Bayview for many years; first as a couple, and then as a growing family. We have enjoyed it in the fall - great hiking trails to enjoy the leaves. We have had an absolute BLAST in the winter during family day weekend with great snowshoeing, skiing, activities, tobogganing, and skating. As a couple, we enjoyed the romantic Valentine's weekend. It was quiet, with a beautiful atmosphere. The summer is AWESOME! So many activities for both adults and kids. The water trampoline, see-saw and rock climbing mountain are really fun. We love the shade at the beach. Every morning I would run on the trails in an attempt to feel less guilty about all the yummy food they make at Bayview. The staff is like family, and treat you so kindly. We have 3 shy boys, and they are ALWAYS greeted by name. When asked what they like going to better, Disney or Bayview, all 3 of them said Bayview! THAT says something!

Room Tip: Winter - in the building with the indoor pool Summer - anywhere near the outdoor pool Fall - a cosy cabin anywhere with a view!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hi Denise B,

Wow - we are very honoured that you and your family consider our resort your "Happy Place"! I love the fact that you have experienced the resort in most seasons and recognize the beauty and fun of each one.

I am proud that our staff make your family, including your "shy" boys, feel welcome and part of the resort family. This is truly the "home away from home" atmosphere we strive to provide for all of our guests.

Thank you for sharing your feelings about the resort and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to your "Happy Place" again soon!

All my best,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our fireplace suite was clean, spacious, comfortable, though it took me a little while to get the temperature balanced comfortably. All staff were friendly, helpful, cheerful - desk, bar, dining room, cleaning.

Old Joe's trail was great. The main trail was easy enough to follow but very natural and unspoiled. A couple of soggy sections were marked, with by-pass routes, to help avoid wet feet. The extension was even more picturesque, and somewhat more challenging - at times we had to explore a little to find the way, and could almost believe no-one else had been there. Time limitation and discouraging weather kept us from the other trail, next visit we'll stay at least one more day.

Room Tip: We were wakened the first night by a train but didn't notice it the next night. It didn't spoil our stay. Ask about this when booking, maybe some rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello TorontoGrandpa,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your Fall vacation at our resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your fireplace suite and the service you received from our staff.

We are very lucky to be situated between a beautiful lake and a natural forest in the midst of the Canadian Shield. Old Joe's Trail was named that because it was the trail an old miner used to get to his home and mine in the woods (yes - his name was Joe). This trail and the Beaver Lake trail allow our guests to see Canadian shield rock, forest, ponds, fauna and wildlife. I am glad you were able to traverse the Old Joe's trail this Fall and hope you come back to do more hiking soon!

All the best,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I must start by saying we enjoyed our stay for two nights, but ambiance was not our priority. The employees were very friendly, our room was comfortable and our breakfasts were very good. That's about where the good ends. The resort would have been nice in it's prime, but it is very tired looking and needs some tlc. I don't recommend you stay in the building with the indoor pool as we could hear the pool people clearly from our room. The pool and gamesroom need work. The TVs are old and there was no hairdryer. One other very disturbing factor is the trains. The track runs very closely to the resort and there were several trains each day and night. Thankfully, the doors to the room are fairly solid and do block out some of the train noise, but the trains are very loud, especially if you want to leave your patio door open. Also, it is a fair distance to go anywhere else. There is nothing in the way of restaurants in the vicinity if you do not wish to eat at the resort, which would not be classified as family dining. While our stay was pleasant, if that had been my main holiday, I would have been very disappointed.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Laura D,

We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your two-night vacation with us. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff service, comfortable room and breakfast.

Our resort has been on Sparrow Lake for over 100 years now. We continually work on improving and updating our rooms, buildings and facilities. Generally, we have been successful at keeping up with our guest expectations, however, our resort is not new and does not have the look of some of the resorts and hotels that have been built recently.

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our resort on Trip Advisor.

Best regards,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed the weekend in one of their largest cottages. Driving up I was a little nervous as the place looked rather industrial and run-down. Much to my surprise I really liked the cottage we had. Unfortunately, It sleeps 9-10 people but only had two showers.. this became a nuisance with 9 women!!

Overall it had a cozy feel, big kitchen, comfy beds, and gorgeous views over-looking the lake. Dinner was absolutely delicious in their main lodge dining room, but very over priced. Staff seemed a little confused with the different menu's, and we waited about 15 minutes for someone to come over to get our drink order. We had a few bartender/waitress problems regarding our soured wine, but she came back to us later to apologize. Always remember in the service industry that the customer is always right.. especially at Bayview prices!!

There was an amazing musician later on in the evening that performed for a full house and we danced the night away.. so much fun!!

Enjoyed the weekend because of the company I was in. Next trip we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Dabala,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We are pleased that you had a fun girls weekend here. The Bayside cottage is our largest 5-bedroom unit and we are happy that you enjoyed the cozy feel and view of Sparrow Lake. You are correct about the number of showers - we are putting another shower into Bayside this winter as we recognized this requirement.

We certainly apologize that your bar service was not up to par. It appears that they tried to make amends for the issues caused. Jamie Williams, is definitely an amazing entertainer and musician. He plays at the resort most weekends and during family vacation times.

Best regards,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and my stepdaughter stayed at this resort for 4 nights and 5 days in July. It wasn't all bad. The staff involved with the children's programs were absolutely amazing! That's where it stops. The service in the diningroom is by far the worst we have ever encountered. That includes service at fast food restaurants, which are far superior. During the entire time we were there, not once did we received decent or friendly service in the diningroom. Unfortunately, this affected our entire trip. It was impossible to get coffee served. Be prepared to walk to reception and bring your own coffee into the diningroom with you. If you want any more than 1 drink with dinner, you are completely out of luck. Or be prepared to go to the bar and get your own. With the exception of one gentleman, the front desk staff were completely uncaring, almost to the point of rudeness. For the first 3 days of our vacation the t.v. in our room wasn't working. After the 4th time asking the front desk when it would be fixed and maybe they just could bring us a different one, they told me that there were many more things to do on the resort other than watch t.v. Well, firstly, who are they to tell me and my 11 year daughter what we should be doing in the evenings? And secondly, why weren't they finding out why it wasn't fixed yet and arranging to have a replacement t.v. brought in. After 3 days, they sent a young maintenance man to look at our t.v. Unfortunately, he was unable to fix it, but he did offer us a replacement t.v. Now tell me, why couldn't front desk do this on our initial request. In short, this resort is an amazing resort for children as far as the programs go, but that's where it ends. I Needless to say, we will not ever return to this resort, nor will we recommend it to our friends and family. There are many many more resorts in Muskoka who care about their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Butterflygirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Butterflygirl2012,

We are pleased that you enjoyed the children's programs as our resort this past summer. They are an important part of our guest's vacation. Your food and beverage experience and staff efficiency and friendliness are also a very important part of your visit and we apologize that this did not meet your expectations. I took your comments to both the office and food & beverage department to improve their service commitment levels. We appreciate your constructive comments and will strive to improve in these areas.

Best regards,
Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews