We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice gateway”
other travelers have booked this property
living room - feel the cross breeze off the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room - feel the cross breeze off the lake
grab your G n T and jump in! be here now!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
living room - feel the cross breeze off the lake
grab your G n T and jump in!
be here now!
now sit there and don't move!
al freco dining
Bedroom 1 of 5 - antique kimono bedspread
we love our yard overlooking the lake
are you loving our yard?
central salon with woodstove
one of a selection of sunsets available for your viewing pleasure
steam shower and claw foot tub
come for a spin?
bedroom 3
view of the yard from the beach - baby not included
bedroom 4
storm watching from the yard
back patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Penetanguishene, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GF2013
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice gateway”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Relaxing stay. Cottage was clean, cute and all essential where available. Perfect weather to enjoy the sun. Aside from the rocky beach and mosquitoes the cottage was perfect.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
thanks! Fascinatingly, water levels on Georgian Bay were way up this year after years of decline. As a result of this, the waves threw up a lot of small rocks onto our formerly sandy beach! We spent the fall experimenting with removing the rocks ( no small task ) only to find that the next big storm converted the beach into rocky again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby H
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My family, along with 2 other families (6 adults and 5 kids), rented this lovely cottage on the edge of Georgian Bay. It was the perfect holiday weekend and we all agreed that the Dacha was a fabulous find! We walked along the waters' edge and were awed by the gorgeous icy lake, made snow forts in the cul de sac at the end of the driveway, cross country skied at a nearby ski centre and then came back to a cozy wood burning stove. Our group enjoyed listening to music while watching the sun set over the water just outside the living room. The Dacha is tastefully and thoughtfully decorated with very comfortable beds and a great vibe. Alison was super friendly and answered all of out questions promptly - both prior to our arrival and during our stay. We had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right beside Georgian Bay and the tasteful, clean space.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2007

Value
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
24BrianC2...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Relaxation, Privacy and Luxury”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We keep going back to The Dacha many times a year because it is a place to unwind, relax, be with nature yet not giving up luxury.

The property is immaculately maintained and also supremely clean. The property manager is always friendly and very helpful. The claw foot tub and steam are luxuries when on a "cottage" vacation. Having comfy beds with high end linen is another bonus!

Being able to sit and watch the bay from either the sun deck or from inside the gorgeous grand room is peaceful and recharging for the soul! It is rare to see anyone else in the area. THere are great walking trails and easy access to the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Setting, the property and the privacy
Liked least: rocky beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KF974
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Relaxing Lux Cottage Experience!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Extended family, my elderly mother, sisters, brothers-in-law, friends...we were five over-nighters for a long weekend, and some day guests visiting from Toronto. The house is a dream of comfort, well-appointed, sparkling clean, with beautiful views of Georgian Bay, pleasant walks, fun with kayaks...but best is the utter comfort of the place. We loved the crispy linens, the comfortable beds, the luxurious baths: especially the steam bath. The kitchen is compact and perfect for foodies: we did a lot of cooking and enjoying of meals. Super easy access for less mobile people (mum!). Books, music...We had perfect weather, but it would be dreamy even in the rain. I'd love to go up in winter. Lots of rooms where people can either cosy up together or have quiet time alone. We LOVED it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury cottage experience...
Liked least: I wish I'd had more time...really nothing to
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing