We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Waterloo County Rural Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Elmira B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Waterloo County Rural Experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I grew up in Waterloo County but have lived away for about 30 years. I can say with confidence that if you want an authentic Waterloo County country experience; culture, food, decor, hospitality, landscape, then stay at Leisure Estates.

Mark and Joyce are terrific hosts, the food is delicious, and the sleep quality is excellent. Rooms are spacious and the house is on a beautiful piece of property. They also offer bicycles to borrow, which is a plus. You can take a nice ride into Elmira using a path and residential side streets. Makes for a relaxing getaway. They also offer a solo rate, a refreshing consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoloSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
Glad for the feed - back on Waterloo / Elmira area. It certainly is a pleasure to hear from a "former resident" of the region. Your kind remarks during your stay were most appreciated.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took a chance and were very happy with our decision to stay here for two nights. The peaceful environment and the spacious grounds really make us totally relax. We have all we need in our suite. Mark and Joyce did a great job to make us feel very comfortable. The breakfast provided each morning was something to look forward to. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPIRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
Thank you for your great review. It means a lot to us when guests such as yourself take the time to write comments on a site like this one. Glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay and look forward to seeing you here again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Leisure Estates for 3 nights recently. The stay was far too short as we felt so welcomed by Mark and Joyce. The room we stayed in was immaculate and tranquil and the house is simply gorgeous. Breakfasts were always wonderful with a a lot of variety each day. The 50 acre property is quiet and peaceful with trails that you can walk on. At breakfast each morning, there were always several varieties of birds at the feeder outside the window. Mark and Joyce are very hospitable hosts and compliment each other as they work together to provide the very best experience for their guests. You cannot go wrong booking a stay at this B & B and you will probably come away feeling very refreshed and rested as we were. We hope to go back for another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms would be delightful to stay in at this B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simcoegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
It is truly people like yourselves that keep us smiling. Glad to hear that you, like many of our guests, enjoyed the birds. Being only 500 metres away from the "Birdland Area" of Elmira we have certainly been able to attract many varieties to our rear yard feeders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our stay at Leisure Estates was beyond our expectations. We stayed in the Sunrise Suite which was as big as any hotel room we've been in before. The room was beautiful and had great features like a lit beamed ceiling, jacuzzi tub and a fireplace.
The grounds are beautiful. There are stone trails through out the estate that meander through the forest with all sorts of interesting gardens and ornamental farm equipment.
Our hosts Joyce and Mark were very nice and put on a fabulous buffet breakfast including home baked goodies!The location was perfect too. We were only 15 minutes from downtown Waterloo and 5 minutes to St Jacobs. After a morning at the famous farmers market we went north 30 minutes to Drayton where we saw an amazing play at the Drayton Festival Theatre.
We will definitely go back and can't imagine a better place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
Pleased to know that your stay was "Fantastic." We thorougly enjoy going " Beyond Your Expectations.' Also, it is nice to hear another positive remark, such as yours about Drayton Entertainment and St. Jacobs Farmers Market. Happy to hear that you will "definitely come back."
Thanks for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed at Leisure Estates after seeing a play in Stratford. Wanted to do some shopping in St. Jacobs before heading back home. The B&B is great. Mark and Joyce are gracious hosts, and wonderful cooks. Their hard work is noticed in the beautiful way the house, rooms, and grounds are maintained. Location is well suited to local attractions, but still feel of country and woods. The post and beam construction is amazing.
We enjoyed the Amish skit! It may seem like a small thing, but a differentiator from other stays and made the time memorable. My wife and I stayed in the Moonlight Loft and it was just right. Cannot think of anything I would improve. Thanks Mark & Joyce. Hope to be back.

Room Tip: Moonlight loft was well suited for 2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan_and_Sharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 8, 2015
Thank you! Your review states "Wonderful Cooks, " but I think you mean "Joyce," because I (Mark) am not allowed to do the cooking. Glad to here that you "could not improve on anything." Hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Leisure Estates and had an unforgettable experience. The atmosphere is relaxing, the house is immaculate and the room exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed walking the trail and photographing the antique farm equipment. On top of everything Mark and Joyce are great entertainers. We loved their skit and we looking forward to the new one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 5, 2015
Glad to see the "Photographer's Paradise" statement. Previously others have said this and we are starting to believe it ourselves. Possibly because we live here all the time we haven't taken enough notice of God's beauty right here where we live.
Thanks for the positive statements. Hope you return again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUDBURY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed here before and will always go back.
The atmosphere is great and it is a most relaxing place to stay.
Mark and Joyce are great hosts and always so welcoming.
The trails around the property are so nice for a peaceful walk or to get some excersize.
Not far from downtown St Jacobs and the markets.

Try it,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alsation131965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
It was nice having you here again. Enjoyed the friendly banter. Please! Do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waterloo/St. Jacobs, Ontario, Canada
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Waterloo St. Jacobs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Waterloo-Kitchener
8.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
7.1 mi away
The Inn of Waterloo & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat

Property: Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Address: 1099 Floradale Rd, Elmira, Ontario N3B 2Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Elmira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elmira
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat Elmira, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing