We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two days enjoyment in Houseboat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
133 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ANOOPVAIK...
1 review
“Two days enjoyment in Houseboat”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent two days and two night in private boat from Kumarakom. We booked 2room boat and they served lunch, snacks, dinner and breakfast for 2 days. Rooms r really spacious and clean. Good memories lasts for ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Dear Anoop Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well. Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krishnama...
Mangalore, India
1 review
“Best food in kerala trip”
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

No doubt, this was the best food we had in kerala trip. We have traveled for 5 Days covering cochin, munnar, thekkady and houseboat. We really enjoyed the food part. Staff and boat was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2018
Dear Krishnab, Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!! Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well. Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon, Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JinsaG1
1 review
“Daytime at houseboat..”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My family get together organised in houseboat at kumarakom. Day time spent with many games and very nice food. Cruise covered Alleppey areas. houseboat had 3 rooms and upperdeck for my group of 25 members.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Dear Madam,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baranid18
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good time from start to finish”
Reviewed March 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

A very relaxing and stunning backwater experience at kumarakom. Travelled for honeymoon to kerala. Houseboat is just ideal for honeymooners. We got lot of scenic pictures too during the cruise. Staff was helpful and friendly through out the trip.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Dear Barani Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well. Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogeshr36...
Visakhapatnam, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Special Houseboat experience..!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a day and plan in this houseboat on february 2018. I wuld love to say this was a trip with heavy relaxation. They prepared all kind of meals at boat kitchen which was specially for us. Even arranged some honeymoon inclusions like flowers, cake and candles at dinner. This is my second houseboat trip and thanks for the team who made it special. We will visit again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Dear Yogesh Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well. Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst experience, total rip off”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked a 3 night stay on the private double room boat. The minute we stepped on the boat we noticed it was dirty, and not what we were expecting. The floors were dirty, the walls were dirty, the bathroom had a constant sewage smell. We raised the concern intially with the manager who seemed to get a member of staff to clean the light switches and ledges,but our concerns seemed to be lost in translation. We took to the water reluctantly, we quickly realised that we couldn't stay on this boat for three nights. When we stopped over night we took it upon ourselves to book a hotel for the rest of the time. The over night stay is in the middle of nowhere and it was a horrible night.In the morning we asked to be taken back to an area where we could get a taxi, we stated it was because I was unwell. I felt we couldn't be honest, as we are a gay couple traveling in India where it is illegal. I felt we may have caused issues for ourselves if we caused too much of a fuss. The two crew members took us back to the main peer where we were greated by a manager from another boat and another gentleman, I'm unsure why he was there, and a taxi driver. We had 5 people watch us whilst we were asked to fill in an experience survey, in the middle of no where, so I, under pressure stated the experience we had was exceptional. I make no excuses, as I'm sure when you are faced with 5 glaring men, in a country you don't know, I'm sure you would do the same. We felt being gay couple this really could have caused us an issue.

My advice stay away,we have written this money off as we don't expect to get any return. But be warned other travelers, this is not what it seems. Over priced,grubby, floating wooden box.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Dear Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
As per the feedback written at check-out time; food, cruise and staff marked as excellent. If any inconvenience caused, you could have informed us which could have solved at same time. Sorry if any inconvenience caused. We will keep this in positive way and will improve further to keep the good work always.
Team Amrutham Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caf06
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A total rip off - inspect the boat BEFORE you pay ! ”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I booked a 3 night stay on the one bedroom house boat thinking this would a luxurious trip given the photos on the website. We were so wrong.
The only positive note was that the vegetarian food was excellent. The facilities were certainly not luxurious but grubby, tired and past their best. A tile was missing in the bathroom, the walls and switches were dirty and the cushions on the viewing deck were worn and dirty ( see attached photos). When I pointed out the dirty light switches, the manager asked the poor cook to try and clean them with s dry paper towel !
The air conditioning and ceiling fan were very noisy and the boat docked in an area that was as per the other recent poor review on this. As a result, we got no sleep and checked out the following day.
The manager and 2-3 colleagues who appeared at check out were somewhat intimidating as we filled out their customer feedback . Because we are a same sex couple, we felt unable to make much of a scene in such a conservative country and so graded the experience much more favourably that we might otherwise have done.
This really spoiled our first impression of India.
My take home message is this - don’t pre book your houseboat trip - shop about and inspect before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Dear Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
As per the feedback written at check-out time; food, cruise and staff marked as excellent. If any inconvenience caused, you could have informed us which could have solved at same time. Sorry if any inconvenience caused. We will keep this in positive way and will improve further to keep the good work always.
Team Amrutham Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing