We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best part in Kerala Trip”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
148 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 148 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rajeshk38...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best part in Kerala Trip”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent 6 days in kerala and the houseboat stay was the best among them. A beautiful day and night surrounded by water wil amaze those who love nature. They serve fresh food and staf are really helpful always. Lovely experience.

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2018
Dear Rajesh Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruchivija...
Indore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. We booked one bedroom houseboat from Amrutham houseboats. The route was kumarakom to alleppy. Route didnot covered any scenic views of the lake. Out of around 20 hrs, move was moving for not even 2hrs. Remaining time it was stationer at remote location which was very dirty. There it was difficult to be on the boat but there was nothing outside also . No entertainment nothing. Checkout location was also some remote location and not proper alleppy houseboat jetty.
We felt like being cheated. The boat diddnot took us to the canals in the lake for which the kerala is famous for. After houseboat, we took another houseboat for 3 hrs and saw the scenic views.
In addition, the bedroom and washroom were not upto the mark. They should be more clean.
Only good part was vegetarian food was good.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2018
Dear Ruchi Madam,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
As we informed, starting time was 12 PM, but your arrival was at 1.30 pm on your own cab. But we have provided the cruise till 5.30 PM without any delay. Since you asked for Alleppey check-out, we have provided at Alleppey itself as per the instruction by your Driver with one hour cruise in morning. Please see that we have given all the services within our time and sorry if any inconvenience caused. We will take this review in positive way and will improve further to keep the good service to our Guests.
Also we thank you for the good feedback about the Vegetarian food we served.
Please keep in touch; Have a Great Time Ahead,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambily J
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at this houseboat for 1 day and we had a great time. The chef and captain were professional and dint disturb us. I went with my mom and sister and we felt quite safe in this place.

The only problem was we dint know how the boat looked before booking the place and i thought it will be spacious but it was a bit conjested. We booked one room house boat.

Overall we had a great time.The customer service from start to finish was perfect.

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Dear AMBILY Madam,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K6943VRin...
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
“great experiance...!friendly saffs”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The scenery is amazing and this is definitely one of the nicer boats." wonderful experaince ..thanks to the team amrutham

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2018
Dear Team Live In Style (Cochin)
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!! Thanks for the valuable feedback.
We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannetsmi...
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful..”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had a wonderful 5 hour day trip in one of the beautiful houseboat. Our trip starts at kumarakom backwaters..This 1 room boat was specially for us and we really enjoyed the Kerala Lunch in Banana leaf.

Date of stay: January 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Dear JANNET,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!! Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well. Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon, Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niteshg22...
Aurangabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a wonderful time in the houseboat”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the house boat for a day-night in Kumarakom and had the best relaxing day of our whole trip. The journey was most comfortable and the service was excellent. Food was prepared to our taste and served fresh and hot. The Currimeen fish was delicious. The company provides excellent customer service. We also had Ayurveda massage treatment at nearby center. The therapists were very professional. We are really happy about the time and money spent.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Dear Nitesh Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon, Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadGirl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Truly magical and well worth making the journey to the boat”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our overnight stay on the rice barge. The staff were superb, friendly and helpful throughout the entire trip. The food - including tea time snacks was always excellent and beautifully presented with gallons of bottled water available. Lunch was a veritable feast with an array of tasty Keralan dishes made as spicy as you wished. The banana fritters at tea time were the best ever and dinner was fabulous. We loved spending time watching the world go by on the top deck and the stay overnight by a small village was fun. All in all, this was a very enjoyable experience and one we would highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Dear Karen & Leigh Taylor,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy the trip well.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing