We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memories to carry forover..”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
127 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nitj84
1 review
“Poor Experience ”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The experience does not match the 5 star rating on tripadvisor. So many problems from the beginning
1. Lack of cleanliness.
2. Unresponsive staff. First reaction is refusal for any request
3. No TP in toilet. Only one towel. Only one blanket in room.
4. There is TV but no cable on it.
5. No dustbin.
Many more issues to go.
Though the manager tried to resolve many of the above but these are the basics expected from a room in first place. At least when paying 9k per room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2018
Dear Nitin Sir,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSECOATS..!!

Thanks for your valuable feedback. As you know, we have already provided all required amenities like Cable connection, Towels for all, Toilet rolls, special food, etc. But continues demands taken some delay from staff and we are asking sorry for that from our end.
We will keep this comments in mind and work hard to focus more on service.
Please keep in touch and hope to see you again soon.
Have a Great Time Ahead,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msafar555
Ahmadnagar, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories to carry forover..”
Reviewed January 19, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Houseboat stay is some thing rare in India and we are lucky to be in one of the finest one. Surprised to see the kitchen, Rooms, A/c, Bathrooms, and all other facilities similar to hotel..Meals were so good and a stunning experience overall.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2018
Dear Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable comments. Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShambhuNa...
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay and excellent hospitality”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a very good stay on a houseboat from Amrutham Houseboats. The services were excellent. the food provided was good and delicious. Would recommend this to family tourers and friends.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2017
Dear Shambhu Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback.
Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshay M
1 review
“Relaxing Houseboat stay”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Spent a day and night at 2 room boat with my family. We all enjoyed the food and service. Checkin was at kumarakom and travelled through vembanad lake and canals..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2017
Dear Akshay, Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!! Thanks for the valuable comments.
Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raghavend...
1 review
“Perfect place for reunion party.”
Reviewed December 7, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Houseboat is a perfect place for a get together party. We have organized a college reunion after a long 15 years at Kumarakom on November 5. Thanks aton to the marvelous arrangement who made the trip most memorable. Our trip last for few hours through Vembnad lake and nearby Canals. Kerala toddy (fresh one) is a must try item and crew may help to get the best one.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
Dear Raghavender Sr,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!! Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon, Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugappa...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Remarkable time in Boat House..”
Reviewed December 7, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Boat House experience is an inevitable part of Kerala visit. I booked this Boat House 1 month in advance to ensure the best one..I really liked the trip specially the kerala delicacies. On my special interest, cook served Kerala rice and dishes like Avial, Karimeen, etc. Staff were so friendly and thanks again for the wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
Dear Murugappa Das, Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!! Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch. See You Again Soon, Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunilRajR
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED and Lot of Room for Improvement”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

I took my Family for a short Spin Half Day Package today. For Four Adult and Two Child i was charged 8.5 K. 6 K for Cruise and 2.5 K for food.

The Food was way overly priced and options very less . Not so tasty as well. So dont opt for food.

In between they will stop at cheepumkal and the boat fellows will ask you to choose fish that you like. Dont buy as tje boat Lunch menu has a fish item.

The guys on the boat are not at all interactive which makes you a bit uneasy.

So overall it was good. But not great to this Price. I gave my Feedback to Maneesh As well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
Dear Sir,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. It is nice to hear that you could enjoy the trip except some minor glitches. As we already conveyed, Fish and Chicken were there in Menu and it was the miscommunication with the staff caused the extra fish purchase. We will take the points in positive way and improve further. Please keep in touch.

Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing