We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
132 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kumarakom, Kottayam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 132 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Binoy R
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Awesome location with backwaters . It's breathtakingly beautiful!! Very helpful staff. Went out of their way to ensure comfort, especially the activities manager and front desk team. Great job !!

Thanks to Maneesh and Team

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2017
Dear Sir,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!

Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch; See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LipinNair
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Awesome experience!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had taken an overnight stay and backwater cruise in Kumarakom in Amrutham Houseboats during the first week of January '17. Must say it was one of the best and relaxing experience I have had in my life. We were a group of 6 people which included kids as well. We were personally welcomed by Mr. Manish who's one of the owners of the group. The boat was very spacious and the rooms were well kept. We were provided with very courteous and knowledgeable staff who took very good care of us. Food was prepared as per our preferences with a variety of veg, non-veg dishes. It was sumptuous with the local flavor oozing out of it. You can have the luxury of choosing the fish, seafood and get it prepared for you. We were taken into the backwaters to experience the best scenic places around and it was so refreshing. The overnight stay was very peaceful and uninterrupted. The gang didnt want to leave the boat only after getting up.

Overall, we had an amazing experience with you guys. Keep up the good work.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Dear LIPIN,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the valuable feedback. Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch; See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sachithan...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2016

One of the nice and relaxing experience we had during our last holidays.
Nice food.
Will do this again, and thank you team for looking after us.
will recommend to my friends.
All the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Dear SACHITH,
Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the feedback. Its really nice to hear that you could enjoy the stay with us.
Please keep in touch; See You Again Soon,
Team AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nathjayes...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best houseboat and awesome Service”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent service and more than what we expected. Fresh catches, backwaters, the food altogether it was awesome experience. Thanks to entire team for making our holidays a memorable one. Highly recommended service. Kids and family can easily roam around and enjoy backwaters. Thumbs up to host and keep up the good service. We will recommend your service to our friends in Melbourne.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Dear Jayesh,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you.
Please keep in touch; See You Again Soon,
Team Amrutham Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sathish K
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so good not so bad”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We reached ahead of time and we were greeted and welcomed aboard and we were shown around the boat which had a room with a king sized bed with a glassed window on side for a great view , air conditioner, bathroom facilities, dining area with tv and music system. Then the best part - the upper deck with two chairs and a table with a front view bed with an awesome view.
I had asked for a honeymoon special since we were there for my first wedding anniversary. They started the boat half an hour early and we started cruising at a slow pace near the alleppey shore. The weather wasn't our friend it was scorching hot which was not brought down by the one ton heir air conditioner fitted in our room. The staffs didn't speak much (maybe because of language barrier even though I'm from neighboring state) they just answered to our questions we had to use google maps to know where we are and where we are heading and nothing was explained or shown. Lunch was delicious (esp the rasam) then we were stranded in a place because of a glitch in the boat here starts the bad parts, boat got stuck, there was communication gap between the organizers and the staffs they haven't been informed about the honeymoon specials for which I have paid extra. We went for dinner were I was surprised to find a normal lit dinner instead of a candle light then I had to ask the staff to call up the authorities to clarify it. Later we went to bed which wasn't prepared with flowers and the cake wasn't there in time. They told it usually come at 9.30pm which baffled me. I went to bed without accepting the cake and the decor for the room. The next morning got a call from the organizers saying the boat can't be started and they had to arrange a different normal boat then they arranged a cab for us to be dropped at ernakulam which is a good gesture. Overall we didn't have a great time nor a bad

Pros
Food
View from upper desk
Morning trip through the canals

Cons
Room had two lights which wasn't working
Air conditioner
Salty water in bathroom
Staffs who weren't interacting

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2017
Dear Sathish Sir,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!

Thanks for sharing the valuable feedback. As you aware, Cake and Flowers were present by 9.30 for the decoration, but since Guest refused, staff couldnt arrange the same. We apologize for not providing morning one hour cruise since boat propeller got stuck with fishermen Fishing net unfortunately, but we could compensate the same by arranging another boat for morning cruise and a free drop to Cochin.
We are really sorry if anything went wrong from our end; but happy to see that you could enjoy the trip well.

Please keep in touch; Hope to See You Soon,

Team Amrutham Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mostly Wonderful Adventure through the backwaters!”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I puzzled a while over this review. For the first 27 hours our experience was phenomenal. The boat was comfortable, the upper deck was a dream place to watch the backwaters slide by, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the food was delicious and plentiful. They seemed to do everything we wanted and more. However, we had booked for two days and we only had about a day and a half worth of things to do. Although I had expressed reservations about spending a lot of time on the lake we started across the lake at a snails pace. I was getting sea sick from the motion. I asked to be closer to the shore or to hurry. In an attempt to comply we went close to the shore and ran aground. When we got off the sand, we then anchored in the middle of the lake where we had lunch and sat for a couple of hours resulting in my being sick and throwing up over the side as a result of the motion in the middle of the lake. Finally we proceeded again into a canal where I finally recovered since we were no longer in the back and forth water of the lake. They last couple of hours were much more pleasant. I was still to sick for dinner. We anchored at the home port for the boat and one crew man remained on the boat where we spent the night.
We paid extra for air conditioning at night and that was essential. Having an upper deck was also a big plus. I guess my overall experience was positive and fascinating but the 4 hours on the lake was certainly unpleasant.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Dear KAREN H,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!
Thanks for the feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you.
Please keep in touch; See You Again Soon,
Team Amrutham Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libz_t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had never experienced the beauty of the backwaters more vividly ever. Our quality of the trip can be exemplified by the supreme standard of our houseboat, the knowledge and hospitality of our host and last but not the least the mouth watering servings of local delicacies. I would love to be back another time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Dear Libs,

Greetings from AMRUTHAM HOUSEBOATS..!!

Thanks for the feedback. Its our pleasure to serve great people like you. Please keep in touch; See You Again Soon,

Team Amrutham Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing