We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad property; amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Kumarakom
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Bad property; amazing staff”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The property is just about dying down without upgrades and updates. The rooms are dingy. The bathrooms are musty, rundown and badly in need of renovation. Except for the nicely varnished, wood paneled reception, all areas in the property need upgrades. The exterior of cottages is pretty fancy and you feel you have come to one of the best resorts, wait until your room is opened. The property has very high footfall and thus I do feel that they are deprioritizing renovations. The dining feels old and stale.
But the staff is amazingly energetic, polite, helpful and proactive. They seem disciplined and professional. The chef P Suresh is an extremely wonderful chef. He is highly personable and walks from table to table collecting feedback, suggesting food items that should surely be tried. We loved our meals and his attitude towards us.
We avoided the Shikara ride organized by the Hotel since they don't do one at sunset tour and don't go upto Vembanad lake. Our cab driver organized a shikara for us four for 1100/- for 1&1/2 hours. It was cheaper and we came back after sunset.
The lawns are well managed and an early morning cuppa tea by the back waters, seeing the sunrise would be a good idea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelondollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    99
    56
    29
    28
See reviews for
175
67
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The resort is the best and give you the true back waters experience. The resort is build around water and it has water lanes and the each and every cottage is surrounded by water. The resort is maintained very properly. the resort is its self an awesome experience. Just in front of resort we have big water body for boating. The Staff was very good. We got very warm welcome and the very good service. Food was very tasty special cheers to the chef for the varieties and taste.

Resort is full of greenery, flowers and garden areas. Lots of places to chill around. Clean and clear swimming pool. Lots of Ducks roaming around and you can actually play with them .

Special thanks to the staff of the resort for making our visit memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psingh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamabad
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

One of the best vacations we have had : natural beauty, backwaters with house boats , Excellent food and service , nice people ,visited gurdwaras, synagogues, mosques, and ancient temples.Christians, muslims, hindus, and jews living together in harmony and peace for centuries.

Room Tip: All the cabanas but the one on stilts with water underneath recommended 103 and 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Hmmm
18 acres of property ...can be fabulous but is poor.
Only 1 tiny run down restaurant with average food....and no great spread in the buffet.
Rooms are old , not maintained properly .
But on a good note the staff did tell me that they plan to shut this place down for a complete upgrade n make it into a fold crown property. .
Staff is cordial.
Don't bother to come here till it has had a thorough facelift

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SanJai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kumarakom hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this resort in Jan 2014. The information provided on ths website is far true from what the resort actually reflects.
We were asked to check into a room - at the fag end of the resort - which was not convenient at all. So that was the first change request!
The lagoons right outside the rooms are stagnant and stink leading to musquitoes as well. Rooms are very ill-maintained. There isn't enough lighting in the room as well. The curtains in our room were of a lesser width than required and hence privacy was out of question.
Food was really bad.
Though the concept of the resort was good - seems like because of poor maintainence the resort is in a very shabby and sorry state. The only saviours were the staff who were responsive while managing the challenges.

I would certainly NOT recommend this hotel until it gets revamped !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yatrika09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Probably the worst hotel you could ever stay in. The Artifical lagoons stink and stagnant water had lot of mosquite larve- The door handle came out on entering the room. Flush systems do not work- Manually open a lever to fill water in the cistern.

Could not even stay 24 hours in this hotel- Checked out as soon as I could get away.

Team- is very responsive- But guess what the guy checking us in says " Welcome to Golden Waters...I say but is this back water area- No sir- Its Black Water"

Dont even stay there on Free accomodation.

Room Tip: You need a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Being a Club Mahindra member, I opted to stay here for a night during my trip to Kochi. The resort is at a very nice location on the banks of the backwaters, unlike most of the other resorts which are located on the banks of the Vembanad Lake. The view is brilliant, especially during sunrise and resort looks beautiful with channels of water running through the resort.

The rooms were nice and neat. However, the plumbing needs to be looked at, with the water pressure in the taps being highly variable. The taste and variety food at the restaurant was good, without any strong Kerala flavour, which is ideal for travellers from outside. The room service was prompt and the service staff were courteous.

Since we spent only one night at the place, we did not take part in the resort activities. However, we took the sunset Shikhara cruise and it was excellent. The place was overrun with birds, even though we were warned that there had not been many migratory birds for the last couple of years at Kumarakom. Please be warned that because of the water all around, stepping out in the dark is not advised with all the mosquitoes.

Would have been a wonderful stay, but for all the issues during the billing. We were really upset at being made to pay Guest charges for food even though we were Club Mahindra members. The reception staff were rude when we brought up the issue and the chef billed us at guest rates even though he knew we were members and had spoken to us several times. All this while they chafed members staying outside at member rates. Since we were in a hurry to leave for the airport, we did not have time to resolve the issue and they got away with overcharging us. Other than them, rest of the staff were very courteous.

Room Tip: Closer to the reception/ restaurant is always preferable. Rooms are anyway well spaced out from one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aswin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumarakom
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
10.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Kumarakom

Property: Club Mahindra Kumarakom
Address: Near Chakrampady Bus Stand | Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Golden Waters)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Kumarakom 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Club Mahindra Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Waters Kumarakom
Club Mahindra Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing