We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Kumarakom
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days from 22-Sep and found it very intersting. The rooms are spacious and good for a small family (we were 3 - 2 adults and 1 kid). Food can be improved, it is not the best spread and quality. But, it is a nice place to spend time for few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSP-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

There is very little that you can appreciate in this resort. The staff are friendly, but the struggle to serve you well as they are short of staff, considering the distance between the reception and the last resort. Also, the cottages are very old and need an overhaul which has not been done. Only good thing was the pool. Generally a bad experience and had to check out and move to Asthamudi and the resort was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SivaandSharmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Golden Waters resort is now a Club Mahindra resort and is a fantastic property. The approach to the resort is a little tricky, as it's an extremely narrow way along one of the side canals and suddenly you reach this wonder land. The resort has cottages (I guess about 48) which are built on a very typical Kerala style and has many inside canals and bridges. Our cottage was on top of the water and it was wonderful. The resort has a swimming pool (with baby pool), a badminton court and a club area. One side of the property opens to one of the main canals and a 15mts ride by boat takes you to Vembanad Lake (one of the largest inland lake). Boats can be hired from the hotel. Club Mahindra is working hard to bring this resort to their standards and do appreciate the effort of the very friendly staff. The resort also has a small ayurvedic spa and massages can be arranged on booking. The breakfast and dinner are mostly buffet and lunch is mostly ala-carte.

This part of Kerala is an entirely different world

Room Tip: All rooms are located very well, however rooms closer to the pool means you are closer to other amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prakashroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed twice in this property. Recently, I stayed with my family for 2 nights, Property is still simply superb... We were only family there during our stay. Still we were given excellent service and care.Compared to other big named Resorts, they are 50% cheaper and provides better facilities and services. Very spaciously built with backwaters is floated in front of your cottage. You are provided with lots of activities and you gon't get boring. you can fish and ask them to cook which would be the best part of it. Nice swimming pool, nice play area of kids and very relaxing environment... You must choose this property if you would like pure service and quality, calm holidays rather than big names !!!.

Room Tip: All are cottages, you dont need to worry about any rooms. If you are travelling with two family, ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank selkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I went with family and we had an extremely good time. The hospitality and service were simply outstanding! It was an awesome experience. A very homely stay with courteous staff members right from top to bottom ranks. The landscaping is a beautiful sight for jaded city dwellers. Moreover, it is very well maintained resort right from the rooms to the landscaping to the backwaters flowing through the resort. Came back totally rejuvenated! A resort I would recommend to everyone. All in all a PAMPERED STAY I will never forget!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shahmanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I should have paid attention to some of the reviews on this property before booking. As someone else who reviewed it said - daylight robbery! - is the best way to describe this place

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights paid in full in advance through Hotels.com. Upon arrival they claimed that they only received reservation for 1 room (technology problems, as they called it). We argued with them for hours.

They finally offererd to put us up at a different (cheaper) hotel for one night. When we finally put our foot down and said that if we go somewhere else we won't switch hotels in the middle of the stay with 2 small kids, they finally agreed to put us up at this cheaper hotel for 2 nights.

One goes to Kumarakom to relax. This was one of the most infuriating vacation experiances I have had.

During the course of the conversation we figured out they they recieved a booking for a huge group for the first night of our stay and instead of working with us in advance of our arrival to put us up in a different comparable or higher value place they just decided to give us the shaft.

Its only after much insistance from us that they agreed to their fault and put us up anywhere at all.

Please heed to other reviewers with similar experiences and don't go there

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

we had a great memorable trip,,,,,,awesome place to be for a honeymoon.......
excellent services,,,,quality food.......and you will be extremely comfortable, i promise,,,
Planning for a second trip as soon as we get our next break.....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.3 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
3.7 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.7 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#3 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Kumarakom

Address: Near Chakrampady Bus Stand | Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Golden Waters)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range: $81 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Kumarakom 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Mahindra Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Waters Kumarakom
Club Mahindra Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing