We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Vivanta by Taj(Kumarakom)
$147
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Fields Kumarakom(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$231
$192
Kumarakom Lake
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cocobay Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$64
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aveda Kumarakom(Kumarakom)
$112
$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Lagoon(Kumarakom)
$135
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lake Palace Family Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$14
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
172
101
29
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
101
29
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome stayhis wifebed and breakfastsmall bridgeenjoyed our staymaintained gardenbird sanctuarycountry boatmouth wateringtraditional kerala foodvembanad lakebasic amenitiesnice stayhouseboat tripvillage lifedelicious foodfish curry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 316 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Stayed at Coconut Creek Homestay with my family for a day in April.
Booked 2 rooms over the internet for self, and family of 2 children. Had sent them several emails with various enquiries about location, getting there, food and houseboat facilities and all were responded to promptly, including the confirmation of 50% advance payment to their bank account. Cab was arranged by them and was waiting for us at Kottayam railway station. The home is in a good location opposite a small church and just a short walk from the shores of the Kumarakom lake. The rooms are a bit small, but clean and comfortable, and theres lots o place outside - a wooden swing in the portico and a hammock to loll around reading a book. The weather was quite humid though, expectedly at this time of the year.
What we liked best was the home-cooked food - it was better than eating in any restaurant (and you won't find too many restaurants around there).
Also the houseboat stay was also organised by Coconut Creek and a cab came to pick us up at 12 noon to take us to the Boat jetty where we boarded a boat - equipped with 2 bedrooms and a dining area. It was quite an experience cruising the waters of the Kumarakom lake, almost aimlessly. Again freshly cooked food on the houseboat and served hygienically and with 5-star style and comfort made the trip a memorable one. Would recommend this homestay and houseboat combo tour for those who want to unwind. (TV and mobile signal is available for those who can't let go).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Inspite of other comments made from guests. I found Coconut Creek delightful. Room size was adequate albeit slightly small. Bathroom clean with shower. Amble amount of hot water to shower. Mrs Babu home cooking was EXCELLENT. A very hospitable couple. I loved my stay here and wished I had missed out Periyar (Kumily) and spent more time in Kumarakom. Inspite of the backwaters not one mosquito in sight. The Church bells of Nazareth Church nearby were lovely. I attended Mass there which was an experience. Mr. Babu arranged a 2 hour boat trip for me around the lake and backwaters where i was able to observe life to the full.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PASSIONINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Four of us stayed here ,thankfully, for one night only. Upon arrival,we were very impressed with the outside of the house. It looks great. Inside,however,the rooms are small and the bathrooms are not up to scratch. I attach a few photos showing the shower and the mould. Given the cost of labour in India,there can be no excuse for this. The dining room only accommodates four people at a time. If more than this number are staying at the homestay,you have to eat in relays. This is what happened to us as there was a total of seven people there that night. With due respect to Mrs Babu,she is not the greatest of cooks. There was just one small,thin sheet on the bed. It failed to cover both my wife and I. Either your legs stuck out,or your top half did ! Very uncomfortable night.
The picturesque canal in the photographs elsewhere on this site are rather deceiving as,other than in the rainy season,it is a pretty stagnant ditch.
In our collective opinion,Coconut Creek is not a true Homestay but more of an impersonal lodging house. Perhaps one stage up from a YMCA. I should perhaps add that I have lived in India for several years,so am not judging this by purely Western standards.
We heartily agree with the comments of Philip-USA,dated 5 March 2010 on this site.
Others who have highly rated this homestay cannot possibly have stayed in really good homestays such as The Bungalow,Cochin - The Royal Mist,Munnar - Venice Castle,Alleppey,all of which we stayed at and can recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazeltav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and i stayed at Coconut Creek for 3 nights. We thought the bedroom wasn't too small as other reviewers had wrote. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, as was the homestay in general. The food was good as was the helpfulness of Mr Babu and his staff. The area was quiet and after staying in Alleppey was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tealsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Really cute home in the middle of Kumarakom, next to more residential areas than the resorts. Mr. Babu was really friendly and helpful, arranging for taxis to the Bird Sanctuary and Periyar the next day.

Room was smallish but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was ok, though there was no hot water.

Dinner and breakfast were delicious- home cooked Keralan food, can't get more authentic than that.

Not much to do around there though. Definitely more of a base for trips on the backwaters.

Mr, Babu also booked for us a day and night stay on a houseboat. However, the boat was definitely one of the older ones and the bedroom was uncomfortable. Still, the crew on board were really great and the food served was really good.

Also, we found that staying overnight on a houseboat was unnecessary as it didn't really add anything to our trip. Just a day cruise was enough.

If you do want to stay overnight on a houseboat though, I'd recommend that you'd splurge for the more high end ones so you can get a good sleep.

otherwise, Coconut Creek was really good value!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews