We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay
Ranked #2 of 15 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and i stayed at Coconut Creek for 3 nights. We thought the bedroom wasn't too small as other reviewers had wrote. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, as was the homestay in general. The food was good as was the helpfulness of Mr Babu and his staff. The area was quiet and after staying in Alleppey was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tealsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2010

Really cute home in the middle of Kumarakom, next to more residential areas than the resorts. Mr. Babu was really friendly and helpful, arranging for taxis to the Bird Sanctuary and Periyar the next day.

Room was smallish but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was ok, though there was no hot water.

Dinner and breakfast were delicious- home cooked Keralan food, can't get more authentic than that.

Not much to do around there though. Definitely more of a base for trips on the backwaters.

Mr, Babu also booked for us a day and night stay on a houseboat. However, the boat was definitely one of the older ones and the bedroom was uncomfortable. Still, the crew on board were really great and the food served was really good.

Also, we found that staying overnight on a houseboat was unnecessary as it didn't really add anything to our trip. Just a day cruise was enough.

If you do want to stay overnight on a houseboat though, I'd recommend that you'd splurge for the more high end ones so you can get a good sleep.

otherwise, Coconut Creek was really good value!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Coconut Creek is a place you might want to check if you are not too fussy about a luxurious holiday and prefer a warm and personalised experience.

CC is a homestay that is run by a family that are extremely warm and friendly and go out of their way to ensure you feel at home.

Me and wife visited CC in Jan '10 as part of our honeymoon trip. Kumarakom was second on our itinerary after Munnar (we stayed at Club Mahindra). Honestly our initial opinion of the place was a little bad especially since the rooms at CC were a little cramped as compared to the much larger and spacious rooms at Club Mahindra.

So if you are a person who can forego these comforts for a warm and homely experience the CC is definitely the place for you.

Food is one of the main highlights of the place. Both me and my wife loved the delicious spread Mrs Babu prepared. A wonderful way to experience authentic Kerala cuisine.

The second highlight of the place is the warm and friendly hospitality of the owners. Mr Babu helped us with sight seeing and recommended places to visit and even personally dropped us at a couple of places.

In a nutshell CC is a definitely a place to visit if you wish to experience truly warm and homely hospitality - a change from the artificial charade put by hotel staff. It may not offer some of the luxuries a big hotel would offer you, in terms of a luxurious and spacious rooms but the excellent food and hospitality more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHissingSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

A quiet and clean home stay. Well maintained, with a nice garden. Prefer enjoying a nice dinner in one of the resorts next door, and get a cheap and quiet night at Coconut Creek.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wise-Giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Don't stay here! Little room, fairly not nice bathroom, very little “hot” (lukewarm-cool) water, cramped rooms, musty smell, mediocre food. We were told we'd have an extra bed set up but it wasn't (and really couldn't fit into the regular "deluxe" room anyway). If you can swing the few extra dollars, it really pays to stay at one of the luxury hotels nearby, we ate at one of them and it was delicious, and had them set up a boat ride because we trusted them more than the Coconut Creek people. (by the way, a two hour boat ride was the perfect time spent on a tour.)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We spent a relaxing two nights at the Coconut Creek Farm Homestay, which was a oasis of calm after the many chaotic charms of north India! We very much enjoyed the warm and welcoming atmosphere and the home cooked local cuisine was some of the best we tasted in all of India. The beautiful surroundings and the attentive staff made us feel most welcome and we were very glad to have selected this beautiful and peaceful homestay over one of the many souless resorts in the area.
As well as being an ideal starting point for a houseboat trip on the Backwaters, Coconut Creek Homestay was also conveniently located for the Bird Sanctuary, the Kathakali and Kalari Centre in Kumarakom and the incredible Driftwood Museum.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I enjoyed my stay with my family at coconut creek.
I stayed for 1 day at homestay.It was really nice experience
The room was very neat & clean,the garden was very nice & beautiful.
It was really homely experience.No variety in food as it is homestay.
The backwater is at walkable distance just 5 minutes from homestay.
Mr.Babu,the owner also booked houseboat for me, which was very nice. W also enjoyed our houseboat stay.
Overall it was really superb trip.


.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdgBaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
5.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#21 of 26 in Kumarakom
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#16 of 26 in Kumarakom
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay

Address: | Near Nazareth Church, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range: $32 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut creek farm and homestay kumarakom is a NATIONAL TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best bed and breakfast in India. Also coconut creek is a TWO time kerala STATE TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best homestay in kerala.Our unique factor is from kerala only coconut creek kerala homestays have received national tourism award for best homestays in India.Also coconut creek kumarakom bed and breakfast is the only one diamond category homestay in kumarakom approved by kerala tourism department. We provide kerala houseboats in kumarakom and alleppey too.Our awards and recognitions :-National Tourism award for best bed and breakfast in India from first man of Indian Honorable Indian President & kerala state tourism excellence award winner for best homestay in kerala for Two time,Holiday IQ Awesome Food award,Holiday IQ Awesome Location Award,Trip Advisor Excellence award for Three time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing