We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit cramped with bad A/C and WiFi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
Ranked #2 of 14 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
567 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A bit cramped with bad A/C and WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The setting is perfect for a backwater retreat. It looks like the owner built a new wing that has air conditioned rooms rooms that are small and cramped. This would have been OK if the A/C worked. It went out after an hour and we had to rely upon the ceiling fan. We paid extra for the A/C and it would have been nice if we would have receive a credit. The WiFi only worked in a few rooms. Everything else was find and we enjoyed both the dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcreek, Owner at Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

The day you were here there was power problem in total kumarakom village; so that only WIFI and A/C didn't work properly.When the time of billing i was out and it was mistake from the care taker.We apologize for our mistake.

Thanks for mentioning perfect for back water retreat and good lunch,dinner and breakfast.

regards
Team CC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    96
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
146
102
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Huge property spread across 4 acres. Mr Babu the owner is a hands own owner and has mainained a spotless property. The property has lot of open space for kids with swings and hammock. the wooden swing in the verandah is the perfect place to enjoy one's morning cup of tea. Now for the best part, the food. We had all our meals at the home stay and everything cooked by Mrs Babu was lip smackingly delicious. Authentic homely kerela food, served with care. They even arranged for my taxi an houseboat trip which made our vacation a comfortable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saikatBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Overall, it is a good place to stay if your expectations are toned down. There are much better hotels in kumarakom, but they cost a lot more too. The host was nice and welcoming, the food was tasty. The rooms felt a bit cramped and the view could get to you if you stay more than 2 days here. It is all about the backwaters and rivers. In this part of the world, there is nothing more. We took the motor boat instead of staying in the houseboat as we were informed that the houseboats would be anchored by 6 in the evening and then we'd become sitting ducks for the mosquitos. Don't forget to take your mosquito repellants with you, the nets don't do much good. Do carry Indian money as you'll be required to pay for any additional purchases and the closest bank to change money is quite a drive away. A good option for a reasonably priced stay for 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

During my last holiday trip to kerala, i wanted a quite/relaxing stay at kumarakom, and read reviews of 'Coconut Creek Farm' and got very impressed and decided to give it a shot........and in one sentence i would say that it was not only a very nice stay but also a relaxing experience. Very nicely maintained room (awesome bathroom with bathing cabinet), room has two gates, front gate opens to garden and back side gate opens towards nicely maintained kitchen and dining hall. As far as food is concerned, they do not have very large menu to offer, they have few options of 'Kerala' preparations, but food quality and taste wise they met our expectations. Since we had a small kid with us, hence we needed to use they kitchen for milk and bottles boiling, which they let us do happily. This Homestay is built is very large area in corner plot location and very nicely maintained garden with swings, you can really enjoy your leisure time with your family and feel like home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Itismyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for one day. Overall it was a good stay.
Positives:
Ambiance was excellent with well maintained garden
Calm
Lake is in walking distance
Room, bed and blankets are clean
Friendly staff and owner

Negatives:
In reviews mentioned kerala dishes available. But in there menu they have bread omlette and dosas only available for breakfast
Room is very small
AC cooling was not effective
Water heater tripped 4 times(dont know its tripped automatically or switched off by staff)
Hot water available in tap only. not available for showers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at coconut creek for 1 night last week. Place is nice and staff very friendly. Food is excellent (5 star). Do stay in AC room only otherwise might face some issues due to the weather. Nice place to stay for short stay. In case planning to stay for 4-5 days then it would be better to find a resort with good facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gurpreet_Munial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a nice home stay. Though the room is very small, garden attracts a lot. Food is quiet expensive. I was surprised to see 700/- bill (more than a buffet dinner @ big hotels) for the dinner. The cost per plate is Rs.200/- and each fish piece is Rs.150/- extra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Suman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcreek, Owner at Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi,

Thanks a lots for mentioning Coconut creek is a nice kerala bed and breakfast in kumarakom and homestay stay ambiance are very beautiful.

We are offering MENU in each room and do not say after getting the bill you have surprised with price.Now a days none of the guest are with out asking price or with out seeing menu foods are ordering.So when the time of ordering you knew the price.

Also we have served UNLIMITED Kerala Sadya meal with Kumarakom KARIMEEN Fish fry for 4 pax not for just one person.

As you said buffet lunch is cheaper in hotels..But you do not know the reason why it is..The hotels have minimum 12 rooms,open restaurants for public not only for in house guest (room guest),banquet hall,conference function etc .So for all these the hotels make quantity of food.When you make quantity of food it would be very cheaper.They use same dishes with different style for lunch and dinner buffet .Also they can use same food for different function in their hotels.They have new preservation technology too.
But homestays has only maximum 3 to 4 rooms (Approved homestay with license) .There is no open restaurants for public.Food serve only for in house guest.So the homestays are making only very less quantity food.That also after the guest order.So the expense will be huge than hotels bz the quantity is less.Also the homestays could use the food for different functions for different guest.

Just a TIP Before Choosing homestays; you must know homestays has lots limitation than hotels.But the local and heritage experience you will get only in homestays not in any kind of properties.

Regards
Team CC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#16 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom

Property: Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
Address: Near Nazareth Church | Kumarakom P.O, Kottayam, Kerala, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut creek farm and homestay kumarakom is a NATIONAL TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best bed and breakfast in India. Also coconut creek is a TWO time kerala STATE TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best homestay in kerala.Our unique factor is from kerala only coconut creek kerala homestays have received national tourism award for best homestays in India.Also coconut creek kumarakom bed and breakfast is the only one diamond category homestay in kumarakom approved by kerala tourism department. We provide kerala houseboats in kumarakom and alleppey too.Our awards and recognitions :-National Tourism award for best bed and breakfast in India from first man of Indian Honorable Indian President & kerala state tourism excellence award winner for best homestay in kerala for Two time,Holiday IQ Awesome Food award,Holiday IQ Awesome Location Award,Trip Advisor Excellence award for Three time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing