We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best homestay with best people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
Ranked #2 of 14 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati, Assam, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best homestay with best people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

we stayed only for one night but it was one of the most memorable places we have stayed...my baby enjoyed our stay there thoroughly especially the swings....we like to compliment the owner-couple for their effort to maintain such a lovely place..the cook was also very helpful..we had the best kerala meal there..thanks... all our best wishes are with you people.....truly the best home-stay....

Room Tip: if anyone wants to perceive the beautiful lifestyle of kerala..we can surely suggest for staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pallavi_a_pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    96
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
146
102
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you have been rushing around India on a hectic holiday then this is the perfect place to take a break. Spotlessly clean and set in peaceful gardens it is the ideal place to relax.
Not really run like a homestay, more a B&B as you are in a separate house from Babu and his family. Meals are home cooked and excellent.
Lots of scenic walks nearby and tuk tuks just across the street. We only had one night here, so didn't have time to investigate much, but we were told there is a bird sanctuary worth visiting. We tried the massage place down the road and didn't regret it. Reasonble prices and plenty of attention.
The church across the road rings its bells at 5am. This is the only down side, but it is short lived so it may be possible to get back to sleep if it wakes you.
Babu and family go to bed at 10pm, so no food service after that and no tea making facilities in the room, so make sure you have all you need before then.
I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We found Coconut Creek by fishing on the internet and we are so glad we did! Babu, his wife and their staff have worked hard to create a lovely welcoming place in the Backwaters. if you are searching for a comfortable alternative to a bland resort hotel then this is for you. The food is great and varied, there is plenty of it. The bedroom was clean, airy, and comfortable. The garden is pretty and is a good place to sit and watch birds. It is easy to go and see the sites from here either by using an auto-rickshaw or by catching the local bus from the nearby stop - recommended for budget travellers!
All in all this was a lovely place to stay and I recommend it to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I had booked coconut creek homestay & houseboat for my honeymoon trip.I booked from Kuwait via Mr:Ullas who is the son of the host of the homestay.It was pleasure trip to kerala and stay in coconut creek.We had wonderful time in kumarakom.Our stay in homestay was nice especially the kerala Veg lunch in the coconut creek.The houseboat stay was beautiful and we had enjoyed our trip.The host Mr:Babu helped us lots especially for local information about kerala.Mr:Babu wife Regina gave the recipe of some tasty kerala curry to my wife. Now she tried these recipe in my house .Totally we had enjoyed our honeymoon kerala trip in kumarakom, houseboat and munnar hill station too.

Room Tip: Go for Ac. room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SamPiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our trip to India. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived. The room was rather on the small side, but very clean. We were prepared a lovely home cooked evening meal by our host and a lovely breakfast the next day as well. There was a festival at the Church during our stay which was very colourful and interesting to watch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

My self ,my husband and my parents had visited feb 1week to kumarakom and we had stayed in here this authentic homestay in kumarakom.We are from kerala but we settled in bomaby since long time.As part of my official trip I had visited kerala after log time.In our tours we never stayed homestay before. I had choose this coconut creek and booked online through their own website with out my husband permission. I thought of giving surprise to him b’coz he never had experience in homestay.But I was so scared that how will be the experience in coconut creek.But the movement we entered in their small varandha reception we had got very warm welcome and mango flavor juice as welcome drink.(Don’t expect big resorts reception and check in procedure)The room was little tiny but ok for couple like us and my parents were staying same like our room which is opposite side to us. My parents always bother about bath rooms cleanliness and it was totally clean inside the room.We usually eat Bombay style food and it was very different experience after long time when we eat kerala pure homely food.The food was made by homestay owner wife Mrs:Regina and her karimeen fry and bitter gourd fry was so mouthwatering.Mr:Babu the homestay owner helped us to getting country boat in bird sanctuary area in early morning 6.30 am..If any one visit bird sanctuary area then don’t take motor boats and prefer county boats for really enjoying the kumarakom back water.When I booked online I had booked 1 extra room for my cousin who canceled the trip in last movement.The cancelation request I had send by email and I got the prompt refund email reply from ullas babu (I think Mr:Babu son) who stay out side india .This money I got it back before I came back to my work place.If we visit kumarakom again then we would like to come back here again.But I know it never happened because this kerala visit also after many many years from Bombay life.

Room Tip: Try to book canal facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mumbaimaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is our first true homestay and the experience was very memorable. We know that we went in the offseason as we wanted to enjoy the rains in Kerala as well. Kumarakom has always been a costly place for me. This one is good if you are coming with the family and also very cautious on budget.

Positives:
1. Very neat and Clean rooms and ambience.
2. Very welcoming hosts, Sri Ullas raju and Smt. Regena.
3. True and tasty Kerala Food.
4. Very close to Vembanad lake. You can walk and look at its beauty as well.

Negatives:
Nothing much, but I would say it falls on the costlier side of the homestay as the rooms were not so spacious. I can see this to be a relatively cheap accommodation given the rates in Kumarakom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdithyaKalyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#16 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom

Property: Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
Address: Near Nazareth Church | Kumarakom P.O, Kottayam, Kerala, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut creek farm and homestay kumarakom is a NATIONAL TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best bed and breakfast in India. Also coconut creek is a TWO time kerala STATE TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best homestay in kerala.Our unique factor is from kerala only coconut creek kerala homestays have received national tourism award for best homestays in India.Also coconut creek kumarakom bed and breakfast is the only one diamond category homestay in kumarakom approved by kerala tourism department. We provide kerala houseboats in kumarakom and alleppey too.Our awards and recognitions :-National Tourism award for best bed and breakfast in India from first man of Indian Honorable Indian President & kerala state tourism excellence award winner for best homestay in kerala for Two time,Holiday IQ Awesome Food award,Holiday IQ Awesome Location Award,Trip Advisor Excellence award for Three time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing