We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place is quiet and serene - right next (if not inside) a sanctuary.
We went as a group of friend families and were in cottages next to each other... Children enjoyed the little water channels all over the resort, crossing one bridge after another...
The swimming pool was also good. We swam late into the night...
In the morning, some of us trekked into the adjacent greens looking for birds, and others went for a ride in the lake.
The staff was courteous... We ordered pakoras and snacks and relished them together in comfort of one of the cottages... Overall, it was a good experience... Would recommend to others too...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGrDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    281
    70
    24
    15
See reviews for
291
223
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location wise, its an excellent property for a great time in the midst of nature, but all you get after staying here is a feeling of "what it could have been". The resort with well planned cottages and lots of greenery around suffers on account of chronic neglect by the management.

The rooms are ok, though need a little refurbishing. The bathrooms are absolutely terrible and need a major rehaul. The staff is courteous though you will have to keep asking again & again for your requests to be attended to.

The pool is downright dirty. Took a dip once during my stay and regretted it. Could feel insects crawling up on me during the swim. Saw a small frog in the water and that was enough to get me out of there. The point is, this can surely happen when you have a property surrounded by nature on all sides. However, just no one bothers to make the efforts to maintain it. The pool is just a classic example of the same.

They have a bird sanctuary within the premises, though it lacks any bird. Btw did see a monitor lizard and a crow during my stroll there.

Food is basic and was disappointed to find that there was no seafood of note on the menu. When you are so near the coast, you are bound to be surprised with that. Guess, its meant to keep the costs down as most of the packages on offer include dinner & breakfast.

Couple of minor things, the TV in the rooms are outdated and show mostly the local channels. Also dont try the boats available within KTDC, as you can find cheaper options and better boats just outside of the property.

All in all, for the money i spent, it was definitely not worth it. Wont repeat, i am sure.

Room Tip: the lake views room are better, both on account of location and in terms of amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sogg_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As we entered the gate of KTDC, we saw trees and greenery all around the long stretch of road till the ktdc reception area.The ktdc resort itself is a huge property spread-ed and planted with trees on the shores of Vembanad Lake.The whole property lies inside a bird's sanctuary park and bordering with taj property premises.

As we had booked canal view cottages,from exterior the wooden cottages were uniquely designed with landscape.The cottages were evenly placed on stilts with spiral ladder to climb up.
Man made small canals were running besides the periphery of cottages.A hammock was provided below the empty spaces of each cottage.A large sit out area with comfortable chairs were provided for relaxing outside the cottage.From interiors the rooms were spacious,pretty neat and tidy with attached bathrooms.The room had dampness smell. Some broken tiles in bathrooms. Bath tub was also not working.

Though the cottages gave the feeling of being private in calm & quiet surroundings of nature but on the other way it also felt like isolated.Unfortunately there was no view from our sit out area whatever we could see were the other cottages. As we visited this place in march month the water in the canals was less, somewhere black murky water.Hammocks provided too were lying too close to the ground for one getting hurt.

In the evening went for a walk to explore the resort,as we neared the restaurant we got our first glimpse of the marvelous lake.The atmosphere up here was so serene,an instant blissful for us.The view from here was so picturesque,it reminded me of the views which we used to see in story books in our school days.So beautiful and sublime, you just can't stop yourself taking snaps of this beautiful surroundings every now and then.It is just the perfect place to romance with your partner apart from watching houseboats across the lake and watching the sun setting slowly & slowly. A place for relaxation and doing nothing,simply gazing at the tranquil & beautiful water of vembanad lake has been a exhilarating experience for us. It would have been really appreciative for ktdc if sitting benches were provided near the beautiful lake.

Swimming pool is just by the lake, pool is good with blue water. Just sitting by the pool you get to see two shades of water,one of lake and other of the pool.Mesmerized to see the beauty of these two shaded waters and greenery around us. Restaurant is nearby the lake built on stilts with great views.We had a buffet dinner which was OK with pretty decent service.

Next day morning we took a speed boat ride.During ride the boatmen asked whether we were interested in seeing the village lifestyles through the speed boat at extra cost of 200 Rs.We agreed though initially resisting.The boatmen took the speed boat slowly into tiny lanes of villages.As there are no roads in villages so one could see the daily chores of villagers,washing clothes, buying vegetables etc.The vendor used to sell vegetables or any daily household items from the boat itself.Simply great to see their small size boats roaming around each house for selling their goods.

Watching children waving to us while going to schools, the loud south indian music which was audible from a km, the beautiful ducks crossing the river, the greenery around the lakes,boat going from the tiny stretches surrounded by village houses,houseboats getting ready for business, the fishermen collecting shells from the lake, and lastly the backwater cruise for 2 hours was one of the most unique experience which are simply unforgettable.These memories are here to stay in my mind for long.

We had a very good time here close to nature.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in this resort choose only lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sliver18th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Located on side of Vembanad Lake in Kumarakom. It is beautifully located. Cottage locations are nice as well. But quality of food and service leave a lot to be desired. Staff is courteous only when they are behind their desk, after that they dont even bother to reply to your basic queries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSB_Chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in Waterscapes for a couple of days during our August vacation to Kerala. Great ambience, and even better surroundings. Nothing can beat lazing around in a hammock or at the pool side and watching the setting sun on the backdrop of beautiful and serene backwaters. The property consists of individual cottages and that creates a unique experience of a log cabin. Restaurant's location was immaculate and food was good and reasonably priced. Overall, great experience and would recommend to everyone.

P.S. -> Try to get the lake facing cottages. Those are the best properties.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The resort is situated inside a bird sanctuary and the rooms are build on small canals. The rooms are spacious and give a serene view of the natural beauty from the balcony.
We did not book a boat house as most people do because we dont want to stay at one place all time so we hired a boat for 2 hrs for just 900Rs for 6 persons . It was a very nice experience boating in calm waters.
The swimming pool is big and situated just next to the river.
The food is not that good and there are not any restaurants nearby that one can try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yash k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore, cochin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nothing can beat the location of this Govt run tourism board property. Looks straight into the eyes of the sun across the lake in Kumarakom. Enjoy the most serene sunset or a nice house boat ride. The cottages are fantastic and the rooms are pretty neat.This can be far better though considering the neighbours around and for the kind of location. The service needs to be improved and food could be far far better. Choice of beverage is limited too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
688 reviews
4.7 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Property: Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Address: Kumarakom North P O, Kumarakom, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterscapes - this exotic backwater resort, on the shores of Vembanad Lake is located inside the Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary, which draws migratory birds from as far away as Siberia. The only resort in the destination located inside the bird sanctuary and is noted for its independent huts that stand on stilts and is a place teeming with mangrove vegetation. It offers its guests uninterrupted access to the backwater life of Kumarakom. It is also an interesting location for eco tourists who are interested in mangrove ecosystem, birds related ecosystem. The property is part of the original Kavanattinkara estate once owned by Alfred George Baker. It is also widely popular among the "honeymooners". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscapes Ktdc Backwater Hotel Kumarakom
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing