We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Palace Family Resort
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I, along with my family, spent a day and a night at this resort. Although this resort doesn't provide a lake side view from the rooms, the lake is only 2 minutes walk from the resort. Our stay was quite peaceful and enjoyable. The hotel staff was accommodating and helpful. The service and food was quite good. The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnigdhaKishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

I planned to visit Kumarakom, a place which is 15 Kms away from Kottayam town and a tourist paradise, in the end of 2009 to spend the New Year eve. I browsed the internet to find the best deals and ended up booking my stay at Hotel Lake Palace.

On arrival, I checked in and liked the place. It is peaceful with not many people. The ambience is not something which one can write about as it is just a building in-between many trees. Their rooms are reasonably good, with A/C, clean beds and toilets. Because their ad mentioned that the lake is 100 metres away from hotel, I started looking for the lake out of the room window but could not spot it.

I took a walk a few hours later, a few steps on a narrow lane away from the main road and I was zapped. There was the lake (so called), but believe me, it was as huge as the sea. It is the backwaters of the Arabian sea flowing through Kumarakom. Believe me; you need to see it to believe it.

There are a series of other resorts which are touching the coast of the so called lake, but these places are very expensive - Starting Price was around Rs.2500 a day. Lake Palace charged me, if I remember well, Rs.800 a day. This is a place which is affordable for many who would like to visit Kumarakom. But be aware that you should be willing to let go of the few desirable activities like candle light dining on the so called lake side with breeze hitting you and your partner while you stare at the stars and the light of the house boats in the horizon.





I was waiting for a grand New Year Eve celebration at any of the other Resorts in Kumarakom, as Lake Palace is not a place where you can expect much. This is because of their location, setup as well as space constraints. However, due to the unexpected Tsunami mishap which happened around the last few days of that year, almost all planned New Year Eve events were cancelled to mourn the damage caused due to the natural disaster. Lake Palace had a bit or fire works and they stopped at that. The other high-priced resorts still had their lake facing gardens open serving food/liquor to their own guests, but outside guests were not allowed inside their premises.





I felt all this was reasonable indeed and planned to stay indoors and had a couple of beers and dinner. The overall experience of staying at Lake Palace resort was good even though you cannot rate it as excellent. No complaints against their hospitality and customer service.





If you are planning a visit to Kumarakom with a small budget, then Lake Palace is a good place to stay. Other activities like a night in the house boat, a cruise in the massive lake and the backwaters can be booked at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nihal_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I found excellant service in this hotel. this hotel suites for family with kids. We had a family environment with our kids during our stay for 3 days.

Thanks
E.Ravi
Chennai

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Being a working couple, gettin a chance to escape from the daily traffic filled travel and work pressure was very rare. We got the chance in the July of 2010. This was a trip we would cherish for a lifetime. Browsing through the internet we found Lake Palce Resorts as an option. After reading about the resort we called up the contact person of lake palace.From the very beginning of calling from Chennai till the time we came back home, the hospitality was amazing. Starting from bus routes to reach places to specially ordered food with specifications given by me and my wife, everything was a splendid experience. We visited Guruvayoor, Allepy which were approachable distances from here and well connected by Bus and train. We took a casual bus ride through the kerala government bus to Allepy. Highlights of the trip are the backwater boat ride, vembanad lake (Huge)houseboat ride for few hours which was an out of the world experience and the amazing food which was like home made.

Once back in chennai we decided we should visit kumarakom and stay in lake palace resort again. Mind you this ia an affordable place and also value for money with proper service which you do not find in many other places.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrasannaKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were on a beautiful romantic honeymoon & as per plan we moved to Kumarakom from Munnar. After a pleasing stay at Las Palmas, Munaar we had greater expectations of Lake Palace Resort, Kumarakom. We had planned a backwaters trip on a house boat next day & had to stay at the hotel just for that afternoon & night.

We had a very good reception at Lake Palace Resort, staff at the front desk were warm & as they knew we were on a honeymoon & newly wed, they presented us with a beautiful momento which touched us deeply. We booked a non-ac room as it was already winter & it was cold but the room was really good, not as good as Las Palmas but it was not bad though. Room service was very good, they used to come to the room the next minute we call up the front desk, they were too quick & were probing to know our needs (it helped us as we were a bit hesitant to ask for some details).

It was late afternoon but the hotel offered us a very good lunch, they waited for us to freshen up & served us lunch after 4PM which I feel was pretty awesome, we had all the variety even if it was late. Taste of few items (kerala spl coconut oil cooked) was not so good but we don't want to blame the hotel, may be it is because we are trying kerala cuisine for the first time ever. Dinner, we did not experiment, we had some common south indian dishes which was not so high on taste but on that day it had a theme were everything had a "good for health" tag attached to it.

Hotel arranged for a houseboat next day morning, we were served breakfast on the boat, more than the breakfast, it was the waters, it was just amazing, I cannot explain my experience, there are no words - one needs to travel in a house boat in the backwaters to feel the pleasure (many places in Kerala offer it), it is a life time experience, it was the first time & are planning to go back again, not to Kumarakom but to some other place in Kerala.

Coming back to hotel, overall I would say it is very good for a day or two's stay, we did not try the other facilities, one needs to do that as well. All the arrangements were pre-planned & perfect givin full comfort to us, no inconvenience whatsoever.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thiru_sri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.6 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
113 reviews
4.8 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.7 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts
Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts
#20 of 26 in Kumarakom
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ashirwad Heritage Resorts
Ashirwad Heritage Resorts
#25 of 26 in Kumarakom
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
343 reviews
3.4 mi away
Green Fields Kumarakom
Green Fields Kumarakom
#15 of 26 in Kumarakom
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Family Resort

Address: Pallichira Jn., Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Price Range: $13 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Palace Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 AC spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Palace Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Family Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing