We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in the lap of nature.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kodianthara Heritage Home
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the lap of nature.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Spent 2 wonderful days with Crispin and family at Kodianthara on 20th and 21st Mar, 2014. Kodianthara isa a lovely and traditional Kerala bungalow enclosed in a rubber plantation, run by Mr. Crispin. The hospitality at this Home stay was very warm, and food cooked by Mrs. Crispin tasted great and lip smacking. My sons played a lot with their dachshund, Tipu, who is nice and quiet.
Thank you for your warmth, the lovely canoe ride, and the houseboat stay. Also a very special thanks from us for taking care of our first, but definitely, not the last visit to Kerala!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarkar_Anirban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
46
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at Kodianthara Home for 3 nights in early march'14. It was a most memorable experience which we will always cherish. I was travelling with 2 senior citizens and we were very well looked after. The property itself is so charming and serene that you enjoy total bliss there. The house is so traditional and you can actually experience the old world charm. Mr Crispin and his wife Soni were great hosts and treated us like their family. Would highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Staying here gives me a great experience on “Calmness” with the sounds of great Indian birds, with the delightful hospitality of Mr.Crispin & his Family (Creator of this Place).
We team of five friends hanged up there for 2 Days which was filled with fun & unforgettable memories…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saravanakumar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and 9 of my friends from my Rotary Club, Rotary Club of Madurai North made a two day trip to kottayam. Spent the 1st night at the Kodianthara house boat and the second night at the Kodianthara heritage house. When my friend booked this place, the only thing I knew was that, its a 160 year old house. Being an avid photographer, I was eagerly waiting to get here.

When our van was stopped half a KM from the home as the road was being repaired, Mr.Crispin, our host took away our luggage and we had to walk through the greens and canals to Kodianthara. I started loving the atmosphere already as we walked towards Kodianthara. It was like going inside a rain forest with tall rubber tress and fruit trees all along the sides. When we reached the entrance of the house we were awe struck with the ambiance the house is set in. We sat in the verandah appreciating the high wooden roof works and the meticulously crafted wood work all around. Mrs.Crispin greeted us and we walked inside the house. I was totally amazed at the way this 160 year old house is still maintained. The traditional kerala style woodwork and handicrafts that decors every nuke and corner of the place is beautiful.

After settling down, Mr.Crispin showed us around the house, the original part of the house and how it was restored to the present condition. He was explaining and I could see the passion he has for this place. He should have explained the history and importance of this place and about his family and ancestors to hundreds of people before, but I felt like as if it was the first time he is explaining to his first guest. He was so enthusiastic and involved taking us around the place and showing it with a broad smile on his face.

I'm still amazed how Mr & Mrs Crispin just with a couple of domestic helps maintain such a huge place so clean and neat! In all the two days we stayed there, nowhere i could see any dust or spider webs around. This shows how much care they take in cleaning and maintaining the place. Only in big star hotels you could see such cleanliness. Mrs.Crispin herself gets involved in the kitchen making food for us and even graciously accepted to serve some special requirements I had due to my food diet. Only the owners true involvement could give you true fulfillment in staying at a home stay place.

With so much of trees and greeneries around, I never saw any insects or bugs inside the house. I think they would take extra care to keep the place free from bugs and pests. Their two domestic helps were awesome too. With a smiling face they kept serving us.

Our rooms were so neat and bathrooms were so clean and well maintained. If you stay here, dont miss walking around the rubber trees and the neighboring small village like places. You will meet native kerala people and get to know their simple lives and uncomplicated life style.

I still cherish every moment i stayed here and sure I will make several trips to this fantastic place with my family and friends not only for the heritage and historical value but for Mr & Mrs Crispin's impeccable hospitality and passion they have in treating guests.

When we left, Mr.Crispin came up till our van parked inside the big Church nearby and with the same big smile on his face I saw when he greeted us the previous day, he waved us off.... and we sweared to come back again with our families next time!

Room Tip: Stay inside the main house. There is also an annexe that was later added.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saravanaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Enjoyed homely atmosphere. Been there with my big family including kids and elders.
I felt as a guest only till i enter the property, the moment I met Mr.Crispin everything changed. I have become his friend forever and the way he and his family taken care of us made me to refer many of my friends to this awesome place.
Being a nature lover and a photographer, i loved every angle of this place. Be it the antique design or the veranda with big wooden roof or the big garden for a morning walk.
I personally enjoyed bird watching every morning and spotted some birds including Racket tailed drongo, white cheeked barbets, Treepies, Asian koel, Spotted owlets, etc..
One photograph taken inside this place has bagged me a Bird-Photography award also. Refer the pic attached.
As a whole, a never to be missed place especially if your are on a family trip.

Room Tip: Plan for a boat-house stay coupled with your resort stay, owned by the same person. Don't miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Staying at Kodianthara was a wonderful experience. The drive to the place was a bit of a surprise, the backwaters, narrow mud paths, and what have you. The property itself is wonderful with huge gardens, two lovely little Dachshunds who mind their own business but are super cute, and of course the wonderful and welcoming family of Mr. Crispin.
We really stopped believing that this was a paid home stay and felt more like we were staying with relatives. They make you feel so at home with everything! The food (home style kerala cuisine) was superb. I really can't focus on aspects like 'service' or 'facilities' and the run of the mill hotel review topics because at the end of our stay, we were upset to leave and had such a great experience with them! Singing, dancing, eating, drinking, sight-seeing, it was all there. The place is superbly serene and secluded enough to make you forget all your city worries. A great little retreat if you ask me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ_Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We came in for a surprise after travelling thru narrow allys of kumarakom. The host Mr Crispin was very hospitable and kind. We got the warmth as if I am coming to my friends house.
The property was thoroughly explained by Mr Crispin. Kids had their own way ans played with two dogs, Atni the puppy and Tipu. Although the garden needs a little makeover, the ambience was just amazing. Village setting with lots of plantation. A breather from city hustles...
Thanks to Mr Crispin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krazy_indica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.1 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodianthara Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodianthara Heritage Home

Property: Kodianthara Heritage Home
Address: | behind St. John Knanaya Church, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our own St.Crispin Heritage House Boat is parked in the entrance of Vembanadu lake just 1 km away from Home to explore the Lake,Backwaters,Canals .Canoe ride in front of our backwaters,fishing from fish farm,plantation tour,Study of Kerala Architecture & culture,Cooking lessons are free activities while staying in Kodianthara. Famous Birds sanctuary is just 3 km away. Famous churches,temples are only walking distance from Kodianthara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kodianthara Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodianthara Heritage Home Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing