We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home away Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kodianthara Heritage Home
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Home away Home”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Enjoyed homely atmosphere. Been there with my big family including kids and elders.
I felt as a guest only till i enter the property, the moment I met Mr.Crispin everything changed. I have become his friend forever and the way he and his family taken care of us made me to refer many of my friends to this awesome place.
Being a nature lover and a photographer, i loved every angle of this place. Be it the antique design or the veranda with big wooden roof or the big garden for a morning walk.
I personally enjoyed bird watching every morning and spotted some birds including Racket tailed drongo, white cheeked barbets, Treepies, Asian koel, Spotted owlets, etc..
One photograph taken inside this place has bagged me a Bird-Photography award also. Refer the pic attached.
As a whole, a never to be missed place especially if your are on a family trip.

Room Tip: Plan for a boat-house stay coupled with your resort stay, owned by the same person. Don't miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
47
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Staying at Kodianthara was a wonderful experience. The drive to the place was a bit of a surprise, the backwaters, narrow mud paths, and what have you. The property itself is wonderful with huge gardens, two lovely little Dachshunds who mind their own business but are super cute, and of course the wonderful and welcoming family of Mr. Crispin.
We really stopped believing that this was a paid home stay and felt more like we were staying with relatives. They make you feel so at home with everything! The food (home style kerala cuisine) was superb. I really can't focus on aspects like 'service' or 'facilities' and the run of the mill hotel review topics because at the end of our stay, we were upset to leave and had such a great experience with them! Singing, dancing, eating, drinking, sight-seeing, it was all there. The place is superbly serene and secluded enough to make you forget all your city worries. A great little retreat if you ask me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ_Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We came in for a surprise after travelling thru narrow allys of kumarakom. The host Mr Crispin was very hospitable and kind. We got the warmth as if I am coming to my friends house.
The property was thoroughly explained by Mr Crispin. Kids had their own way ans played with two dogs, Atni the puppy and Tipu. Although the garden needs a little makeover, the ambience was just amazing. Village setting with lots of plantation. A breather from city hustles...
Thanks to Mr Crispin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krazy_indica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Rest of this review is written by my nine year old daughter since she insisted :)

Best home I've ever stayed in .

They are the most hospitable people.

Food was delicious and the homely surrounding was great.

There is lot to explore and you could have fun everywhere in the home.

They also had lots of nature and two dogs for our company. We saw how rubber is made and went on a very luxurious house boat.

We went on a fun canoe that belonged to Mr.Crispin.

The sounds of the birds woke us up each day.

You can have many fun nature walks at all times.

Ms.Sonia and Mr.Crispin were so nice that they gave us a gift!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Obelixta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Final year of graduation, like every other group we decided to go for a trip. Every trip will have some memories to carry.. few with bad and few good.. it all depends on the place you go and the place you stay. with no compromise on the hospitality. this is what everyone wants for the perfect trip.. The last moment plan to go to kumarakom and stay at Kodianthara Heritage Home was the best decision to make.

The best ever feeling was to stay in your own house, with one of the best people whom we have met in life. Kodianthara family didn't serve us with a fake smile but from their heart. Name the cuisine on the the house boat you have someone to make it.

The memories which we had could not be described...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sijo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I and my family stayed for 1Night on 17/10/13 at Kodianthara and our experience was amazing. To sum up first, if we wouldn't had been there on our trip to Kumarakom we would have definitely missed something. While entering into the narrow lanes from the main road, we first felt we did a mistake, but after reaching there we felt if we wouldn't had stayed there we would not justify our trip. We had a warm welcome by Mrs. Crispin first to her grand heritage house. She was too friendly with my wife and told her that the entire house is ours till we stay. She had also cooked food for us and kept, but the icing on the cake was that she also gave the entire kitchen to my wife to cook whatever we want for our 3 year old kid. The courtesy and hospitality offered was out of the world.
About the home stay, it is a perfect heritage home on around 4-5 acres with a feeling of a farm house. The next day early morning Mr.Crispin took us on a tour of all the plantations they had in the property. He also arranged us a Canoe boat in the canal which flows right next to his bungalow. It was an experience which one would not experience even in a 4-5 star hotel.

Overall we just loved the stay and it has gone down in our memories to stay for a long long time and deep into our hearts...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kashyapm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We, four friends from Bangalore stayed at this wonderful place for 2 unforgettable day....the place, the people and the ambiance were truly great.. the house itself is a treat to your eyes..this was accompanied by yummy kerala dishes, an adventurous "vallam" ride and an awesome houseboat experience... Crispin and Sony were really friendly and a gave a true 'Home away from home' stay.... Enjoyed a perfect holiday with the Crispins...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeslissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
165 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodianthara Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodianthara Heritage Home

Property: Kodianthara Heritage Home
Address: | behind St. John Knanaya Church, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our own St.Crispin Heritage House Boat is parked in the entrance of Vembanadu lake just 1 km away from Home to explore the Lake,Backwaters,Canals .Canoe ride in front of our backwaters,fishing from fish farm,plantation tour,Study of Kerala Architecture & culture,Cooking lessons are free activities while staying in Kodianthara. Famous Birds sanctuary is just 3 km away. Famous churches,temples are only walking distance from Kodianthara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kodianthara Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodianthara Heritage Home Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing