We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOY ABSOLUTE PEACE AND COMFORT.... WITH A SMILE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fellow travelers, Laxmi Resorts offer one of the most peaceful and serene properties to spend your days in the stunningly beautiful landmass called Kumarakom. The resort is located on the road from Kottayam to Kumarakom. Like all resorts located on the right side of this road, Laxmi resort too overlooks the lush green paddy fields from the balcony in all rooms. (Hey don underestimate it.. A lot of builders are making huge bucks selling Flats in big towns overlooking green fields and calling them GREEN HOMES). Add to it the fact that the resorts claiming to be situated right on the backwaters will charge you three-four times the tariff here and what you actually get is only a look at a small water canal, mostly filled with water hyacinth and having a couple of boats in a day passing through the canal. Although resorts like the Kumarakom lake resort and Coco bay resort are located by the lake, however there are some things you need to understand about an inland lake before you get lured by the “Relax by the Backwaters” story of these expensive resorts. While there is no denying that these resorts overlook the lake, but an inland lake has a lot of vegetation on its surface. And this mass of floating vegetation is even more widespread closer to the banks. So, while u sit on the balcony of your room overlooking the lake, the lake is present only in the background. Chances are that you will be overlooking a huge mass of floating vegetation right next to the banks. So my advice is, if you are in Kumarakom for the love for backwaters (which you should be), then it’s better to stay at an affordable and yet very beautiful, comfortable, peaceful resort like Laxmi resorts and use the extra money to make a good houseboat/ speedboat trip to the lake. Now, coming to Laxmi resorts, the rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, well furnished with a big spacious (and VERY clean) bathroom as well. You can choose from AC deluxe rooms or an individual AC cottage. Both of which are a very good choice in terms of comfort, location and Value for Money. I personally enjoyed sitting on the balcony in my room and soaking in the remarkable peace in the atmosphere and the calming effect of looking at unblemished Greenery (Read Paddy fields with Coconut trees in the background). The rooms are nestled in a small garden with trees all around. The hotel has a restaurant, which has a good and varied menu from south Indian, North Indian or Chinese food fare but availability of all items may depend upon the number of guests in the resort. However, this is unlikely to be a concern if you travel in the peak tourist season. However the best part of this resort is not in the rooms or in the location. It lies in the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff at Laxmi resorts. The MD Mr. Sasidharan is a man with a highly helpful and cheerful nature. I have seldom come across a hotel owner who has been so helpful, accommodating, cheerful and understanding. He will make you feel completely at home and will actually turn out to be a one man solution for all your queries, problems and tour planning. Mr. Anil in the restaurant is an equally enthusiastic and courteous employee. With its overall advantages, value for money and the excellent staff Laxmi resorts will give you some long lasting memories of your stay in GOD’s own country. Happy travelling…

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor offer a beautiful view of greenery from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sachin_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband had gone to this place quite a few times. But it was the first time for me. The place was calm and peaceful.. they had constructed new blocks and the rooms were spic and span.. the cot was comfortable and room service was prompt.. I have to make a special mention about the Owner Mr.Shashi.. He is so very helpful. He had arranged for a overnight boat trip in a best possible pricing as we were just 2 of us. In the morning just before we started for the boat trip we found that our car tyre had got punctured due to a long ride. He was kind enough to help us out and had got it alright by the time we came back next day from the boat trip. After that we have recommended it to several friends of us and he has treated them with the same hospitality which we received. I would recommend it to all.. As it is great value for money!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheerfulmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Kumarakom is a wonderful place to stay in Kerala i loved it really it's a God's own country.
Lakshmi Resort is a decent place to stay and value for money, rooms are specious and clean, food and service is good. Room tariff is also affordable. Owner of the hotel is very friendly.
overall good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijay988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I had stayed at this resort in Feb 2010. We stayed for 2 days here. It was a nice experience. The rooms, room service, location, cleanliness, food was all good. The bird sanctuary is close to the resort. It is far from the market area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Truly wonderful property, great scenic beauty and the best service possible. I consider myself very lucky to have found this resort. I wholeheartedly would recommend this resort to all. It is clean with great service, I have to mention staff like Arun and Anil. will come back repeatedly. Thank you Lakshmi resorts for the most wonderful holiday I had!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lakshmi Hotel consits of several small houses which are very well positioned in a huge garden. The rooms are spacious, clean and confortable with nice furniture. It's a very quiet place and sitting on the balcony is a pleasure because of all the different birds, which can be seen from there. It's only a 5 minutes walk to the birds sanctuary. The stuff is extremely friendly and we felt very welcomed. We had a great time with the MD of the hotel, a very nice, open and friendly person who arranged everything we needed (e. g. a house boat for the backwaters trip).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed for a day . The newly built cottage was perfect. It was spacious with clean balcony.
But the reception staff need more training on how to treat their in-house guests.They do not speak clearly . The complementary breakfast was also not that good. Since there was not many guests, the hotel just served us with dosas.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank subha5586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#22 of 26 in Kumarakom
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Fields Kumarakom
Green Fields Kumarakom
#15 of 26 in Kumarakom
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashirwad Heritage Resorts
Ashirwad Heritage Resorts
#25 of 26 in Kumarakom
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts

Address: Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686566, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Price Range: $40 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakshmi Hotel And Resorts
Lakshmi Hotel Kumarakom
Lakshmi Hotel Kottayam
Lakshmi Hotel & Resorts Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing