We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located hotel with poor hospitality”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
New Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“well located hotel with poor hospitality”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautifully located resort on banks of lake. Poor hospitality. No water in room,you have to purchase mineral water.Do not ask for cold water on checking to room as it will be supplied from restaurant s higher rate . Although food is good but they try to charge extra by giving you pot tea whenever you ask for tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Gyan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    151
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
162
116
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is enchanting with its backwaters and the nature around. Perfect for those looking for a romantic getaway. The hotel property is facing the Vembanad lake and a 2 minute boat ride takes us to to the entrance of the property. The check in was fast and easy. Now about the room,we had chosen the cottage facing the lake and it was nice and clean. The sleep quality was good too. The only issue which can be turn off is the limited options available on the food menu at the restaurant. But you can choose to skip that by stepping out of the property (again you will have to take the 2 min boat ride) and there are better food options outside. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake side for a pleasant view of the scenery and the houseboats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJBluez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed with my wife just for a weekend getaway. We liked the place very much.
Best place to be with your partner and spend some lonely and precious time.
Do not miss the Sunset w/glass of wine and sunrise with a cup of coffee. Trust me its beautiful:)
Very spacious, Clean.
Have food from outside. Very expensive and not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin_unni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The scenic beauty of the resort is very impressive. The resort surrounded by water offers the perfect environment for a holiday. The resort also offers massage services that are quite effective. The food is nice but a little expensive, if you compare prices outside the resort. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The only drawback is hot water seems to die out late in the night.

Room Tip: There no particular room one can choose as non of them offer a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euphoricelement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The scenic beauty of the resort is worthy to mention.its like heaven amidst of water.rooms are spacious and very very tidy.they greeted us with garlands and drinks.everything was awesome except the manager at the restaurant.he forgets everything and makes lot of mistakes in bill.i was delayed by an hour for his mistake.apart from that everything is superb be it food,be it tidiness or service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhajit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful & a quite place with an awesome view of the backwaters of Kerela.. Can only be reached by a 5 min boat ride.. after your 2.5 hr journey (drive)from kochin airport by a prepaid taxi..

The place is quite and very serene with a nice swimming pool.. It has around 20 odd cottage style, good size rooms, spacious enough.. with clean bath and slightly traditional decor.. Place has nice sitouts.. overlooking the lake/ backwater.. and although amenities are very basic.. i.e there is a flat screen 14" Tv.. (Should atleast be 21 if not 40").. To which I must also mention their wi-fi which is not free, has weak or no signal in some rooms.. And not to forget the cellphones also have a choppy reception and one needs to find spots of signals.. But hey the whole idea of this place is to relax and get away from the gizmos and the grim tv news.. So not complaining.. The food at the place is ok.. Although the breakfast spread could be better.. And food from menu was ok.. Ensure u order your beer along to counter the spice.. also note some dishes may be prepared in coconut oil .. which is a local way of preparing.. And may not fancy a North Indian palate.. thing I would not advise here is the massage.. I have had better Kerela massage elsewhere than the guy who just rubbed oil than using any technique.. It could be the masseur skill thing. This is a place a lot if my friends compared with Goa.. I must say it is wrong the place is completely different less activities.. And a place to relax..

Over all I would go back again in few years.. Thus I would recommend it to others.. But gizmo addicts beware!
Cheers,
NS

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Resort is located at superb location. Water all around. Have to go resort in small boat from parking area. Enjoyed one whole day in resort in front of backwater. Would enjoy more if visit with friends and family. Food is ok for vegetarians. Hospitality is very good, nice staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to relax in front of nature.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krupal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#12 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocobay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocobay Resort is located in Kumarakom, a backwater hamlet - the most sought after holiday destination in Kerala. Nestled amid swaying palms, the resort fronts the magnificence of the Vembanad Lake with its canals, streams and intricate network of waterways. The resort is accessible only by water and is embraced by the lake.Resort offers 22 air-conditioned suites, designed in typical Kerala architecture. Its ethnic ambiance blends with modern facilities like refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and designer bathrooms etc. Verandas have a splendid view of the lake where you can watch stunning sunsets. The resort is located 70 Kms from Cochin International Airport, 16 Kms from Kottayam Railway Station and 90 minutes by road from Cochin International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Kumarakom
Coco Bay Hotel
Cocobay Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing