We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It takes about 2 hours to reach the resort from cochin airport. The last part of the journey is a 5-minute boat ride along a canal to reach the resort itself from the gate to the hotel. The lobby and reception have a classy and artistic feel. The check-in was smooth, the staff polite and warm. The room was comfortable, clean, and modern. Soft bed and pillows. View of the Vembanad lake from the room was fabulous. The grounds and the whole resort was very green and beautiful. It was very relaxing for me throughout the stay. Food was ok, but not extra-ordinary. However, the good thing was that they make an attempt to ask you what you would prefer for your meal and then prepare it. They can arrange cabs and houseboats, and motor boats to cruise the backwaters around. You can also make a short trip to Kottayam and shop around. The resort is a little isolated but safe and hotel was quiet the first day and busy the next. The bird sanctuary is close by but you need to visit in the morning and preferably when the migratory birds arrive in March and December.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prachiSecunderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

The only access to Coco bay Resort is by boat, which is very romantic!
It is tucked away beautifully, it is quiet and serene, and opens out onto the backwaters.
On arrival, we were welcomed by the manager with garlands of flowers and a welcome drink.
We were then escorted to our rooms. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. There are biggggg king beds. The bathrooms are clean and a good size.
The pool is clean and about 4 FT deep.
There is a yoga centre which faces the backwater. You can also have an Ayurvedic massage; however you have to book a massage in advance as they have only 1 male and 1 female masseur. There are speed boat rides arranged and can also fish in the backwaters.
We had lunch on both days of our stay at Kumarakom Lake Resort, which was yummy. To get to the resort, the boat takes you back to the car park, where rickshaws can be arranged for you, by the management at Cocobay.
We had dinner at the restaurant at Cocobay Resort on both nights. This is the only area; I would say Cocobay has to improve on. The restaurant staff leaves at 10pm, so you have to order your meal at least by 9.30 pm.
There wasn’t much choice in the food, in spite of Mutton and mussels being on the menu. This could have been because we were there during the rainy season.
The restaurant staff call you at 7pm, to remind you about placing your order for dinner.
Also we had to book transport from Kumarakom to Cochin Airport, for which we had to pay INR 3000/- for 5 persons.
Also at the car park, there should be a bigger board at the gate or entrance saying Cocobay car park, because we missed it and we reached the backwaters, and had to reverse back the whole way as, there is no space to make a turn back.
On the whole, we had a lovely time at Coco Bay Resort, the management, the owner and the staff is lovely and polite. They make you feel welcome and try and accommodate requests.
It’s a beautiful property. It’s clean, and very scenic. However since there isn’t much to do in Kumarakom, take along a good book, or some good friends. It’s the apt place for a honeymoon!
It’s ‘the’ place to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The word Extraordinary describes the Property. Grand Location, Good Setting, Privacy, Beautiful Scenic beauty. Lake side settings are awesome. Hold on.. the negative side is services at resturant where first they will force you with only buffet option and then won't provide option/items to eat. They conduct themselves realcheap here without any reason. Perhaps the local management has to answer this as this is a group property having thier resorts at places like Otty etc. The Staff/s conduct themselves unprofessionally on this front and give amply clear intentions that they want to force you spend as much as possible at the resort but they would not reciprocate with services. Obviously a local issue by one two persons. Outdoor cleanliness is another area specially leftover plates, bottles, cans, bags etc. where they can improve.

Not much eating Option available as you have to go out on a boat manged by the resort. Outside few eating options available. Mainly you will depend on the resort supply for your taste bud and they will ensure that you are made misirable.

Despite all this negative I must say this is a great location and a must stay. The negative may only be irresponsible conduct of few local employees. Hotel needs to improve on their conduct at resturant.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Near the Lakes Room around the Swimming Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cprabhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

imagine a small village on an island surrounded by water, in a two hours drive from the airport of cochin. this was a true surprise that either of us didn't expect. the only access to the resort is by water. four days were definitely not enough for enjoying silence and relaxation that this place provides. the suite was large and well maintained, and cleaned twice a day. beware that you will not have a broad choice of activities, but i would recommend to go for a cruise and book some spa treatments (make sure you book your spa right upon arrival, as it was quite busy). depending on the morning catch the restaurant menu might or might not include some dishes, but everything you get is fresh and tasty, and what is the most important healthy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Awesome location, great view of vembanad lake from the resort, courteous staff and nice rooms.

Only negative thing i would say is the service at the restaurant. It was slow and they don't provide everything what they have in their menu.

Room Tip: Avoid the ayurvedic massage as we find it average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapilRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Fantastic location. Although one has to travel a reasonable distance from the main road to the resort. A small boat ride will take you from the front office off the main road to the resort.. Very picturesque place with a wide view of the Vembanad Lake. Friendly and courteous Hotel staff. Good food although a lil overpriced. Well maintained property..

Room Tip: Get any consumables/eateries before you reach this place. Its a long way back to main road where u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mediamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We ( 2 adults & 2 children ) enjoyed the stay in this hotel from 11/05/12 to 12/05/12.

Extremely professional service right from enquiry, prompt response to emails , booking,checkout etc.

Good location. A different experience as the resort is surrounded by water. The staff was very polite and nice. The rooms and bathroom were clean and well maintained. Boating trip arranged by hotel was also great.

The food available in the restaurant definitely needs improvement.

A special mention of Mr Richard who was very helpful during the booking as well as during the stay.

Overall , the staff made our stay comfortable and made us feel at home. We recomend this hotel for travellers to Kumarakom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajesh_marar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
815 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
177 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.6 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $70 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocobay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocobay Resort is located in Kumarakom, a backwater hamlet - the most sought after holiday destination in Kerala. Nestled amid swaying palms, the resort fronts the magnificence of the Vembanad Lake with its canals, streams and intricate network of waterways. The resort is accessible only by water and is embraced by the lake.Resort offers 22 air-conditioned suites, designed in typical Kerala architecture. Its ethnic ambiance blends with modern facilities like refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and designer bathrooms etc. Verandas have a splendid view of the lake where you can watch stunning sunsets. The resort is located 70 Kms from Cochin International Airport, 16 Kms from Kottayam Railway Station and 90 minutes by road from Cochin International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Kumarakom
Coco Bay Hotel
Cocobay Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing