We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Awesome location, great view of vembanad lake from the resort, courteous staff and nice rooms.

Only negative thing i would say is the service at the restaurant. It was slow and they don't provide everything what they have in their menu.

Room Tip: Avoid the ayurvedic massage as we find it average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapilRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Fantastic location. Although one has to travel a reasonable distance from the main road to the resort. A small boat ride will take you from the front office off the main road to the resort.. Very picturesque place with a wide view of the Vembanad Lake. Friendly and courteous Hotel staff. Good food although a lil overpriced. Well maintained property..

Room Tip: Get any consumables/eateries before you reach this place. Its a long way back to main road where u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mediamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We ( 2 adults & 2 children ) enjoyed the stay in this hotel from 11/05/12 to 12/05/12.

Extremely professional service right from enquiry, prompt response to emails , booking,checkout etc.

Good location. A different experience as the resort is surrounded by water. The staff was very polite and nice. The rooms and bathroom were clean and well maintained. Boating trip arranged by hotel was also great.

The food available in the restaurant definitely needs improvement.

A special mention of Mr Richard who was very helpful during the booking as well as during the stay.

Overall , the staff made our stay comfortable and made us feel at home. We recomend this hotel for travellers to Kumarakom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajesh_marar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our family of 6 had booked this resort as part of our cochin-munnar and kumarakom trip.The location being an island was very happily enjoyed by the kidds especially ! The resort can be reached by boat. The surroundings are beautiful.we can feel the backwaters merge into the hotel.they have built the hotel using the old kerala style architecture and its well maintained too !
The inhouse restaurant provides good foor. There is a swimming pool and a ayurvedic massage centre.
The location is simply mesmerizing !go for it guys! highly recommended.good staff ,great rooms and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankar_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a family get together there.. Location of the resort is excellent.. Rooms are good, food was ok...nice swimming pool...no complaints..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejiplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at CocoBay with my family of four in end-Apr. It is very difficult to write an outright +ve or –ve review of this property, so let me provide both the perspectives from a very personal viewpoint:

+ves:

Superb location overlooking the lake.
The kitchen customized every meal for us – our interest was local kerala cuisine. The Resort GM chatted with us in advance of every meal to get our preferences and ensured that the kitchen rustled up good old Kerala staples. I would rate the overall food experience at this place very high (Note that we did not venture into the North Indian food territory so no guesses on that front)
The entry to the resort is short boatride (around 100mts) from the parking. The boatman is available on call and appears promptly whenever you need. That makes it a very closed place where you are not tempted every now and then to check out the world outside.
The resort as a medium sized pool which overlooks the tranquil Vembanad lake. It’s a great place to hang out in the humid afternoons. The resort lawns have a few scattered hammocks and chairs – which pretty much offers you the avenues to relax.
The resort has a boat jetty – if you were to book a lake cruise, you can board right from the resort without stepping out.

-ves
We probably walked into the resort when a few of the restaurant/kitchen service staff had taken off. We struggled services in the restaurant.
The resort seems to operate on bare minimum staff so expect some wait while checking in and out as also for anything else you may need.
The rooms and washrooms are a bit musty at all times. Could do with a bit of freshening.
The gym has bare minimum equipment (was not my interest though).
The Ayurveda center is not fully equipped - takes time to arrange.
The value for money positioning sometimes brings in larger families who capture the pool - this being not a very large resort does not leave one other alternatives to hang out.
The window glasses are shaded - one cant see outside ??? No clue why. We got the lake facing room. But turned out to be a disappointment when we realized that you have to keep the window closed to keep the mosquitoes out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorpio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

they employ thiefs and on a single day 3 guest were robbed and no responsibality was taken by the resort... dont ever ever go der.....:( they didnt verify the staff before employing and not ready to take ne blame...... very rude....unmannered....bad food... unhiginic,,,,,,looks like u r in a slum....

Room Tip: go to kumarakom lake resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rajdeep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
169 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.7 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Kumarakom North, Kumarakom 686566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $74 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocobay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocobay Resort is located in Kumarakom, a backwater hamlet - the most sought after holiday destination in Kerala. Nestled amid swaying palms, the resort fronts the magnificence of the Vembanad Lake with its canals, streams and intricate network of waterways. The resort is accessible only by water and is embraced by the lake.Resort offers 22 air-conditioned suites, designed in typical Kerala architecture. Its ethnic ambiance blends with modern facilities like refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and designer bathrooms etc. Verandas have a splendid view of the lake where you can watch stunning sunsets. The resort is located 70 Kms from Cochin International Airport, 16 Kms from Kottayam Railway Station and 90 minutes by road from Cochin International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Kumarakom
Coco Bay Hotel
Cocobay Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing