We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by a lake”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
York, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury by a lake”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were upgraded to a deluxe bungalow suite each with its own infinity pool overlooking the lake, which were quite breathtaking and certainly the most luxurious accommodation we have ever experienced. It provided everything expected of a five star luxury hotel with superb facilities and attentive staff in an excellent waterside location if somewhat distant from the 'city bustle'. As might be expected the restaurant prices reflected the star rating and were London prices (Indian wine 35 dollars a bottle, modest French wine 50 dollars.) An enjoyable one day stopover. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy_and_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    371
    104
    40
    33
See reviews for
531
501
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The overall experience has been great right from check-in till check-out.. The reception has everything made in the shape of houseboats and the way to welcome was quite refreshing with cool coconut water being served in a royal style (keeping in line with the overall theme of the place --- coconut lagoons surrounding the backwaters with houseboats)
The cottage was well spaced out and had a direct view of the lake. The bathroom had 3 separate areas - the bathtub, the shower panel and the open shower area. It was enough for any couple to relive their honeymoon days...
The location was excellent as it was situated right on the shore of Vembanad lake... A speed boat ride (either in the morning or evening) is a must to enjoy the flora and the fauna of the place... In terms of amenities, they should have had a games room as there is not much to do around in Kumarakom and one is expected to spend time in hotel itself...
The best was the spa... its just world class.. though the rates were very high but after experiencing the services one would vouch that its all reasonable... Also the swimming pool is pretty small and is a little misfit with the overall facilities of the hotel...
Food quality was good but the options were very limited for vegetarians...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bothrasumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

On arrival Anshul and Shyam on Reception made us very welcome and we were given a chilled welcome drink as the weather was really hot. They were both very helpful, friendly, and professional and they should both be commended.

The rooms were spacious, clean and room service was excellent. The restaurant offered a lot of variety of food and all the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly. In the evening there was different entertainment on each night.

The hotel offered Yoga classes in the morning in the middle of a a man made lake. There was a Spa which offered different types of massages.

We had the pleasure to stay in the Presidential Suite for one night and the experience was out of this world. We had our own swimming pool overlook backwaters and the view of the sunset was magnificent.

We highly recommend this hotel and we would difinetly visit again.

Prakash and Shila (London)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shila4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

When we drove into the hotel grounds, we could not believe what we were seeing. Amazing grounds and the a very impressive approach to the reception area. The reception are decor is amazing. The hotel grounds are clean and the landscaping is excellent. The rooms are very modern and very attractive and most importantly clean and well maintained. The grounds are quite spread out with excellent walkways. The staff is warm, friendly and effiecient. If this was not enough we were blown away by the quality and variety of food. I think I put on a few pounds in one evening there. After dinner we again went out for a walk and could not get over how beautiful the entire place was. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaiPuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were booked into this hotel by the Madras Anchorage Round Table.It formed part of our World 00 Tour.We arrived by coach and each person was welcomed into this beautiful resort.We were a mixed bunch of tourists from Africa,Europe,UK and India.
Our room was clean and tidy.The decor beautiful,the gardens lush and well maintained.Early morning yoga class overlooking the beautiful pond gave one the sense of Nirvana.The resonating AUM filled the air with a calmness that seem to spread over all the guests who stayed at this beautiful resort.
The food was delicious.The huge selection at breakfast left the guests open-mouthed for choice.
The evening calmness was broken by the beautiful sound music emanating from the amphitheatre.The beautiful aromatherapy of the Spa made one want to walk in just to imbibe the scents.
The staff were polite and ever so helpful.
This hotel will always be remembered as one of our Best ever hotels

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonoraSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal M.P.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The Zuri Kumarakom should definitely rank amongst the best hotels in India. The resort is beautiful with excellent rooms with great views of the Lake, great food. There is enough by way of entertainment and keeping everyone occupied like Kerala Fight & Fire Show and Dances. The resort arranged for a Sunset cruise and also a boat house ride, both are really good. The Spa is also excellent with heavenly services.Hospitality is excellent. In all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imrajforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Perfect rooms- deluxe (one shower and one bath) and cottage with outdoor shower (plus indoor shower and bath)! Spacious, nice decor, beautifull view of the lake.
A big variety of food in buffet ( alot of vegeterian meals), which was very delicious!
Staff is wonderfull, always willing to help (always smiling, opens the doors, even want to bring your food to your tabel from the buffet), very friendly!
Hotel is in the beauuutiful surroundings, very green. You can use the bicycles to go around the hotel.Which is a very good idea!
Quite big gym, overlooking the lake as well.
Very comfortable sun beds by the swimming pool.
Big thanks to the hotels managers and other staff!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone! we liked everything from the hotel! wonderfull experience in a perfect hotel in God's own country!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borjomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
723 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Property: The Zuri Kumarakom
Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing