We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great stay”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

When booking this I looked at the Taj, Lake resort, and Zuri. After going to the other 2 properties I feel that I made the best choice. The Taj looked old and not inviting. The Lake resort was a beautiful property but the facility only has open air dining. Didn't want to give the mosquitoes easy access during meals.
My stay was June 24th-27th, I had the Pool Villa and my review is based on the pool villa.
Pros:
1 Amazing Staff-so attentive to any request.
2 Property is beautiful and well taken care of.
3 The room was a great size and had a beautiful view of the vembandad lake.
4 I loved the outside shower-bathrooms will be fine for american guest
5 Gym, spa, shared pool area very nicely done.
6 Food was decent, kids loved it. Its great for western guest.
Con:
1 The rooms are in need of renovation. Behind living room TV the cable outlet missing plate
2 The rooms need to be cleaned better. I moved the nightstand to plug in the iPhone and it was a dirt fest.
3. The bed mattress are cheap and not comfortable
4. Originally used them to book house boat, was charging 2.5x more than a outside vendor. Got a similar class boat for cheaper using trip advisor.

Overall it was worth the money, just when your paying almost 20,000 rupees a night for a room you expect a lot. I am glad I booked with Zuri over the other 2 resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2thdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing destination Kumarakom.
We value your feedback and will ensure areas that need improvement will be taken up immediately.
Keep log-in to the website for special offers for the period and recommend packages to friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at Zuri Kumarakom in June 2014 during our Kerala trip. We had an wonderful experience staying at Zuri Kumarakom. We had taken a house boat from Alleppey for a day and it dropped us at Zuri Kumarakom next day in the morning. There are two ways to reach the resort. One is through the road and the other is from the boat. Needless to say, the boat route is more scenic and an experience in itself.

We reached the resort early in the morning at around 9 am. We were given a traditional kerala style welcome and coconut water to drink. The normal check in time is 1 pm and we were politely asked to wait for the check in. In the meantime, we were given access to all of the amenities in the resort to spend the morning. We had booked a cottage and I requested for an early check in as we were unaware of the timing of the houseboat's arrival to Kumarakom. Sheela, the charming lady at the reception, welcomed us and was kind enough to quickly prepare our cottage and provided us with an early check in, even before 10 am in the morning. She took us to our cottage and meticulously explained us everything about the resort. The young lady made sure that our stay was memorable at Zuri. A big thumps up to her!

Few things to note:
1. The service at Zuri was top notch, be it the service during the dining or in general. It was the most important aspect of our stay.
2. The cottage was neat, very neat. The interiors were very good. The bathroom was exceptional. The fixtures were of very high quality. The bathtub was very clean. The shower was great and even the kerala style open shower outside, withing the periphery of our cottage was wonderful too. The wood work, especially the blades of fan covered with cane wood were fairly unique.
3. The sleep quality wasn't great. They had spring mattress which were little noisy and a bit uncomfortable for my taste.
4. There was a mini bar, a refrigerator stacked with beverages and snacks. But the prices were well outrageous.
5. The buffet dinner was priced at around 1300+ INR and the spread was decent enough. Nothing exceptional to write about. I would say the food was just above average.
6. There are quite a few mosquitoes around and few almost invisible small insects that can bite you. A mosquito repellent is highly recommended.
7. The pool was fairly clean. We couldn't use it as it was raining intermittently. The whole property is spread across 18 acres and is a treat for travelers coming in search of a laid back holiday. There's a huge man made lagoon and the cottage has incredible views of the same.

Overall a lovely place for tranquil, peaceful holiday and some wonderful views of the lagoon and the Vembanad lake. We would love to be back.

Room Tip: The cottage provides wonderful views of the man made lagoon. Just relax in the sit out and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_determined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a feedback on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate and are happy that the product and services were up to expectation.
Avail and recommend our special offers on the brand website for this monsoon and experience hospitality the way it is meant to be,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had visited the hotel recently on business and stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful and neatly placed next to an enormous lake. The rooms are neat and well placed. Food is good.
A relaxing experience with lovely scenic beauty and backwater calm. amenities are plenty too

Room Tip: take lake facing cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback and hope to see you soon with friends and family to this beautiful backwater destination.
Log into the website and book our various packages on offer to avail all the inclusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Zuri resorts is an amazingly beautiful property , cycling around in the mornings.. spending time in the pool to just walking through the amazingly beautiful green property... its a must a experience .. spa is good .. service and food is good.. u've to live every moment in that place to experience the beauty and the calmness of the place

Room Tip: cottages are amazing but service a lil slow at the cortage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika Khera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Start the day with a yoga and meditation at the Body temple and invoke the senses.
Pamper at the Maya Spa with a treatment and rejuvenate the mind,body and soul.
Indulge to chef's recommended menu and compliment this with a signature cocktails.
Welcome back by choosing a multitude of like minded friends and family members to experience hospitality the way it is meant to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you want a luxurious rejuvenating vacation then this is the place to be. Get pampered & enhance your 5 senses with the amazing treat of spa therapies, visual delight of nature & detoxifying flavors to tease your tastebuds... You must book a pool villa if you can and a ride on their speedboat is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudipta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
The location and expanse of the resort with the USP- Maya Spa all adds a sense of well being and relaxation.
Enjoy nature at its best as time comes to a standstill in this beautiful backwater destination.
Recommend friends and family to book a monsoon or karkkadam package through the Zuri Webpage to avail an array of inclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Zuri Kumarakom cottage from 4th to 6th. It is a fantastic property and very well maintained by the management. A calm and comforting stay was what we were were seeking when we checked in and we were absolutely delighted with what The Zuri had to offer. Extremely courteous and friendly staff, scrumptious food at the Lime Tree café, paddle boating at the serene man made lake, a good swimming pool all made our stay at The Zuri extremely pleasurable. Our son had a great time running about and playing in the plush lawns. The only problem we faced during our stay at The Zuri was when one night there were mosquitoes in our room and quite a few of them; enough to disturb sleep. We also felt a railing around the man made lake is warranted with children running / cycling about, to avoid any untoward incidents. Overall a wonderful place for a nice relaxing holiday though. And a big thumbs up for the chef and staff at the Lime Tree cafe! The food was always fantastic!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Dilip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Zuri kumarakom as a destination.
we are happy that the product and services met expectations.
Located on the banks of the Vembanad lake which is the largest fresh water lake in kerala.
Kumarakom is home to a wide variety of flora and fauna. Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary is a noted bird sanctuary where many species of migratory birds visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Zuri Kumarokam resort is one of the best quality resorts in Kerala. We (a family of 4) stayed at a Pool Villa which had an amazing view of the backwaters. In terms of activities, one might not be satisfied due to lack of options. However, this is a fantastic place to spend a couple of days away from the bustling city life...the children loved the pool and adequate safety gears were provided. The rooms were very good - good quality was maintained through out the resort.

Room Tip: Pool Villa's are the best as they face the backwaters....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and happy that the destination Kumarakom and the resort met all expectations.
Do log into the web site for monsoon and Rejuvenation( Karkkadam) packages and avail early bird discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.4 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $193 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing