We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best stop on our honeymoon!”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

On our honeymoon to kerala this April we visited the Zuri. We were most excited about the zuri as we had seen the reviews on tripadvisor and we were bot dissapointed. From the moment our housebat docked at the Zuri to drop us off we were in heaven. The sheer size of the property itself is amazing and the decor and ambience was perfect for our honeymoon. This was truly 5 star. The staff was alwasy friendly and smiling right down to the garden maintenance staff. Every staff member enquired about our comfort levels and trip thus far. The lobby staff even went as far as to organise kathakali performances for us on a night when bharatha natyam had already been booked- if that isnt going out of ones way then i dont knwo what it.
We were upgraded to a private lakeside cottage with a private outdoor shower. needless to say we made full use of the amenities.
The couples spa we booked was amazing and it was a relief to finally go for a couples spa in Kerala where we were allowed to be in the same room at the same time.

We will definetly come back!

Room Tip: Lakeside private cottage is a must but try for one clos to reception as the walk can be a bit draini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandresan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Best option for all Honeymooners and we make it special at The Zuri Kumarakom resort and spa,Hospitality far beyond expectation.
Thank you once again for choosing this destination stay and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The staff at the Lime Tree, namey Akhil and Chef Vishnu, that conducted the cooking demonstration are beyond compare. A young gentle ment called Stephin is exceptional in getting you to make the most out of the facility and your stay. The Laguna Bass Seafood restaurant is ridiculously good! Arun makes the best Cajun Tiger Prawns I have tasted, ever!

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Mr.Warren
Thank you for choosing The Zuri Kumarakom resort and Spa as a destination for your stay.
The compliments and recognition of team personal indeed goes a long way in enhancing the spirit of hospitality.
Hope to see you soon on your next visit and experience hospitality far beyond expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived here after our marriage on the 6th May. We were welcomed with fresh tender coconuts and a wet towel. The registration process was the smoothest I have experienced till date with just a matter of hitting the forward button and entering their e-mail address on the phone! We were upgraded to a beautiful cottage on the lagoon and had a chocolate cake, chocolates and fruits waiting for us in the room. (Though we booked through a travel website and had got an amazing deal!)

Everything in the resort is super clean and the service is perfect. Staff are not intrusive and very discrete. You feel welcomed from the minute you step in.

The food is delicious and the candle light dinner was perfect and definitely worth it! (The portions are large and we struggled to finish even half of what was arranged. I think you should check the portions before ordering.)

There are no sounds in the resort to disturb you. The outdoor bath needs to be experienced! We enjoyed it.

We couldn't go on a backwater cruise due to bad weather but that is out of the resorts control.

The only negative I can think of was that the game rooms need maintenance though we hardly had time to play any games! Loved the whole property (I'd call it 18 acres of paradise). Its just beautiful and I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the Villas, they are definitely worth the extra amount you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 553,366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Zuri Kumarakom Resort and Spa as a destination.
We are indeed happy to hear that we met all expectations.
Hope to see you soon with friends and family to this backwater destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ours was a long awaited family trip and your resort took care of all our needs. Cherry on the cake was upgrading our room and giving us the pool villa.Food was excellent and so was the front office and the restaurant staff. it was my pleasure to meet your chef Mr. Daneili Kumar.We are truely looking forward for our next trip.
Thankyou,
KAVITA VACHHRAJANI,
JAMNAGAR,
GUJARAT.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAVITA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you choosing The Zuri Kumarakom resort and spa as a destination.
We are indeed happy to hear that we met all expectations.
Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Gods own country with friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Zuri Kumarkom is a sprawling green 18 acre property beside the Vembanad lake. The hotel has a manmade lagoon and all the rooms except the pool villas. ( 4 kinds of rooms - standard, deluxe, cottages and pool villas) overlook the lagoon. The villas have private swimming pools and overlook the lake. Though all the rooms are an easy walk away from the main building, there are buggies to transport you if you so wish. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and the bath area has a bathtub as also indoor and outdoor showers. There is a spa which gives facials, massages and ayurvedic treatments ( about Rs 2500 to Rs 5000). The main meals in Limetree restaurant had lovely buffet spreads with delicious local specialities as also other Indian and Continental dishes. The service was courteous, friendly and helpful.
Where they failed was in little maintenance details eg in my room the TV remote didn t work and neither did the hot water kettle. The little fridge was not switched on. However, when I rang up the reception, they promptly sent someone over to replace the remote and the kettle. Similarly, in my friend s room, the bulb in the bedside lamp had to be replaced. If it hadn t been for these small errors I would have rated the resort 5 out of 5

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiantraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the beautiful description of the resort,
We apologize for the minor detail which was overlooked by the team prior to check-in.
Hope to welcome you back soon to experience hospitality at its best at The Zuri Kumarakom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a property and what a location. The entire resort is lush green with a lagoon inside all the cottages overlook the lagoon. The bathrooms are great with an outdoor shower, indoor shower and a bathtub. The pool villas are also outstanding with great views of the lake - specially during sunset. There are enough activities for children to do and a lovely lounge/bar where the adults can relax over a drink and watch the canoes and houseboats go across the lake. Must see a sent from the bar or from the many nooks the hotel has created for guests to sit and watch. The swimming pool was nice and the restaurant had good food for most part. The spa is excellent and must do some of the massages on offer.

Now the bad part. The people !!!!!! There is a problem with the airconditioning. In the middle of May, the aircon would not go below 23/24 deg.C. In one of the rooms (of the 5 rooms our entire group occupied), it never went below 26. Food orders were not handled with care and there were major goof ups. A couple of times the drinks at the bar were below par. The attitude of the staff, when these issues were raised, was more than disappointing and they tended to be defensive, rather than admit there was a problem and fix it.

On the last day as we checked out, the GM, Rajendran Menon came and apologised for the issues we faced and assured that these would be rectified. So, our promise to him is that we will definitely return, provided the problems are fixed.

All said and done, its a great place and if they get their staff act correct, it would be our choice again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gautam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Apologies once again for not meeting your group expectations.
We have noted your serious concern on services and corrective action has been initiated.
Training of team members form an integral part of guest relations.
Rest assured we would like to welcome you back soon to experience hospitality :Far Beyond expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location , views and the facilities are just out of the world. Truly set in "God's own country". It is a large resort (18 acres). We stayed in a cottage near the lake and the facilities great. Swimming pool, Cycles available for ride, free boating / fishing at the man made lagoon, one does not need to move out of the resort to enjoy. On the second day it rained a lot but it was wonderful to get wet in the rain. The lake views are serene.

Breakfast was lavish and fresh, we enjoyed it thoroughly. Only minor negative experience was the AC was not working at the Gym / Pool table areas (beautifully located but no ventilation, hence AC necessary), service was a tad slow but acceptable. We got a complimentary fruit basket on day one and apparently this is given only on Arrival day. Found it funny that an expensive resort should have such rules.

In spite of these minor issues, would recommend Zuri highly for anyone who wants to enjoy backwaters in Kerala for serenity and natural beauty.

Room Tip: Cottages are great, Pool villas are of course a luxury but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SachinSharjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Resident Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Zuri Kumarakom.

We have noted that there were certain services and facilities at our resort that did not meet your expectation and would like to extend my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your family. Your feedback has already been taken up with my team.

Thanking you once again and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you and your family with a more positive impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
891 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#8 of 26 in Kumarakom
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $149 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing