We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The resort is so beautiful and romantic. Kerala itself is really a paradise and the Zuri hotel is in perfect harmony with the tranquility and serenity of the surrounding countryside. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, overlooking the lake and the Buddha garden, the staff was extremely friendly, food was delicious, we loved the local martial arts/ dance shows in the open air theater. There was a good mix of foreigners and locals, which I think is a big plus. Although the swimming pool was small, the spa and the fitness center were great, well-equipped. Also, both the sunset boat trip and the speedboat ride into the backwaters were just amazing. I probably should mention that the restaurant service was extremely slow - almost every evening, enough to drive some guests really mad, who had a big fight with the waiters. Hopefully this has improved by now. If/when we go to Kumarakom again, I can definitely imagine staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback and choosing The Zuri Kumarakom as a stay destination.
I have shared your experience with the team.
Restaurant services have been looked into and fine tuned to meet every guest expectation.
we are grateful for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    371
    104
    40
    33
See reviews for
531
501
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in 2009 & 2012, I really like this hotel. ambiance of Zuri is best in the country and really love to stay for my next trip as well. perfect place to relax, enjoy good food, excellent staff and the best quality of rooms and everything. Since I am a travel agent by profession so I always recommend my guest to stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Villa with private pool is value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankitbhargava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback and the resort recommendation for stay in Kumarakom.
Welcome Back is the tagline and The Zuri Kumarakom embodies services far beyond expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We Stayed for One Night at Zuris, and it was an excellent experience
The Property is beautiful with man mad lake and islands
Rooms are well maintained, good food and excellent service. Good activites like Cycling,Fishing, boat peddling is nice. The Bar is really good with glass exteriors and u can enjoy your beer looking at the beautiful Vemabanand Lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemanthgogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback and happy that we met your expectation.
Our service personal is there to cater every request and make the stay comfortable.
Fishing in the lagoon to rejuvenating at the award winning Maya Spa or luncheon in the Laguna House boat or the evening entertainment at the Natya while sipping a cocktail helps in to balance the mind,body and soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The management and staff at Zuri have ensured that once you are in Zuri, you are transported to a completely new experience. While there were some small incidents with regards to the restaurant timings, the F&B Manager and Chef Smith ensured that you don't leave hungry. The staff at Zuri resort are extremely courteous and they are equipped to handle all situations. I would surely recommend this place to everyone ... Thank you Zuri

Room Tip: If particular on a health faucet, ensure the same at the time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushilThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Zuri Kumarakom Resort and the experience met your expectation.
Every feedback is important for us to deliver as per guest expectation.
Keep logging into our website for more details and happenings in the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Zuri, Kumarakom for our first anniversary, and boy we were in for a treat. Since our anniversary falls during the first weeks of October, the season period for the hotel hadn't started yet and practically the entire place was devoid of guests. And because of this, we weren't provided the standard buffet which was part of the full-board package, and had to order a la carte (which turned out to be great, actually). Excellent food, ambience (if you don't mind the surprisingly loud din coming from the kitchen side. The best tables are outside in the non air conditioned section) and service, we were pampered by the staff (maybe because we were the only guests dining there?)
Since we wanted to make this anniversary special, we opted for the huge Presidential Pool villa that guaranteed a spectacular view of the vast Vembanad lake.
We had earlier read one of the reviews here (Gokul D) that reflected some privacy concerns in one of the pool villas, specifically in pool villa 404. And imagine our surprise when we were allotted the very same villa too. It turned out that the poolside if the villa was exactly adjacent to the boat jetty, with a lot of activity distorting the view. We asked to be shifted and were allotted another, more secluded villa further away from the main reception area. Due to this, we were now so far away from the restaurant, we either had to walk almost a kilometre or ask for buggy service each time. Forget about those evening strolls. 
Though the villas were all about privacy and solitude, there was actually little of both. The sides of the pool areas actually offered little privacy, as we understood the neighbours could see into our pool area, if we could see into theirs so easily. The pool was even visible from the outside pathways, so mind yourselves if you happen to relax 'a little too much' for your own comfort. As if this wasn't enough, the cleaners crossed the bush-fences while we were inside, unannounced and went about their jobs (they were however trained not to gawk at tourists)
Don't miss the daily 5pm boat ride around the lake. It's amazing.
Also worth mentioning is the huge Maya Spa inside the resort. Go splurge inside it. It's one of the best gifts you could give yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmfazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Zuri Kumarakom as a destination.
The ten Presidential Pool Villa are identical in area,amenities and overlooking the Vembanad lake.
The view every morning from the Villa is a visual treat with the fisherman drawing their nets with fresh catch and Houseboat plying at a distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is probably my most memorable trip and I went back to relive it too.

In God's own country you expect nothing. And it comes to you.
The Zuri Hotel at Kumarakom is just the place where it comes to you.

The drive from the Cochin (or Kochi) airport is a couple of hours, so you get to see some breath taking landscape and the fabled back waters.

When you arrive at the Zuri, you are glad you got there.

It is spacious open and in the lap of nature.
This place is the only one, in Kerala at least, where you stand at the Gym window and you get to see the pool, followed by the lagoon, and then the Lake - All at once!

The rooms are pure luxury and the place is quite. Peaceful.
Because you have to walk a great deal (which is good for you), and you might not be up to it, like most resort that are sprawling, they have their golf buggies ferrying you.
The SPA is an Asia title winner so you must try.

The food is great, thought it's plenty local and Indian fare. But that's GREAT too!
The live counter allow you to ask for specials.

If you have romance in mind, this is the place you wanna be.
Most rooms over look the Lagoon, and that is BREATH TAKING, night or day!

They have a Yoga class going early in the morning, in the middle of the lake on a barge!

The villa's have the bath outside (thought well sheltered by walls), but open to the sky. Another amazing experience, once you get over the 'what if somebody sees me?' thoughts out of your head.

I could go on, but that would rob you of the experience.

Don't miss a speed boat or barge boat ride on the lake.
You'll get to see a cool 10% of the estimated 250 + birds that live in and around the lake area.

Must do. Hey after all it's God's own country!

You'll probably feel a pang when you have to leave.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms give Lake side view. The Villa's are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayne_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for the detailed feedback.
We are happy that the Product and Services met your expectation.
The Maya Spa is the USP of the resort and ultimate in wellness-lifestyle.
The place to be pampered and feel rejuvenated.
Maya Spa offers both Ayurveda and Western therapy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Opened in 2007, this is billed as a 5* resort and the first look makes sure you get that feeling. The resort itself has an amazing location, and the rooms are all well-appointed... you'd be hard-pressed to find a room or a cottage with a 'bad' view :)

We stayed at their lagoon-facing cottage and I must say this was an amazing room - spacious, comfortable, clean, and the biggest washroom you could imagine, including a rainshower! The balcony opened up to the lagoon and we spent hours reading and just looking at the variety of birds here (the property is near the Kumarakom Bird Sancturary). And just a few steps outside the room on the other side was the vast expanse of the serene Lake Vembanad. Just taking a stroll through the resort post-dinner every day was refreshing.

Coming to the service - was very good, staff was courteous and well-trained... though not quite up to the level of what you would expect at a 5* resort. That said, had absolutely no complaints during the stay... just need to improve the quality of people it has and it'll be the best out there.

Food was good, though the buffet spread was quite average in terms of quality as well as variety. Spa was quite good as well, with the rather smallish swimming pool had a view that would leave you breathless.

On the whole, an excellent stay and would definitely stay here again! Highly Recommendended!

Room Tip: Try their cottages, or if you have the budget, the Pool Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing and staying at The Zuri Kumarakom Resort and Spa.
Happy to know that we met product and service expectation and hope to welcome you back.
We have noted the buffet enhancement required and have implemented a spread, to cater a multi-cultural guest profile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
724 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Property: The Zuri Kumarakom
Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing