We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool villa doesn't actually mean 'private' pool villa”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Zuri, Kumarakom for our first anniversary, and boy we were in for a treat. Since our anniversary falls during the first weeks of October, the season period for the hotel hadn't started yet and practically the entire place was devoid of guests. And because of this, we weren't provided the standard buffet which was part of the full-board package, and had to order a la carte (which turned out to be great, actually). Excellent food, ambience (if you don't mind the surprisingly loud din coming from the kitchen side. The best tables are outside in the non air conditioned section) and service, we were pampered by the staff (maybe because we were the only guests dining there?)
Since we wanted to make this anniversary special, we opted for the huge Presidential Pool villa that guaranteed a spectacular view of the vast Vembanad lake.
We had earlier read one of the reviews here (Gokul D) that reflected some privacy concerns in one of the pool villas, specifically in pool villa 404. And imagine our surprise when we were allotted the very same villa too. It turned out that the poolside if the villa was exactly adjacent to the boat jetty, with a lot of activity distorting the view. We asked to be shifted and were allotted another, more secluded villa further away from the main reception area. Due to this, we were now so far away from the restaurant, we either had to walk almost a kilometre or ask for buggy service each time. Forget about those evening strolls. 
Though the villas were all about privacy and solitude, there was actually little of both. The sides of the pool areas actually offered little privacy, as we understood the neighbours could see into our pool area, if we could see into theirs so easily. The pool was even visible from the outside pathways, so mind yourselves if you happen to relax 'a little too much' for your own comfort. As if this wasn't enough, the cleaners crossed the bush-fences while we were inside, unannounced and went about their jobs (they were however trained not to gawk at tourists)
Don't miss the daily 5pm boat ride around the lake. It's amazing.
Also worth mentioning is the huge Maya Spa inside the resort. Go splurge inside it. It's one of the best gifts you could give yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmfazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Zuri Kumarakom as a destination.
The ten Presidential Pool Villa are identical in area,amenities and overlooking the Vembanad lake.
The view every morning from the Villa is a visual treat with the fisherman drawing their nets with fresh catch and Houseboat plying at a distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is probably my most memorable trip and I went back to relive it too.

In God's own country you expect nothing. And it comes to you.
The Zuri Hotel at Kumarakom is just the place where it comes to you.

The drive from the Cochin (or Kochi) airport is a couple of hours, so you get to see some breath taking landscape and the fabled back waters.

When you arrive at the Zuri, you are glad you got there.

It is spacious open and in the lap of nature.
This place is the only one, in Kerala at least, where you stand at the Gym window and you get to see the pool, followed by the lagoon, and then the Lake - All at once!

The rooms are pure luxury and the place is quite. Peaceful.
Because you have to walk a great deal (which is good for you), and you might not be up to it, like most resort that are sprawling, they have their golf buggies ferrying you.
The SPA is an Asia title winner so you must try.

The food is great, thought it's plenty local and Indian fare. But that's GREAT too!
The live counter allow you to ask for specials.

If you have romance in mind, this is the place you wanna be.
Most rooms over look the Lagoon, and that is BREATH TAKING, night or day!

They have a Yoga class going early in the morning, in the middle of the lake on a barge!

The villa's have the bath outside (thought well sheltered by walls), but open to the sky. Another amazing experience, once you get over the 'what if somebody sees me?' thoughts out of your head.

I could go on, but that would rob you of the experience.

Don't miss a speed boat or barge boat ride on the lake.
You'll get to see a cool 10% of the estimated 250 + birds that live in and around the lake area.

Must do. Hey after all it's God's own country!

You'll probably feel a pang when you have to leave.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms give Lake side view. The Villa's are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayne_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for the detailed feedback.
We are happy that the Product and Services met your expectation.
The Maya Spa is the USP of the resort and ultimate in wellness-lifestyle.
The place to be pampered and feel rejuvenated.
Maya Spa offers both Ayurveda and Western therapy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Opened in 2007, this is billed as a 5* resort and the first look makes sure you get that feeling. The resort itself has an amazing location, and the rooms are all well-appointed... you'd be hard-pressed to find a room or a cottage with a 'bad' view :)

We stayed at their lagoon-facing cottage and I must say this was an amazing room - spacious, comfortable, clean, and the biggest washroom you could imagine, including a rainshower! The balcony opened up to the lagoon and we spent hours reading and just looking at the variety of birds here (the property is near the Kumarakom Bird Sancturary). And just a few steps outside the room on the other side was the vast expanse of the serene Lake Vembanad. Just taking a stroll through the resort post-dinner every day was refreshing.

Coming to the service - was very good, staff was courteous and well-trained... though not quite up to the level of what you would expect at a 5* resort. That said, had absolutely no complaints during the stay... just need to improve the quality of people it has and it'll be the best out there.

Food was good, though the buffet spread was quite average in terms of quality as well as variety. Spa was quite good as well, with the rather smallish swimming pool had a view that would leave you breathless.

On the whole, an excellent stay and would definitely stay here again! Highly Recommendended!

Room Tip: Try their cottages, or if you have the budget, the Pool Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing and staying at The Zuri Kumarakom Resort and Spa.
Happy to know that we met product and service expectation and hope to welcome you back.
We have noted the buffet enhancement required and have implemented a spread, to cater a multi-cultural guest profile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I didn't stay here but visited their property and their renowned spa while at Kerala. The property I can say is by far the best in kumarokam. I have been to the Taj, KLR and Club Mahindra but this is far superior. The only one that maybe matches this is Coconut Lagoon. The architecture, the facilities is all great. The spa is lovely the fitness centre state of art and a lovel pool outside. The massages are of course expensive and you probably get the same massage else where but the atmosphere makes it worth it. The view of the lake from your spa room and the lovely relaxing spa bath is just ultimate bliss. I definitely want to try staying here next time !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adithi_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

The Zuri Kumarakom is a modern contemporary resort with the essence of Gods own country.
Maya Spa is our award winning product with the best of Ayurveda and Western Wellness offered.
A range of treatments suited to every person is available with expert advice provided from our in-house Doctor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Kerala in 2011. One thing I noticed about Kerala and which was a bit annoying was long rides to reach a destination. We had planned for a very relaxing vacation and after hectic rides, Zuri put all our tiredness at bay.

Zuri was coming out to be a little cheaper than Taj, but by the looks it looked more modern so I booked this one.

First feel: WOW!

I chose Superior room, but when we were taken to the room, we found some Arab men were staying in the adjoining room and were sitting outside our room in the lawn. This wouldn't have been a problem, but they kept staring inside our room, so I asked for a room change. The hotel staff looked, but couldn't find a room so they upgraded us to an available Cottage.

This can't get better! :-)

The location is superb, the staff is very helpful and courteous, the Pool and Spa are just amazing, The Chef prepares very good dishes. We got some personal attention of the Master chef there and he prepared some on the fly recipies for us as my wife didn't enjoy the buffet available.

On the whole, a very beautiful resort with a very courteous staff having a very calm and serene outlook.

Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun_Chugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for the feedback and choosing The Zuri Kumarakom as part of your stay.
A perfect Romantic getaway with all the luxury available to pamper the senses.
Destination Spa with a array of treatments to choose from.
Activities abound to keep one interested with assistance provided from a very well trained staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was the best hotel we choose for our trip and expected a true 5 star experience all the way during the stay . we had stayed as a couple during march starting the atmosphere was pretty good ..
1. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were given coconut water to get cool ..
2. We were soon checked in to our deluxe room which was spacious and bathroom was clean and maintained well.
3. The hotel property was tooo huge and had clean and fresh gardens and waters . The grounds were clean like no other hotels with big coconut trees and various plants...
4. Pool was the best part of the hotel infinite pool with great views of waters..
5. We had opted for buffet dinner and breakfast , they served with pretty big variety of dishes with different country... Taste was truly amazing what ever we ate .
6 . They served lots of small and different activities and live entertainment in night .
7. The staff was too polite and did everything for better stay..

Over all i had never experienced such a smooth stay in any hotel best ever in Kerala highly recommended with no negative points .!!!

Room Tip: any of the room !! all of them have equally good views ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siddharth0088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for choosing The Zuri Kumarakom as a destination.
Welcome Back as the tagline says " Hope to see you soon with friends and family to this unique backwater destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in a deluxe room with my wife and 3 yr old.

First the positives:
1. A very warm welcoming welcome with traditional tika and coconut water and chocolate for the son when he refused to enter the hotel.
2. Check in and check out - both very smooth and barely took 2 mins each.
3. Room was nice and big with a balcony, a bath tub and a tv with all channels comig clearly and a nice cuddly big bed.
4. Staff was the friendliest that i have ever seen with smiles and greetings always and pro actively taking extra care of the child too. Cant recall everyones name but twins Ashwin & Arjun became like uncle friends of my kid in no time. Very helpful and amazing staff.
5. Facilities included free pedal boating and cycling and a pool and carrom table and a special room for kids with toys including puzzles, baby cars, small volleyball net and ball, soft toys and a PS3. An expensive looking spa and jacuzzi were also there which our kid did not let us visit.
6. Food - our package included complimentary breakfast and evening tea. Very good food and with loads of veg choice too. Lunch and dinner items were also very delicious and nice but ofcourse at 5 star rates (atleast 400 per dish).

Negatives:

No negatives in the hotel. Only problem is there is not much around to do or see in Kumarakom. Boating is better in Alleppey.

Houseboats are a waste of money. Just a 2 hour motor boat ride in Alleppey is good enough.

Hotel highly recommended ONLY if you want to rest and chill and have a honeymoon. If you want to travel around Kerala, you can avoid Kumarakom.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarat_valsraj, Executive Assistant Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for the feedback and choosing The Zuri Kumarakom Resort and Spa as a destination.
Please do visit our website for offerings and happenings at The Resort.
Activities within the resort and excursions are available with the guest relations as a point of contact for assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
797 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $204 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing