We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place...”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Place is good, lake view and sunset are fantastic, cheap and affordable. Food is good and very nicely prepared. People around are extremely nice, courteous and friendly.This place passes by some exotic resorts on the way, and the view from those resorts are not any different. Hence this place is compartively cheaper and gets you the best possible rejuvenating experience even if you are not in one of those exotic resorts. The Vembanad lake is very tempting to take a dive and swim, its not deep. Vast lake with lots of greenery and plenty of oxygen. This place is a must visit twice a year to fill your lungs with oxygen, clam your eyes with greenery and soothe your nerves with chirping birds.

One very important thing: make sure you ask for get the lake facing rooms. What you see on the website, make sure you get it in the same manner. Since we ended up in a comparativley smaller cottage and the only cottage in the entire resort which was not lake facing. It was quite a disappointment for the 1st entire day. However the 2nd day we managed to get a lake view facing cottage and felt good and returned happy.

The Air conditioner was vibrating a lot since it was just above the window and frankly it was difficult night and our sleep was greatly affected.

Anywhere in Kerala, you must be ready to pay more or rather exhorbitant for an auto ride. This resort is about 17kms from the bus stand and proves to be a deterent to the entire journey. This one factor, auto drivers bring down the entire India to its knees and quite possible deter people from travelling when it comes to by Auto.

For lizard phobia people - there are enough lizards everywhere.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for lake view facing rooms only as you see it on the website. 2. ensure the AC does not make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaneshkumarV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    69
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
108
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was a great experience staying in this resort. I really appreciate each and every staff who made us comfortable. The facility is really well maintained. Cottage was very clean. It has power backup. Almost all cottages are lake facing. Food was good. Best place to stay with family. Resort helped us in booking for Boat House day cruise in the backwaters.

Room Tip: Lake facing cottages are best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSAravind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the resort with family for 3 days and this is my second trip here. My first trip was in 2007. The service is excellent, very friendly and caring. Kerala authentic food is good. For the price its a fantastic location and we enjoyed it all.

Room Tip: Any lake facing cottage will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanshru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in the illikkalam lake resort for one day, it was wonderful and peaceful stay. The hospitality extended by Susan (owner of the resort) was excellent.

Me and Wife were suffering with food poison when we came to the resort from Munnar ( i think it was because of junk food which we had in Munnar) , Susan madam has asked Chef to make some traditional medicine which helped us to recover, it was very kind of her.

Food they prepare it inside the resort which is safe to have and they prepare according to your need (like less oil etc..)

The resort environment was awesome and we enjoyed the nature and sun set after a long time , it was good ending to our vacation. Wil plan to come in future with friends and family.

Room Tip: take a room lake facing where you enjoy the sunset and back water view from your private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saipradeep_dba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruppur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at this resort and must say it was a great experience. A peaceful and quiet place just right for solitude and rejuvenation.We are very happy to recommend this place to other travellers as in kumarakom you can enjoy the maximum of vembanad lake and the nature by staying in the lake view cottages. Our children enjoyed the fishing by fishing rod,and we got a big karimeen fish.
Our next stay was in a houseboat organised by our friend and the houseboat came just infront of our cottage,so without any strain we could enter the Houseboat ...Thanx Illikilam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumarakom, India
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Extremely clean & comfortable cottage facing the lake. We experienced lake breezes & quite few mosquitos considering the area. Order your tasty food ahead; fresh juices are great; have coffee & tea on your private porch. Staff arranged a lovely boat ride for us through backwaters and also a fabulous ayurvedic massage. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. A great family place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineDehais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is an excellent location for stay, next to lake side, you can watch the backwater rides (house boats and sikkara etc.) that are playing in the lake. You can view the backwater and water.till the horizon. Vast size and beautiful scene and the rooms are pretty good. Each room is provided with a private balcony and place for relax and even a fan outside is provided. Located next to Zuri and overall a pleasent experience with excellent hospitality.

Room Tip: Excellent place for lake side and backwater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumark_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
5.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.5 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages

Property: Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Address: banks of the Vembanad Lake | Kumarakom,Kerala state, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Illikkalam Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#8 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illikkalam Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing