We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the resort with family for 3 days and this is my second trip here. My first trip was in 2007. The service is excellent, very friendly and caring. Kerala authentic food is good. For the price its a fantastic location and we enjoyed it all.

Room Tip: Any lake facing cottage will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanshru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 228 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in the illikkalam lake resort for one day, it was wonderful and peaceful stay. The hospitality extended by Susan (owner of the resort) was excellent.

Me and Wife were suffering with food poison when we came to the resort from Munnar ( i think it was because of junk food which we had in Munnar) , Susan madam has asked Chef to make some traditional medicine which helped us to recover, it was very kind of her.

Food they prepare it inside the resort which is safe to have and they prepare according to your need (like less oil etc..)

The resort environment was awesome and we enjoyed the nature and sun set after a long time , it was good ending to our vacation. Wil plan to come in future with friends and family.

Room Tip: take a room lake facing where you enjoy the sunset and back water view from your private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saipradeep_dba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at this resort and must say it was a great experience. A peaceful and quiet place just right for solitude and rejuvenation.We are very happy to recommend this place to other travellers as in kumarakom you can enjoy the maximum of vembanad lake and the nature by staying in the lake view cottages. Our children enjoyed the fishing by fishing rod,and we got a big karimeen fish.
Our next stay was in a houseboat organised by our friend and the houseboat came just infront of our cottage,so without any strain we could enter the Houseboat ...Thanx Illikilam.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sudha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Extremely clean & comfortable cottage facing the lake. We experienced lake breezes & quite few mosquitos considering the area. Order your tasty food ahead; fresh juices are great; have coffee & tea on your private porch. Staff arranged a lovely boat ride for us through backwaters and also a fabulous ayurvedic massage. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. A great family place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineDehais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is an excellent location for stay, next to lake side, you can watch the backwater rides (house boats and sikkara etc.) that are playing in the lake. You can view the backwater and water.till the horizon. Vast size and beautiful scene and the rooms are pretty good. Each room is provided with a private balcony and place for relax and even a fan outside is provided. Located next to Zuri and overall a pleasent experience with excellent hospitality.

Room Tip: Excellent place for lake side and backwater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumark_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked this resort on 26th while driving from kovalam to kumarakom. Got a good price as it was a last minute booking. We checked- in at 8 pm and Stayed for one night.

It was a nice pleasant surprise for all us and kids in the morning at 6:30 to view a beautiful misty lake right in front of us in few fts with cuckoos sound and little boats, house boats passing by in every few minutes.

Very quite place to relax. Staff is very good and serve home made food.

Room Tip: Take the lake facing cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Satya1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is an excellent option for those who want to make the most of their trip to Kumarakom. With the waters of Vembanad lake literally at your foot, there is no better place to experience the charm of Kumarakom. The strategically positioned cottages and the close attention of the owners makes for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
5.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#12 of 26 in Kumarakom
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages

Address: banks of the Vembanad Lake | Kumarakom,Kerala state, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Illikkalam Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#8 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $30 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illikkalam Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing