We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside cottage & Relax stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lakeside cottage & Relax stays”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

we stayed at illikkalam lake resort for three days two nights..we are very much satisfied with the resort location nearby vembanad lake view cottage. i will come to this resort for the next season also. Best for budget stays. Houseboats, food and other facilities are attractive.
:-)

Room Tip: A/c deluxe cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhu5599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    69
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
108
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at kumarakom after our stay at thekkady. The plus point at illikkalam is you can just relax for most of the time at the lakeside cottages by looking at the sceneries of the great lake. Food is on order, but you will get fresh food. you can leave for sunset cruise from just in front of the cottage. This Place may be much suitable for those who doesn’t want to go outside activities.

Room Tip: Any of the family cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh18051975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at illikkalam lake resort for three nights, there they arranged houseboat, speedboat and sunset motorboat cruising.Those water activities were of great enjoyment and experience as we never had those in the past. we also gone out to a nearby resort for ayurvedic massaging, which was very comfortable. There is a vegetable garden and lot of greeneries in the property. We had lot of entertainment and fun as they provided us the facilities for fishing and also had game at their flood lit shuttle court and table tennis.
The food was excellent as most of the dishes was from their farm, but there was a problem you have to order at least two hours before to get the food in time and also they don’t have a swimming pool, but there is a facility to swim in the lake as there is a bath ghat.
We just relaxed for around four days at the best natural location in kumarakom within our budget, as illikkalam is the only one resort with budget cottages on the lakeside at kumarakom.

Room Tip: lakeside family villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnalexsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

After leaving Chennai we were very happy to stay here in this naturally area. The cottage is comfotable, clean and quiet. You can watch the lake, enjoy the great meal, do a lot of relaxing things. Everything you will - you can get it! :-) The staff is very friendly, the office also.
Wir haben uns hier sehr wohl gefuehlt. Jeder Wunsch wurde uns zuverlaessig und stets zu unserer vollsten Zufriedenheit erfuellt.

Room Tip: Lake slde cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrabarth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our stay at Illukulam Resort will stay in our memories forever. In our bungalow facing the lake, we watched in wonder as the sun slowly went down, the sky gradually changing from pink to blue. The staff were excellent: always friendly and obliging, they were able to give us any information we needed. This has become a 'holy place' for me and my friend.

Room Tip: any lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miyokomiyoko89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Being part of the IT work culture, I was totally exhausted with my day to day work. I was really looking for an energizing break and wanted to go for a weekend out, just to be with nature and far away from the crowd and noises we have in the city. After a lot of research i decided to head to Kumarakom. Illikkalam resort was recommended by one of the colleagues and was also fitting to my budget. I contacted them via email and booked my accommodations.

Reaching to the place was quite easy, the staffs were kind enough to upgrade my room from standard to deluxe based on availability with no additional charges. This was a great welcome gift for me. The view from all lakeside rooms in this resort are equally just awesome. The place is far from noises & pollution. You can hear the birds singing, water waving through the day and night. My favorite part was to do nothing and just be in the hammock all day, under the tree shades, looking at the limitless lake, viewing the house boats, speed boats of different varieties crossing through the river all day along. Nevertheless the sunset view was one of best I have ever seen. During evening time, we have enough lighting in the lawn to seat out and enjoy the dark view with moon and stars. This brought an amazing happiness and peace to my mind which i was looking for. Staffs are very well behaved and helpful. Food at the resort is definitely not bad specially i liked the authentic kerala meals and fish fry. Walking through the Farms and the road of Kumarakom was another wonderful experience.

Owner himself was very encouraging to ensure you have a great stay and enjoy each moment of your stay. They arranged a speed boat during very early in the morning as requested by me and ensured i was on boarded on time.

Over all it was a very pleasant stay & completely refreshing which I will always remember. I look forward to make another visit to the place again next year.

To the staffs of Illikkalam Lake Resort - keep up the good work.

Thx & Regards,
Agamani

Room Tip: i feel all rooms are good which are lake facing. Go for a lake facing room, both standard and deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgamaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

No Doubt this has been best vacation of my life, Thanks to Illikkalam. Location of property is excellent, wonderful view of Lake Vembanand, Staff is very polite and humble, they treat you, as if you are at home. Food is excellent traditional home made, and it is not expensive as compare to , other resorts. Rooms are facing the lake, very clean. I stayed with my family for 6 nights. and no doubts i will visit this place again. Thanks to Make my trip for giving me such a good option.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing Lake, so you can select anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif_Athania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
5.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.5 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#12 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages

Property: Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Address: banks of the Vembanad Lake | Kumarakom,Kerala state, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Illikkalam Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#8 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illikkalam Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing