We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly amazing”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

a perfect resort for a totally relaxing break. our family stayed here between 5-4-13 and 7-4-13,and we were completely taken in by the ambience, rooms, views, service. food and cleanliness standards are high ,the lake vembaand views are beautiful. we had a room on first floor with balcony giving poolview as well as lake view. we had a perfect break here, and would certainly recommend it to anyone going to kumarakom and seeking a peaceful break. the ayurvedic massage parlor was also good.

Room Tip: opt for a first floor room.affords better views than the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beegeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwater R, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our resort.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and other services at the resort. Your good words are really encouraging for all of us.

Keep logging to our website for deals and packages offered for this destination

We hope to see you again soon …

Very Sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 541 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are good, spacious , resort is well maintained, food is so so, swimming pool a big let down although the view from pool is fantastic , kids room/ play room a big let down, cycling was a good idea . Overall it can be said it is value for money .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkkasat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwater R, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our resort.

We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and other services at the resort. Your good words are really encouraging and will be a motivation for all of us.

Keep logging to our website for deals and packages offered for this destination

We hope to see you again soon …
Very Sincerely,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our tour agent said that you would love this place ... indeed we did. After Munnar and Tekkady it was nice to relax at Kumarakom and what best than backwater ripples. Great rooms for garden view but the view on the lake side rooms are amazing. The garden was amazing for children.
The best part about the property is the location beside one of the biggest lake in asia :). NICE calm and serene... The infinite pool is a icing on the cake.
Sleeping on the hammock in the afternoon under the coconut tree with the view of the lake was heaven. The complimentary boat ride was very nice
The food was amazing if you are a non-veg lover veg they had options but average
I dont know but if you love indian pickle make sure you ask for palat pickle ... VERY AMAZING :)

Room Tip: Lake view rooms would be better than garden view ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AjitSingh2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our resort.

We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and other services at the resort., your good words are really encouraging and will be a motivation for all of us.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back..

Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with family in Feb'2013. Rooms were average, service was also average. I had booked couple of rooms. My room was stuffy and had smell...somewhat like wet damp smell. There was no exhaust in the bathrooms, I think this is one of the main reasons. Moreover the price was very high for the standard of the rooms. Bathrooms were not up to standard, there was also problem with the tap. No one bothered to call or show up to check the problem after it was reported. They don't come n change sheets everyday. I believe that at least they should ask or offer whether I needed my bed sheets n towels changed.
The restaurant at the hotel was okay. They are definitely very slow, it might take over an hour to get your meal. The outside of the hotel was fairly clean and well maintained. The recreation area was very poor something you would find in village school in India, the gym equipment was also very poor. They offered free sunset cruise...the condition of the boat was very bad. they had no life jackets or other safety equipment for the passengers. I thought the conductor of the boat was very loud very unprofessional. I will say kumarakom the place is definitely beautiful. Will look for another hotel on my next trip there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimmerman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited this resort with my family for 1 day. The location is perfect.The room was good.My children enjoyed the complemetary boat ride for 1hr given in the evening, it was relaxing with the cool breeze blowing and sun slowly setting in the beautiful background. The pool was relaxing,food was good,cleanliness maintained,it was quiet only few guests were there when we reached so not much rush.Altogether it was an OK experience.

Room Tip: Corner room with garden facing and lake view from sitout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank navin_m_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwater R, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our resort .

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the holiday and your good words are really encouraging and will be a motivation for all of us.

Thank you and look forward to host you again .

Best Regards,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

on Arrival at this hotel they were not very pleasant. The rooms were adequate but the food in the restuarant was very poor to the point we complained about the buffet as we only had two very small portion of the food and was still charged even when we told them it was cold and not much meat in the dishes. The Man on reception tried to rip us off when we were exchanging our money and giving us a lower rate. You could not have alcohol in the restuarant with your food although you ordered it from here you had to have it in your room. The seating area by the backwaters and pool were limited and there was very little if any staff around to serve you. the pool was nice that about it. WE had a little fun here there is a taxi place a few yards up the road he took us out and we stopped and qued at the local booze for some beer for our river boat trip. He was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: upgrade if you can but I don't think they are any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwater R, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our resort and informing us about the experience during your stay.

We value your comments and it is very unfortunate that the services during your stay did not reflect the quality expected. Our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

We do take utmost care in food and beverage service, buffet offered was 03 non veg and maintained the quantity, however anything as you mentioned if found will be seriously dealt with.
As we don't have a liquor license, alcohol is not served and it is mentioned in the TA also

Thank you again and assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Best Regards,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I came to this resort on the last leg of my otherwise 'hectic' vacation.
The immediate approach road is narrow & unimpressive, but on entering the property the scene improves a lot.
The staff do their work quite well, but don't smile very much..this should improve to make the stay worthwhile. Excellence in service is isolated to a few people only.
I suggest guests should issue clear instructions at the reception itself for all staff, if you wish for them NOT to use the door bell - say when you have an infant with you or wish to be left in peace. Also tune down the phone ringer yourself.
The cottages are very nice especially if you get a view to the backwater, and even better if the private lawn next to each cottage has a Hammock installed.
Walkway to & the common manicured garden area is scenic. Water sport services re available but not cheap. Houseboat was not functional during our visit. We were told the resort would facilitate but basically we were on our own for managing admittance charges.
The Ayurvedic Spa charges for oil massages are reasonable & worth a try.
Restaurant food was overpriced & also not very tasty compared to restaurants in Kochi. Alcohol is not served here - tough luck.
Vacations shouls be planned either in 'winter' months or the monsoons.
There is not much to see in the backwater parts, but its good for a peaceful, relaxing stay for a few days...
Other restaurants in other resorts are not in walking distance, unless you don't mind it and have time for it.

Room Tip: Do not tip the general staff directly. Put it in the Tip box at the reception instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwater R, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing our resort for your holiday and sharing your views.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the stay.The good words will surely be an encouragement for us.

Your comments has been taken very seriously and the concern departments are briefed accordingly so that this will not be a matter of concern in future.

Thank you and looking forward to host you again..

Best Regards,
Sherin Senislavose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
891 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
362 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#8 of 26 in Kumarakom
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
5.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing